Hi Steemit!

I'm a 41-year-old developer and father of 3 super-smart daughters.

I've always had a passing interest in cryptography, and love all things tech - but it wasn't until about a year and a half ago that I really started to look at what blockchain was all about. I may have been late to the party, but it didn't take me long to get hooked. The potential of Bitcoin as a store of value and blockchain as a way to mathematically seal data and ensure integrity is nothing short of amazing. I did a little hobby-mining for a few months, and really enjoyed it. While it has become infeasible for "the average joe" to really generate any significant hashpower, I still love how Bitcoin democratizes money; Being able to plug into an economy and immediately feel like your contribution counts just as much as anyone else was a refreshing feeling, as I live in America and am used to a system that gives one interest rate to the financial elite and a higher one to the rest of us shmucks. Unfortunately, once the summer months came my wife got sick of the ungodly heat emanating from my closet and I had to shut the ASICs down.

Nowadays I do my best to HODL through the roller-coaster, buying a little more whenever the price drops down enough, and try to keep up with what's happening with the community. I love steemit and have been meaning to get an account here for a while now. I'm really excited to be a part of this site, and look forward to writing and reading much more.

Nice to meet everyone!

Sort:  

Welcome :D
Have a nice day.

Welcome buddy, given your interests un cryptography and bitcoin etc you should feel right at home here!

Welcome to family :)

Welcome to Steemit !

welcome @Discodaddy:) Glad to see you, hope you enjoy here as much as i do ! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me !

Welcome to steemit Community @discodaddy, i'm looking forward for your post in the future, Enjoy and keep steeming!

Best regards

Thanks @keeshawn - nice gif, by the way!

Welcome to Steem @discodaddy I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit @discodaddy, I have upvoted and sent you a tip. Check my blogs if you are looking for tips on how to earn more Steem and SBD.

Hello @discodaddy nice introduceyourself post!!

I'm @andyluy and I've been here for a a month, a can tell you that steemit is the most amazing thing I've ever seen at the internet so far. I'm happy seeing it grows every day!

I had some hard time on the firsts week, so I spent some time searching information to improve my experience with steemit, latter I've decided to make posts about those things in order to help the new ones to have a shortcut to get deeper on steemit.

here is some of my posts, I hope It mitght be helpful to you:

steemit-police
Usefull steemit tool
Minnowssupport!
The Randowhale
Getting videos from facebook

Here is one post from @yoda1917 That i think Is useful to have a look too
just halt for a moment

I intend to keep posting useful info that I may be able to gather, and in a near future some give away. Feel invited to follow me and if you have any question about steemit you can ask me in any of my last posts, I'll try my best to help.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59121.51
ETH 2993.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78