Introducing Myself

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Hello! I joined the Steemit community about 14 days ago and thought it was about time I introduced myself. My name is Dale Nicholson (@dnic). All pics in this post are mine.

1-dale.jpg

I am fascinated by the concept of a Blockchain based social network and I love the idea of having rewards for quality content. I am excited to hear about posts you would recommend for getting up to speed, I read many, but I don't know if they were the best ones!

So what do I plan to do on Steemit? I plan to blog about things I'm interested in and to interact with others who share those interests. Along the way I hope to learn all about Blockchain and the technology behind it, what better environment to learn than on a Blockchain based Social Network? I mean learning the real deal, not all the hype-filled articles I see all the time, I figured the people building this network are probably posting on here too.

My Interests

  • Art (drawing, painting, poetry). I am especially interested in sharing my own work to get feedback. I've never really shared much of it with anyone.

  • Zines and Zine making. I have had a lot of desire to be more creative and have found joy in creating zines for my own use and enjoyment. I hope to eventually share some of that for both feedback and just for fun. Here's the front page from one I did a couple weeks ago:
    firstpage.png

  • Christian worldview and beliefs. I am a Christian and have an interest in sharing the background of my faith and why I have my beliefs.

  • Sharing work-related articles I read that I feel are high quality. Subjects such as Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence, Data Management, Agile Development, Product Management, Product Development, Digital Marketing, and many others.

  • Sound Engineering: DAWs, Mixers, Effects, Plugins, Etc. I am a complete novice but learning. I started getting interested because some of my family are musicians. My family and I sing a lot of karaoke for fun too.

  • Video production: Storyboards, shot design, cinematography, design tips, etc. Also a novice in this area.

  • Graphic design. Photoshop, Illustrator, etc. but I switched to Gimp and Inkscape since Adobe only allows a subscription model now.

  • Various technical subjects: Examples, Linux. I love Ubuntu Studio and Kali. HAM Radio, various programming languages, Arduino, and electronics in general.

  • Worldwide Stamp Collecting. I love history and one of the best ways I've found to learn a countries history is through their postage stamps. I create my own stamp album pages too, here's an example page:
    sweden.png

  • Worldwide travel. In the past, I've enjoyed jobs (both in the US military and as a civilian) that required travel around the world and have always enjoyed learning about different cultures and exploring new locations. Here's a picture of me visiting a palace near Jaipur India (Indian state of Rajasthan). And if you were wondering, yes, I do collect stamps from India!
    DSC04645.JPG

  • Veteran's issues. I'm a US Army veteran and have interest in veteran's issues, am a member of the American Legion, and Legion Rider's.

  • Motorcycle Riding. I ride a Harley and a Honda Goldwing. Yes, I do go outside despite what my interests list might have led you to believe!
    31749550_10155578310345897_1819320590075428864_n.jpg

These last few interests I don't get much time for, plenty busy with the others:

  • Hunting, fishing, camping, etc. Way better than playing video games...

  • Designing and playing Role-playing games like D20 Modern, D20 Future, and version 3.5 Dungeons and Dragons.

Thanks for reading!!!

IMG_0555-edit.jpg

Some of my posts:
One of my drawings and a poem, already past 7 days:
https://steemit.com/art/@dnic/reflections-of-a-dream

Christian faith related. Both of these are still within 7 days:
https://steemit.com/christian-trail/@dnic/how-are-perceptions-of-truth-influenced-by-christianity-and-cultural-beliefs
https://steemit.com/christian-trail/@dnic/what-does-it-mean-to-follow-jesus

#introduceyourself #introducemyself #art #blog #technology

Sort:  

Hey, welcome! How are you doing?
73 es CU AGN
de AB4UW

Thanks for the welcome, I'm doing well! What are those letters/numbers in your post? Some kind of code to get votes on your comment or something? Are you a bot?

I'm talking about these:
73 es CU AGN
de AB4UW

Welcome to steemit @dnic.

  • Join @minnowsupport project for more help
  • Checkout @helpie for daily trivias and useful information
  • Join @qurator a good quality support project
  • Checkout @steembasicincome
  • Help us save the forest with @treeplanter
    Follow me @tuanis for random votes daily please checkout the report
    Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Great introduction post, you got an upvote from @curatorbot

Screenshot 2018-08-29 08.54.53.png

Hello and welcome to Steemit! :)

Also If you are into cryptocurrencies then you are more than welcome to visit my channel, as I have made the commitment to share everything with others.

Let me know if need any help.

Best of luck to you!

Thanks! I'm enjoying learning a new platform so far. I'll take a look at your posts too.

Hey Dale, drawing is fun. I like to draw too and love Bitcoin, I'm Oatmeal.

Hello Oatmeal, thanks for commenting. I used to draw a lot more than I have lately. Before I got involved too deeply in technology creating art was my passion. I've always had a need to be creative, but I cycle between several ways of doing so.

Yeah, me too, I grew up drawing, and then I started writing and singing. Yeah, so many ways to be creative.

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To learn more about us and stay connected with us, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86