I have three kidneys, now how about that !!

in #health7 years ago

For years I had an infection (some virus or so having fun with both of my kidneys that is) that it seems to be was taking advantage of this organs. I was told about this by the doctors by the time I was 28 years old ( today I am over 50). I knew that at some point in time something had to be done, since as the kidneys were losing their power and not being able to filter the toxins (i.e. creatinine in the high 12’s) in the blood and to produce hemoglobin and other good stuff for the body. A Transplant was going to be necessary, and the time came around. About year-and-a-half ago I got the call from the hospital to tell me that a kidney was available for me (unfortunately, I later learned that the donor a young person in mid 40’s had suffered a heart stroke). Even though I thought I was prepared, all question asked and answered & all about kidneys learnt, for a moment I believe I forgot a lot of the things that I was taught to do before going into the operating room, specially be calm and not anxious !!! To make a long story short when I came out about 3 hours later and was able to mumble a few words I asked the doctor, please could you tell me what happens with the kidneys you took out? To which he replied, obviously with a smile on his face, actually we never take out the kidneys unless there's absolutely a reason for doing that and in your case they are still working at 10% of capacity so they are still in and now you have three kidneys. So how about that !!!

Best rgds, and have a great and best health,

@indepthstory

tree kideys.jpg

Sort:  

you can sell extra ones lol

Congratulations @indepthstory! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Mighty and zillion thanks to you all. :-)
@indepthstory

Oh my goodness! I had NO IDEA!!! Thank you for sharing, I now have a fun fact to share with friends! LOL Do you feel any different in the area of the third kidney?

Absolutely nothing; I think at the very beginning, few days after the ops, it was more an issue of being predisposed (scared) to place my hands over the stitches or being touch in the area by anything. These days in good shape. Its like a new carburetor !!

@indepthstory

Hahaha! Good analogy! LOL

get to the parts house and sell that bad boy !

cash tha kiney outside how bout dah.

Glad you got the extra kidney you need, to help you continue living your life!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64187.97
ETH 3476.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49