Reddit is Dead, Long Live the King, Steemit!

Phish - Steam

Wanted: Reddit Killer

Over the past year or so, it has become abundantly clear that reddit is a dying platform.  It has stagnated and become a place full of trolling, useless clickbait, and over-abused censorship.  This has led to an opening in the market for a new platform to come in and take over.

Enter: Steemit

As we are all well aware, Steemit is the answer.  It provides a platform where people can freely create, collaborate, and grow together.  It disincentives trolling, click-bait and over-abused censorship and incentives the net-growth of the community as a whole.  

Generally speaking, if you add something to the overall value of steemit, you will be monetarily rewarded for your work.  We are the employees, working to deliver the best content possible to make your life a little better.  Perhaps even inspiring you to deliver amazing content that can make other people smile and so on.

Big Picture

This project will draw in people who know nothing about cryptocurrency.  They will be drawn to the prospect of earning money for their creativity that they may have "wasted" on another site that offers nothing in return for their work.  Over time, this will lead to more people learning about Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies.  In the end, this can only be a massive net gain for the crypto community.

What's My Role?

My name is Derek.  You can follow me on twitter @DerekReith.  I am extremely passionate about Bitcoin, Anarcho-capitalism, and Austrian Economics.  My wife-to-be (@missjessica) and I love to travel.  We are massive Phish phans and have been to dozens of shows together over the years.  Being from New England, I am also a big time fan of Boston sports.  I look forward to discussing all of these topics and much more.  Keep an eye out for my first series: C's Up, a Celtics blog!

Steem on, people!

Sort:  

Upvoted you

Reddit's incessant need to spy on our every activity on the internet (like facebook) will be the reason for its demise. It is because of this that Steemit will take its place. This is the next iteration of social media.

Never liked reddit anyways , think i posted like twice on it

Me too, there's something about the interface I find really off putting.

CG

Agree. Reddit is stupid!

I've seen Phish play Steam live. 😁

They're the best! Love me some Steam! :)

Nice one Derek, great to see another convert! :-D

CG

I can see how the Steemit format encourages people to share and contribute content however I do not find this an alternative to Reddit.

While Steemit definitely plays a role in my everyday online activity, it just hasn't caught up to the volume and community feel to Reddit yet. (hey maybe I'm wrong and that will change soon?)

For now, Steemit needs to advance in the security department (especially those lame bots that just spam everything and contribute to NOTHING!!!)

cheers Derek!

Steemit certainly has a long way to go to compete with Reddit and other platforms. I absolutely love its potential though and could easily see this project growing immensely over the next couple years.

Security is a major issue. I was shocked when I signed up and the site didn't offer 2FA. Lacking 2FA in the crypto space is not good at all. It's my only hesitation so far when talking to people about it. Everything else I can see improving with time, but security in crypto is no joke.

Cheers Josh!

You bring up censorship and I think Reddit and many other sites have a heavy hand. The true test of Steemit will deal with censorship. Once a "controversial" post is posted will they leave it up or will they give in to the mob? Time will tell. I hope they stay true to their word. Long live #Bitcoin!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65800.35
ETH 3464.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68