You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introduction and AMA (Ask Me Anything) about being a Professional Poker and Daily Fantasy Sports Player (Cross Post from Poker Section)

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

This is a difficult question to answer without getting super technical. But there has always been a balancing act between playing optimally (the game theoretical strategy which if perfected would be an unbeatable strategy) versus exploitably (playing in a way that tries to maximize against an opponent's particular strategy which has mistakes). Most top players nowadays have veered towards the optimal route, however, there are many instances where exploitable play is more profitable against certain opponents.

I'll try to give a basic example. Let's say there is $100 in a pot and we have $100 remaining. If I were playing a game theory optimal strategy, I would bet strong hands 67% of the time and bet $100 and bluff 33% of the time and bet $100. This is because I am giving my opponent 2:1 odds to call, so he needs to beat me 1 in 3 to be profitable, and I want to maximize how often I can make this bet and also do it in a way so he is indifferent to calling or folding with his mediocre hands. And my opponent knows he must call with at least 50% of his hands, otherwise when I bluff I am winning money since I risked $100 to win $100, so I need him to fold at least 50% for those bluffs to make money.

But if I know my opponent is folding too frequently then I can just bet every hand I have and bluff way more often and win money. Or if I know he is calling too frequently I will never bluff and always have strong hands. These adjustments are playing the player, and it helps to get someone to win the most money he can, but it is an exploitable and beatable strategy if the opponent properly adjusts.

Short answer: I try to play the odds most of the time

Sort:  

Thanks! Yeah I have to build a better framework in my mind for bet sizes & pot odds, but I get the gist of what you're saying. I play for fun and it's been years since I played, but bet sizes/pot odds is always something I wanted to improve on. I guess when you use more of an exploit strategy against people in tourneys you have to have a good memory to recognize a person's habits... what about tells?

Some people are experts at tell recognition. I find them hard to use mainly because tells can often have multiple meanings (ie a shake could mean strength or weakness), and in live poker you only see about 30 hands an hour, players only show down hands every so often so you rarely find out what they have, and players have gotten increasingly better at being robotic in their betting motions.

Like I said, some people have mastered this, but since I made the move away from live poker after the 2007 soul crushing tournament, I never fostered this ability further and generally used it as a tie breaker in a close situation. Although when I did win that big tournament I had a physical tell on my opponent HU. I didn't recognize it, someone told me it and I spent a few hours verifying it, but it did pay off huge eventually as I was able to exploit him near the end, I just don't rely on them

Fascinating. I'm sure you can have a Madden rating on poker players for various strengths. So many factors that come into play and it seems HU would be the best place for taking advantage of tell recognition? What was Isaac's tell?

I feel like I playing poker now. This thread got me psyched!!

Poker is full of brilliant, driven, interesting people.

At my peak I was one of the best in the world at a very small subset of games in poker. Think of poker like the track and field section of the olympics, and while I played a few different events (say the 400m hurdle, the long jump, and the high jump), I was only one of the best at the 400m hurdle and maybe among the top 50 at another. Now since I am pretty inactive I wouldn't be top 200 in the world at any of the games I played for a living in the past.

There are a number of factors that make a top poker player, but I honestly believe I don't have the most important traits: extreme competitiveness, focus, work ethic, and also being a good loser. I was more of a lazy intellectual in poker, and when strategy became more widespread, the more competitive focused people surpassed me. I would still be able to coach successfully because of my knowledge of poker, but I wouldn't compare to top players if we all sat down and played. Will be even more interesting when some of them come here! And actually, the guy I beat HU in my PCA win, Isaac Haxton, has been one of the best in the world for years. Not only is he more focused, driven, and competitive than me, but he also excels more at the intellectual side of things: he is as close to a genius as I know in poker, and is far more interesting than I am. He appeared on the Joe Rogan podcast last year, suggest finding that

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43