Steeming the duckling: introduction to elpatito

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

I always find the hardest part with anything like this is starting. So anyway, here goes! This is my introduction to the Steemit community, along with a few comments on how I got into cryptocurrencies in general and gridcoin in particular. Hopefully some of you at least will find it interesting!


My name is Patrick. I’m British, for what it’s worth, and I am a postdoctoral research associate and aspiring academic working at a university in the UK. My research involves photovoltaic materials design, and I work on both laboratory-based experimental and computer-based modelling projects. In my field I am something of an anomaly, having an undergraduate degree in geology and a doctorate in… Well, it says electrical engineering on the certificate, but it was closer to materials science really! I also carry out various research projects of my own at home, which seems to be true of many academics. As with my work, my home projects tend to be both experimental and computer-based. Aside from science I play a lot of computer games, read profusely, cycle, practice aikido and go rock-climbing whenever I have time.

Picture1.jpg

Where I spend my time when I'm in the lab. You would not believe how many times I have had to mend this bloody thing! Despite its appearance it's not a minature alien space craft - it's a type of high vacuum thin-film deposition machine called a sputter coater.


Picture2.jpg

Outside the lab having lunch with some colleagues on an unusually sunny day!


One of my more recent home projects involves gridcoin mining through BOINC. I developed an interest in cryptocurrencies about 18 months ago, and started by looking to see if there was anything that could sensibly be mined using a fairly standard (if reasonably powerful) desktop computer. My aim was not so much to make money as to find something that produced a reasonable number of coins in some sort of sensible timeframe. The whole thing was more of an exercise in curiosity than high finance, although if I made a little money out of it too, so much the better! It rapidly became apparent that bitcoin, along with most of the alternative “mineable” options, was a total waste of time. The immense amount of computing power required to provide any sort of gain at all, let alone anything remotely useful, was prohibitive – both in terms of hardware costs and electricity bills.

It was at this point that I discovered gridcoin. As well as being easily mined using a standard desktop, gridcoin has the added benefit that the computing power is actually put to use doing something of real societal value rather than just mindlessly hashing an arbitrary cryptographic function. The financial gain is arguably a little more limited than some other possible coins but as I mentioned above, for me that really isn’t the point. As I suspect most people reading this will know, gridcoin piggybacks neatly onto a well-established free volunteer computing platform called BOINC, which I understand started life as a means for distributing SETI (Search for Extra-Terrestrial Intelligence) work packages and was so successful that lots of other projects decided to use it as well. BOINC’s primary benefit, alongside its immense user-base, is that almost anyone can submit a project. This, at least in theory, makes supercomputer-scale power available to anyone at little to no real financial cost. I know from my own research work how expensive supercomputer time can be, and I hope eventually to persuade some of my colleagues to consider moving their longer-term projects to BOINC. You never know, we might even end up on the gridcoin whitelist one day!

For now, I have my computers set to run World Community Grid and Rosetta@home. Neither will make me rich, but such gains as I do make are all the more satisfying for having been earned through helping other scientists with their research.

For anyone wanting further information on gridcoin, the official website is:
http://www.gridcoin.us/

And BOINC can be found at:
https://boinc.berkeley.edu/


For everyone who has managed to make it this far, thanks for reading! If you have any comments, please feel free to add them below. I will respond when I can, but it may not be for a while!

Sort:  

Congratulations for being a part of Steemit !! . We are looking forward for the Blogging success with you. Welcome Steemit ! Glad to see more people like you - here join the steemit! !!!
wish you best of luck !!! Now am Following your Blog .
I'm wrting post about Animals if you interested! D'nt Forget to Follow me.

@Animal-lovers

Welcome to Steem @elpatito I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Good day and welcome to the steemit family @elpatito. Steemit is already a great platform where you meet with good people but it can surely be better having you here.

What you need to be doing is;


• Show some love to everyone
• Engage steemit family with good post
• Follow people of positive impact
• Avoid plagiarism (copying and pasting another person’s content)
• Be happy
• You can kindly follow me @fingalenz
fingalenz border.png
Please!!! know that everything you need is already within you, be great and never surrender.

You can learn from my posts
How to design a simple but amazing wordpress website
How to reduce video file size without affecting the quality

Welcome to Steemit! This was a really nice post. Nicely done, well structured. Definitely going to lookout for your future posts. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks a lot! I'm glad you liked it.

Welcome to the community! I see Vortac has already introduced you to the tags that will get your Gridcoin content noticed, so I will chip in by suggesting you follow @officialfuzzy. He hosts the whaletank hangouts that feature many cool projects in the crypto space, including Gridcoin.

If you get 30 seconds to explore, can you please walk to the other side of your tiny planet? I am dying to know what's there.

Thanks! That's a good shout, thanks for the suggestion.

I'm afraid the other side of the planet's not quite as pretty sadly - it's mostly our lab! It does have kestrels nesting on it though which is always a plus, and it's a nice place to work.

Hi @elpatito nice to have another gridcoiner on steemit ! Nice article and such a similar story regarding the cryptocoins than my own. But obviously all roads lead to gridcoin in the end ! Have fun here on this community :)

Thanks! Having lurked here for a while now reading all the gridcoin articles it seemed like a good idea to join in! :)

all roads lead to gridcoin

I'm totally stealing this! =P

Welcome to Steemit, @elpatito! Beautiful intro post, resteemed it right away. For Gridcoin content feel free to use both #gridcoin and #beyondbitcoin tags - community will be there for you.

Thank you! That's a good thought with the tags - thanks for the suggestion.

Howdy! Your account seems new so I wanted to give you my welcome. Here's an upvote from me and see you in your next post!
When having a new account it can be hard to recieve big upvotes so I suggest you to try out @MinnowPowerUp as you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up with steem directly! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I have more info on my experience with the system in this post where I explain how I earn over $1 a day from upvotes.

Congratulations @elpatito! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98