Hello from Dr Nat! Doctor-Wife-Mother-(wannabe)-Athlete living in Melbourne 🙂

Hi there Steemit peeps!

First up, I think I've broken the cardinal rule of Steemit, and have posted already BEFORE doing my #introducemyself... Whoops!

I'm Natalie, a family physician / general practitioner (depending on what country you're from) living in Melbourne Australia with my husband, 5yo boy and 3yo girl.

I think we're meant to share our "cred"? Seems a bit narcissistic to list it all out here, so I've put it at the end. 😀

I've always been a lover of sports and physical activity. In my younger years I competed in swimming, athletics, tennis, netball. Sadly dreams of Olympic glory (jokes!) were dashed with a ruptured right knee ACL in late teenage years (with reconstruction done). Now that I'm old bird, my activities include F45 and trail running, and general survival/ keeping my head above the waters of life.

I first started blogging when I was pregnant with our first kiddie 5+ years ago. I was super excited to be pregnant and keen to discuss training options with my doctor. So imagine my disappointment when I discovered that the general medical community are still very much taking an approach of "just take it easy when you're pregnant" and I was told not to run, train, or even lift a heavy handbag! The doctors I spoke with all admitted that there is no good reason why women cannot train during pregnancy, however no-one wants to take the responsibility of encouraging their patients to train, and then have something go wrong.

So I took it upon myself to look at the evidence-based medicine surrounding exercise in pregnancy (and also documented my training throughout pregnancy - on a website that was hacked... to death 😥 RIP). The evidence is important, because so much of what women are being recommended to do is on the basis of what celebrities or self-proclaimed experts are advising. (Actually, this seems applicable to the world in general...)

Now I'm some years on from my initial single-minded drive to spread the exercise/health/fitness-love to the world (with strength and resolve weakened by the constant pestilence and sleep deprivation that parenting brings) however will keep looking at health, fitness, medical, nutritional stuff - and anything else that takes my fancy (or yours for that matter - so please let me know!). There will probably also be the occasional sleep-deprived 'has she lost her mind' ramble. Such is life.

On a separate note, I was born in Hong Kong to a Chinese father and Anglo-Australian mother - so get the best of both worlds. In the respective horoscopes, I am a Gemini-Dragon, which according to my husband (who is hilarious by the way) makes me a Two-Headed Dragon.

Anyway I'm super excited to be on Steemit (actually I have my husband to thank for it) and am looking forward to sharing information and ideas.

Dr Nat xx

PS: I have included the obligatory #introduceyourself steemit photo thereby proving I'm a real person! This is probably the 23rd take... I have a very real issue with taking a good photo and most of them have me with my eyes half closed, looking like Randall from Monsters, Inc. 😂

PPS: my "cred"

  • Qualified group fitness instructor
  • Qualified personal trainer
  • Bachelor of Applied Science (Human Movement Studies)
  • Bachelor of Medicine & Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS)
  • Post Graduate Diploma in Family Medicine
  • Post Graduate Diploma in Child Health
  • Fellowship of Hong Kong College of Family Physicians
  • Fellowship of Royal Australian College of General Practitioners
  • General practice work
  • Medical director for the world’s leading international healthcare, medical and security assistance company
  • Ex-Associate Professor of Family Medicine, University of Hong Kong
Sort:  

Hi doctornatism

Welcome to steemit family! Good luck! I am sure that you will fully enjoy your journey here:)

Welcome aboard

Hey @doctornatism! Welcome to steemit! Hope you'll like being here :)


Welcome to Steem @doctornatism.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Hey doctornatism, welcome to Steemit !

Are you an Instagramer ? If so, don't forget to link your Instagram account to your Steemit account at http://steemigram.com/. Then, all your Instagram posts including the hashtag #steemigram will be posted on your Steemit blog !

If you have any questions, please ask us here or on Discord

Welcome to Steem, @doctornatism!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3307 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus Points : Wallet Sneak Peek.

Welcome to steemit!
Wish u best of luck!
Think wisely,before u post!
Thats the best advice!
AND,B YOURSELF!

Hello, you are welcome to this steemit, hope you will enjoy here.

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to steemit.....

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97