Married in a long-distance relationship – Welcome to my world

map dunya.jpg

Hello Steemit family,

My name is Dunya Wilkinson. The word Dunya means the world in many languages mostly Hindi, Urdu and Arabic. My mum named me Dunya maybe because I was her world as I am her first baby. I was born in Sri Lanka and currently living in Australia with my parents and two younger sisters.

A little background about me. As mentioned above, I was born in Sri Lanka and we migrated as a family to Switzerland due to my dad’s job. In Switzerland, I went to an international school where I learnt English. Prior to that, I couldn’t speak or understand English. A few years later, we all migrated to Australia, my home.

One of my greatest passion is music. I sing and produce music. I remember, my first stage show was when I was 8 years old where I sung an old Tamil song from the 60’s or may be 70’s with my dad’s band. I don’t make music often due to work commitments. I also like to make crafts and always want to create something new (Image 1). However, some of my crafts are inspired by others work as well. Another passion of mine is to bake. I love baking cakes, pies and other pastries both savory and sweet. In addition to that, I enjoy taking photos of the nature (Image 2). I am not a professional photographer but its also a passion of mine.

20180826_194652.jpg
Image 1: Latest craft I made for my husband’s birthday

20180804_174615.jpg
Image 2: This photo was taken at Snapper Rocks, Gold Coast

When it comes to career, I had my struggles. I am an engineering dropout. Well, I still want to study but not sure what to do. I dropped out of engineering because I suffer from borderline personality disorder, anxiety and depression.

Due to my mental health I have lost many of my friends, but I have gained a great relationship with my family. As of now my best friends are my husband and my little sister. They are my biggest support and my strength. I am getting better now. Although I still get depressed and have anxiety attacks. Personally, I don’t take medication anymore because, whenever I am not feeling well, my husband helps me with it.

I met my husband John from India on Facebook in 2013. We were dating online for 3 consecutive years before we finally met. I have met him in person only twice in my life. Both times, I have lived with him for 3 months. The first time I got engaged and the second time I got married.

Our story is a little different. We are one of those couples that always cling together even when living apart. Since the first day we started to talk to each other, we have not missed a day until now. We maintain our long-distance relationship while sharing our day to day life.

People said it was impossible to have a long-distance relationship. But we made it work. We also have dates like other couples. We watch movies together, cook together and sleep together while living apart. If it wasn’t for Whatsapp and Skype, I would be broke by now as it costs a lot for a phone call. We are currently on our 5th year together still in a long-distance relationship. It is not easy to live apart while being married. It kills in a way when we both have our birthdays, valentine's day and our anniversary when we don’t get to be together. If you ask me, our love and commitment to each other are the only factors that’s keeping us moving forward. We are in the process of making Australia home for the both of us.

20180826_194139.jpg
This is my husband John and I in Chennai, India

I got introduced to Steemit by my husband @johnwilkinson. He said this will be a great platform for me to be ME. Where I can finally share my passions and my talents. I want to use this platform to meet new people like yourself and share my journey with you.

Thank you so much for reading my post. If you like my post and want to see more, please follow and upvote.

Sort:  

Welcome to the world of Steemit. Nice to see music lovers on this platform.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you for your kind welcome.

HI @dunyawilkinson ,welcome to our steemit family.I am sure that you will enjoy this world.The craft work you done is really nice.

Thank you for your feedback. I will post many in the future.


Welcome to Steem @dunyawilkinson.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steem, @dunyawilkinson!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3178 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.20: Utopian + SteemPlus Partnership = Bigger upvotes.

Welcome my friend

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to steemit @dunyawilkinson.

  • Join @minnowsupport project for more help
  • Checkout @helpie for daily trivias and useful information
  • Join @qurator a good quality support project
  • Checkout @steembasicincome
  • Help us save the forest with @treeplanter
    Follow me @tuanis for random votes daily please checkout the report
    Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Hi @dunyawilkinson! Welcome to the community!!!

Hello, Thank you for your love. I am very new to this. Not sure how things work. Learning as I am going. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to Steem Community @dunyawilkinson! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61129.24
ETH 2376.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54