My Perfect World -- A Millennial Testimony

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

hello steemit community,

I am writing to you as a member of the millennial generation, hoping to give you all a taste of my own perspective.

Though I am an optimist, I believe there are many problems in this world; problems that have been masked, and forgotten, because of endless streams of content we see every day via the Internet, TV, etc. For example, the recent terrorist attacks in the UK go viral, and the next day completely forgotten by the masses due to a basketball game, hypothetically speaking. We are not to dwell, but instead remember and strategize together.

PROBLEM

I believe one of the biggest problems in the world today is humanity lacking the skill of learning from the past.

One of the most popular catchphrases of this generation is carpe diem. I remember first hearing this a few years back, and unaware of its definition, I scrambled to Google. Its meaning: live in the moment. Immediately, I stressed, making myself believe I was too caught up in the past. But as I mature, I now realize it is not necessarily a bad thing remembering the past, but instead, I use it to my advantage and learn from it.

In the worldview, history repeats itself. Human-to-human conflict will always be. From the famous Albert Einstein, "We can't solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them." Though he may not have intended this to be about human-to-human conflicts, one can argue that through the use of technology, we might be able to end this conflict.

VISION

My vision for the world, again it may be a very optimistic view but I am a glass-half-full kind of person, is to truly understand each other, and work together for the betterment of humanity as a whole.

Regardless of where you come from, what you look like, or what you believe in, we all were put on this Earth for a reason, someway--somehow; science can only explain so much. Once we can come to terms that we are all the same, we can start to become unified and hopefully share some of the same goals in order to increase the quality of life for all living things.

SHARED MISSION

We are able to utilize the Internet as a tool to learn. Through the Power of Education, we are able to learn from famous scholars such as Aristotle, Cant, Socrates, and many other philosophers, to learn moral codes and ethics, at the touch of our finger. These are imperative for our children to learn in order to establish right from wrong, so as they mature and learn the qualities it takes to be a leader in society, we are ensured that they have the right foundation to lead, and ensure that the powerful tool of the Internet will be used correctly in the future.

We are to encourage failure, as some of the best lessons I have learned have been through my own demise. I am young, and admit that I do not have the answer for everything. But, I believe that more people need to learn to admit to themselves first, and then others, that they are sometimes wrong. I am not sure what people are afraid of, but in my own experiences, I have noticed people of ALL ages having a tough time admitting when they are wrong. The moment you can admit to not just yourself, but to others, that you are not always right, is the moment you will learn the most about yourself.


I hope that you made it through my first blog. I encourage anyone who has read this to leave feedback, as I am not sure how this will be interpreted, if it even reaches anyone. I hope that I can learn through my mistakes here, as well as learn from the seasoned vets in this community.

CHEERS!

-dina-myte


rep

Sort:  

@dina-myte this is a super interesting post, and welcome to the steemit community! I love hearing about how you have discussed these topics with your parents and how there is a huge disconnect between the generations.

It is amazing to see your perspective as a millennial during our age of social media and the tech boom!

Great post man, keep them coming!

Upvoted and followed!

-@bostonrob

Appreciate the encouragement, always tough starting out as a rookie! Hope to see you around

Glad to have you on Steemit
Welcome to visit: REPORTS FOR NEWBIES

Will do hien-tran!

If you compare humanity to a single human being, we are still young children. We learn by trial and error. This will not change anytime soon.
The good thing is that children learn fast. It might appear we learn not fast enough, but you need to see it in perspective. It will take us a long time to grow up. We will make many more (of the same kind of) mistakes and that is the way it's supposed to be I think. Children need to learn the hard way.
Humanity will be fine eventually, but not without bumping our heads a couple of times.

Great post! :-)

Hi Bart, I know exactly what you mean. I hope that someday soon people can all see eye-to-eye. I am young and still have a lot to learn so I appreciate your wisdom. Hope to see you around!

Thank you! I will try and return the favor!

Welcome to the party. Carpe Diem has a place in a growth mindset - albeit a more complicated one. There is a difference between living in the moment and taking the time to enjoy the things that are going on. The first focuses on the short term, the latter focuses on enjoying the entire journey, each step taken towards a goal - not just the end result.

I try to follow the second. Thanks for sharing your ideas!

Hi justinchase, interesting to hear your point of view on this. I like the fact that you differentiated the two and I also believe I follow the second, just trying to appreciate the things that are going on in our individual journies and the world's journey. I appreciate the time to took to read!

Hello @dina-myte

Welcome to Steemit

I believe that those who did not learn from history are doomed to repeat the mistakes of the past.

Joining this platform is one of the wisest decision you will ever make.

To get weekly tips on how to grow your blog. Check out The BlockChain Blogger.

@ogochukwu

hi ogochukwu! thanks for the incite! I am excited to be a part of this!

Hi heigovannik, thanks for the welcome

Welcome to the platform, I wish everything work out for you. It’s not easy here but not difficult neither but just ask an extra effort, engagement is the key good luck I’m @goodaytraders Start by following people and they will do the same.

Right on goodaytraders, I will be sure to give you a follow! thanks for the encouragement

Hope the best in this new & challenging environment. I like it writing about several topics that call my attention, from travel, life to science and technology. Here are some of my last posts, that if you can, read them and leave some comments - it will be great.

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@indepthstory/anyone-can-address-this-note-and-let-all-i-am-the-only-one-know-comments-and-or-explanations-i-do-not-have-a-clue

https://steemit.com/steemit/@indepthstory/i-was-almost-convinced-but-what-happened-what-on-earth-is-going-on

https://steemit.com/life/@indepthstory/rio-de-janeiro-is-one-of-those-items-that-must-be-placed-in-the-bucket-list-and-one-day-definitively-visit-we-did

https://steemit.com/health/@indepthstory/i-have-three-kidneys-now-how-about-that

Best of good luck in the STEEMIT arena …. have given you my upvote & follow tick for the welcome, and of course hope you will follow me .!!

@indepthstory

Txs. & Rgds.

will be sure to take a look indepthstory! thanks for the comment

nice; best rgds.

Amazing introduction! Happy steeming.

Hi modernsuperior, thanks for the comment and taking the time to read. You got a great blog going!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67831.26
ETH 3460.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72