#introduceyourself – Books, Movies and Other Unhealthy Obsessions

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Unbenannt.png

I´m a 21 year-old girl from Germany that likes to hide her face behind a piece of paper. Obviously, today is not the 26nd March, but that’s the day I did my first blog post here, so were gonna go with that. Welcome to my #introduceyourself (I´m sorry for the cheaply made Paint picture, don’t expect more from me, though.)

As a student of a bachelor degree course with a complicated name that is best described as management with some language and culture stuff there is a lot of free time that I mostly spend at home like someone without friends and obsess over stupid things like English and German titles on book spines are written in opposite directions ISN’T THAT EXCITING and than I annoy everyone with that. You will be mostly spared, there wont be posts about stuff like this.

My boyfriend introduced me to Steemit, so if, at the end of reading this post, you think you have wasted your time: blame him. I started this blog by posting about books, and while I think this will be the main focus here, there are a lot of other things I have a passion for that might sneak their way into some posts and maybe even videos.

Musical Theatre

Using music to tell stories, be it in a classic or new musical, a opera, operetta or whatever, is something that I thoroughly enjoy. And having lyrics in a song actually have a context and meaning, instead of being just some stuff the writer came up with because there have to be lines, is just great.
Even if I don’t live in an area where I could enjoy that many musicals live (and I wouldn’t have the money for it if I did) I listen to cast recordings practically all the time and watch the existing DVDs (there need to be more of them).

Old Movies

If someone tells me they have seen an old movie I automatically assume they mean something from between the 20´s and 60´s and end up really disappointed if it turns out that they mean something produced in the 90´s or even 2000´s.

In general, I enjoy films from around the 40´s – 60´s most but I´m also open to silent films and of course newer stuff. At the time I´m not watching so many because movie phases and book phases seem to be mutually exclusive with me, whenever I´m reading much I can’t get myself into watching movies that often and vise versa. It´s not even a time thing, I have enough of that. I´m just weird.

Animated Movies

Since my best friend brought me back to watching Disney films (after having to watch them herself with her younger siblings) I really built an appreciation for the positivity and artistic styles that hand drawn and animated movies have to offer. They´re mostly full of colors and songs while story and even sad and darker moments are not neglected.

While I mostly watch the same things I already loved as a child over and over again like in the good old times, I also discovered other masterpieces that I´m glad I didn’t dismiss as “just for children”.
I am also interested to rediscover old TV shows from my childhood, mostly to see if they still hold up for me today. Maybe I could make a project to post about out of that.

Fandoms

I´m not in too many fandoms and not really active in any of them but there are definitely TV shows and other stuff that I spend maybe a little too much time thinking about. I really love all the great fan projects other people create around their favourite things, like songs, films, drawings and questionable fan fiction.

Most of them wont be the focus of anything here, so I´m not going into detail, but my first and strongest of the fandoms is Harry Potter. I marathoned the films more than once and the books are almost the only ones were I don’t shy away from rereading.

Books

I know, I mentioned books earlier but it would be weird not writing about that for at least a little. After just recently really rediscovering my interest in books I have already read more books in the first 4 months of this years than in the last 4 years (or even more) alltogether.

While Science Fiction is the genre I read most of at the time, I also enjoy classics (everything concerning the time roughly between 1700 and 1930 is really interesting for me in general, especially the beautiful clothes), sometimes fantasy and other subgenres with fantastical elements, as well as probably some other stuff that I don’t know how to call .

The End

There is probably some other stuff (maybe even a lot) that I forgot to mention here, but I´m going to leave it with that. If you think I am an interesting person (I would be surprised) feel free to follow me or read my first post. I´m not quite sure if its in a style I want to keep and what exactly I will write about later on, so if you don’t care about it much you might like other stuff in the future. I am happy for any constructive feedback.
I think that’s all so far about me. I hope you enjoyed my post. bye.

Sort:  

Welcome to the community

Hey ;)
Schau dir mal die Tipps von @neuvorstellungen an, die dürften helfen!
Hab dein Intro außerdem mal geteilt - für ein bisschen Mehr Reichweite!
Liebe Grüße, @theaustrianguy


Welcome to Steemit @dedmops!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

You mean you like to hide behind a screen ;)

Interesting. Look forward to your posts. Followed !

I will follow you and do think you are an interesting person LOL Yes I watch the same old films mainly December and Januar (I do not watch television). I also watch all kind of cartoons and animated fims and animé. To be honest I like the old ones, the real drawings most of all. Welcome here!

I have friends and relatives that won't watch a movie if it's more than a 3 years old. To them, that's an old movie. Meanwhile, I enjoy movies of all eras, including silent films.

Hello @depmops, I work with a couple of groups, @newbieresteemday, and with @greetersguild, both groups try to give a boost, a leg up, to new users on steemit, between the two there is a multitude of services, and help we can provide, most of that occurs on Discord Chat, so when you learn or get into the chat side you are welcome to join both groups.

You mentioned you are getting back into reading, you will Find many Quality Writers/Authors on stemit, (I hate self plugging but here goes), if you visit my blog on the banner link is my master post, I have a collection of a lot of Authors on there.

If you have any question feel free to leave them on any of my post, or just tag me in a comment here. (use my @ name). Many people use @ginabot to get notifications. (once again a discord chat service)

Thank you. That is really helpfull. :)

Welcome to the community!! You sound like my type of person haha I love music, tv shows, movies, animations and all that sort of thingsss :) Nice to meet you!!

Welcome! Looking forward to your book posts!

Can't decide whether to use ' or ´ or ’ ?

That's a special easter egg in my posts. Find them all! :D

I'm not a Pokémon trainer!

You're not? That's kind of disappointing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67167.98
ETH 3674.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76