What does it mean to follow Jesus?

in #christian-trail6 years ago

What does it really mean to follow Jesus? A few days ago I wrote about how our perceptions of truth are influenced by our cultural references (link: https://steemit.com/christian-trail/@dnic/how-are-perceptions-of-truth-influenced-by-christianity-and-cultural-beliefs). Today I wanted to expand on one of the thoughts in that post.

IMG_0441.JPG
image: Mine

So what does it mean to follow Jesus? Over the last few years, I've come to understand something I feel is very important: The call of Christ is not to self-fulfillment, but to fulfill the work of Jesus by being his hands and feet in the world today. We follow His example and work to be more like Him and get closer to Him.

Jesus calls us to action, not to be entertained. We are called to walk as He did, do the things He would do. Believing in Him is only the beginning because we believe in Jesus we respond to His direction for our lives. Belief alone isn’t everything.

Matthew 16:24-26 NIV -- 24 Then Jesus said to his disciples, “if anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. 25 For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me will find it. 26 What good will it be for a man if he gains the whole world, yet forfeits his soul? Or what can a man give in exchange for his soul?

Where did I get my convictions about how to follow Jesus? As you probably expected, It's from spending time reading the Bible. Reading while attempting to listen to the Holy Spirit helps me gain the convictions that God wants me to have. I've learned that it's hard to quiet down the worldly noise enough to hear what God is trying to tell me, but when I am successful I am always rewarded with more or new understanding.

Each person can be called to follow Jesus in their own way, but make no mistake, He wants ALL of you, not just a small part when it's convenient, or just on Sunday, or when you need something from Him.

Jesus calls for action:

1 John 2:4-6 NIV -- 4 The man who says, “I know him,” but does not do what He commands is a liar, and the truth is not in him. 5 But if anyone obeys his word, God’s love is truly made complete in him. This is how we know we are in him: 6 Whoever claims to live in him must walk as Jesus did.

So how do you know what Jesus is telling YOU to do to follow him? David Platt, an author and pastor, wrote about some of this in his book titled “Radical”. He suggested in his book that there are two preconditions to truly following Jesus, one is to commit to believe whatever Jesus says. That means we don’t just listen to what he says and decide afterwards whether we like it or not. He suggests that we won’t hear what Jesus truly has to say if we approach it that way and I have found that to be very true in my own life. The second is that we must commit to obey what we have heard. In other words, action is called for; we must act on what Jesus tells us.

I have found that for me, the very best way to listen is to read in the Bible regularly, and then to talk with other Christians about what I read to help work through any questions together and also, getting insight from what others gleaned out of the same text. Prayer both with those same friends and individual prayer after those discussions help to further solidify what I was supposed to get from a given reading.

Jesus calls for action:

James 2:14-17 NIV -- 14 What good is it, my brothers, if a man claims to have faith but has no deeds? Can such faith save him? 15 Suppose a brother or sister is without clothes and daily food. 16 If one of you says to him, “Go, I wish you well; keep warm and well fed,” but does nothing about his physical needs, what good is it? 17 In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.

A couple years ago at the church I attend, we went through a series called the God's of War authored by Kyle Idelman. In Kyle’s book, he had a chapter on the god of entertainment which really resonated with me. In it he suggested that we look to see where we spend most of our time and what we get passionate about. Are we more likely to get excited watching a football game than when worshiping the Lord? I saw in myself many signs that I was more interested in being entertained that about what I needed to do to follow Jesus.

It's not about which church has the best programs or music, it about how Jesus individually calls us to action for his edification, not ours. We are to ACT on what Jesus tells us, not passively receive his words. Our interaction doesn't end once we have accepted Him and been saved, it's just the beginning.

We have to be willing to accept direction from Jesus to follow Him. Even when it's difficult. Even when it doesn't match up with our cultural worldview. Even when we are persecuted for it.

Although I have my share of failures, when I succeed and step out in faith to follow Jesus and do what He leads me to do, I have gained a much greater joy and fulfillment than I ever got when my favorite team scored. I just had to step out in faith and ACT.

Jesus calls for action:

Matthew 28:18-10 NIV -- 18 then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20 and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.

So, do you consider yourself a follower or Jesus? Are you actively seeking to understand his will for your life? I encourage you to spend some time thinking about some of the Bible references I laid out in this post and talking through them with some friends. Analyze your own life to see where you put the most focus and if it isn't on Jesus, make the adjustments that the Holy Spirit leads you to make. It's a journey that doesn't end when you are first saved. It's a life-long relationship that requires constant adjustment as you gain more and more insight over the years.

Let me close with a prayer for all of us: Spirit of God, it is You that we desire to follow. Help us to hear Your daily calling on our lives as followers of Jesus, and in our specific roles in Your mission to love the world. Please show us which roles You want us to take so that we might follow You in the ways you have planned for us rather than the ways we choose for ourselves. We choose to obey; speak and we will listen and respond with action. In Jesus’ name, we offer ourselves to You. Amen.

#christian-trail #truth #faith #christianity #Jesus

Sort:  

Greetings @dnic.

Welcome to Steemit.

Interesting topic.....the realm of Christianity.

What does the Bible say...what did Chirst say.....what do the Epistles say...are all queries believers in Christ Jesus should ask themselves.

'After salvation, What?' is the title of book by R.B. Thieme, Jr.

Found in I Corinthians....we have this verse..... 'Let this thinking be in you which is also in Christ Jesus.' Christ is the Living Word.

The Pastor-Teacher that seems to explain this best is R.B. Thieme, Jr. He was trained in the original languages of the scripture. His fifty year ministry can be found at

http://www.rbthieme.org/

If you desire to have queries answered.....have a look around the site.

All the best.

Cheers!

Thank you @bleujay for your comments! I'll have to check out that website.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25