Greetings from Doctorspacebass! I'm excited to get involved in the STEEMIT community, where the quality of our content is the valued priority!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow Steemians :)
Happy New Year to everyone in the new STEEMIT community!
My name is Jay or as I am known by my musical alter ego "DOCTORSPACEBASS".

jay.png

I am a Bass player and Composer and my dream has always been Music.
To play festivals with my band! Seems easy right?
After doing my degree in Jazz and playing upright bass for 5 years in various Jazz Bands,
I returned to my electric bass, a Fender Jazz 1975 I bought from Ronda Smith when I was 16 from an add in the paper.
That was super cool luck! I have played it all my life.

My first influence and Bass idol was Aston "Family Man" Barrett from the great Bob Marley and the Wailers.
I became a complete fanatic after discovering " Babylon by Bus" in my Dad's record collection when I was 13.
That double live album was a sick find man! ( Wait! "Live Album?"...This ties in to my Live album trip later in this post..stay tuned!)

I had the honor to meet "Family man" a few times actually, and each time he was super friendly and we and hung out back stage.
Fam's and Drummy invited me on the Tour Bus in Montreal and back to his special chill zone "Fam's House" where we were getting super "RED" or "Irie" before the Montreal show!

1923814_55182585639_3848_n.jpg

Next was Quebec City, with some amazing backstage chilling once again. That was a special time for me, a personal life highlight for sure!

1923814_55182570639_2971_n.jpg

The next major influence musically for me was The Grateful Dead, with Phil Lesh being the most important factor in my bass playing style, and over all approach to music.

Pure improvisation: Never playing the same thing twice, or relying on some preconceived idea.
*(This is of course the freedom that Jazz improvisation has, that the Grateful Dead were applying to their blend of Psychedelic Rock.
I was very Lucky to be able to see the Grateful Dead over 100 times from 87 to 95, travelling with friends and learning all that I could from the G.D. style of Improvisation.

If (100% Pure Improvised music) == {(( Is like Open Source Code... Everything is there to see... Nothing is hidden or faked....If there is a mistake, it is visible and gives vulnerability and humanness));}
If the music excels , it is through true collective mind and heart.

So Back to my "Life Plan" to be a "Rock Star"! My dream has always been to play Festivals.

I have essentailly been playing with the same crew of players for the past 20 years, under different names, and some slight changes to the line ups.
I am a "Band Man" and have stayed loyal to my close crew of best friends and band mates over the years.

Extra Sensory Project - Originally COSMOSIS - Drum and Bass Electronic Jazz Fusion

full.jpg

The High Country ( Alpha Tofu ) - Jazz Funk Fusion

539667_584534858256025_1963203039_n.jpg

Space Base - Psychedelic Funk Jamband

20562843_10159060591695640_1912601838_n.png

These are the three Original Psychedelic Funk Jam Bands that I have formed and played in over the past 20 years.
I am looking forward to posting fresh Live original music from my various bands and projects as well as some solo videos from my home studio.

The Steemit community Looks like an amazing place where the quality of the content is the valued priority, and perfect for great original art and music.

A smaller community of like minded people to appreciate great content, and to get involved in the crypto world.
I also love the idea that my music will be on the Blockchain forever, It's meant to be free and to reach as many people as possible.

I do feel that live music is the most inspired and most of my musical idols best albums were live. "Live Dead" for example (Grateful Dead's 1969 Live masterpiece).

And of course here I will refer once again to "Babylon by Bus" the first album I found of Bob Marley!

Am I destined to only Record Live?
The people create the energy that fuels the band, and makes the band play better! It's a simple formula that cant be attained in the same way in the studio environment.

With my current band Space Base playing @ L'Escalier (Our favorite spot to play in the city of Montreal)
We have the pleasure of having many great guest Musicians every month, and I look forward to posting the latest "HOT JAM SESSIONS" !

Live or Studio?
What do you guys think?
My next Plan is to record a Live album at L'Escalier!

I am super excited for Networking and Learning from everyone in the new STEEMIT Community! :)

*I realized while writing this post, and listening to the music from he example links, and being blown away once again.
I hope some new people will be "turned on" to the great Music that has inspired my life :)

Peace and One Love,
Doctorspacebass

My Links:
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@doctorspacebass
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/doctorspacebass/videos

Sort:  

I just checked out those links from your introduction post, have to give it up, you are a fantastic bass player. Steem is lucky to have some cool new musicians joining the platform, guys like you. Have you thought about perhaps giving a bass lesson series? I know people love really cool cover songs that's an easy one to figure out. You should really pay attention to all the contest stuff and the open mic stuff on Steemit. That being said it's hard to find a community as genuine and fantastic as Steemit. I know you're going to love it here and more importantly the community is going to get to discover an artist who is actually a kick ass bass player, nice post bro.

Hey thanks man, Yeah good Idea about the Lessons, I' definitely check out the open mic stuff.
And yeah It's great to connect with a genuine community :)

Welcome to the Steem World! Family Man is definitely one of the best bassists of all time, so cool!
I have recently made an orientation video that will help you in your journey here - and will hopefully answer all the questions that took me months to figure out.


https://steemit.com/dtube/@maneki-neko/tuswb0ao
I wish you all the best here on Steem!

Thanks a lot man, Cool a fellow Family Man Fan :)
I'll check out your Video
Peace

WElcome ;) As a musician, you must check out #openmic - its a music contest where you can earn rewards! Resteemed you via @welcoming, my page for sharing promising newcomers! Greets, @theaustrianguy

Thanks for the Kind welcome :) And the Resteemed. I'll check it out for sure.

Thank you very much, looking forward to a lot of great networking and sharing of quality content :)

Cool intro man! I am sure you will be finding a lot of like minded people on this platform! When you finally do that live album, let us all know.

Weve heard a lot of studio albums but a true 'Live' album has been missing for a while. Or maybe do a VR EP with an upstart VR studio! Good luck!

Hey thanks a lot man great to meet cool new people in the community. Totally appreciate you checking out the saga :P Definitely Will keep you posted!

Wow, great first post! Welcome to Steemit!

Hey Thanks man, cheers and look forward to some great new adventures.

Hello @doctorspacebass Welcome on the steemit. Great music my friend! Love to see this art here. Please enjoy your time here an don't forget to post quality content.

@WNFdiary

Thank you very much:) Amazing Photos! Great to be in a community of Artists and content lovers :P

Thumb up and thank you

Oh! I admire your introduction and your passion for music. Welcome to steemit and looking forward for more of your live music videos, must be thrilling =)
Cheers for 2018.

Thank you very much great to see you are doing well and I really enjoyed your posts !, Looks like a very
healthy and beautiful life you have going! Great to network with amazing people in the Steemit community :)
Cheers to you too !

Hello, Jay. Glad to get acquainted! +

Hey Nice to meet you too :)
Steemit Rocks!

Hey Jay, brand new here as well. Excited to see the content you contribute. Big bass fan!

Hey Justin, cool yeah excited as well to see all the great content in the new community.
Photography, Painting, and Craft Beer ... A Fellow Artist :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94