You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introduction and AMA (Ask Me Anything) about being a Professional Poker and Daily Fantasy Sports Player (Cross Post from Poker Section)

Thanks! Yeah I have to build a better framework in my mind for bet sizes & pot odds, but I get the gist of what you're saying. I play for fun and it's been years since I played, but bet sizes/pot odds is always something I wanted to improve on. I guess when you use more of an exploit strategy against people in tourneys you have to have a good memory to recognize a person's habits... what about tells?

Sort:  

Some people are experts at tell recognition. I find them hard to use mainly because tells can often have multiple meanings (ie a shake could mean strength or weakness), and in live poker you only see about 30 hands an hour, players only show down hands every so often so you rarely find out what they have, and players have gotten increasingly better at being robotic in their betting motions.

Like I said, some people have mastered this, but since I made the move away from live poker after the 2007 soul crushing tournament, I never fostered this ability further and generally used it as a tie breaker in a close situation. Although when I did win that big tournament I had a physical tell on my opponent HU. I didn't recognize it, someone told me it and I spent a few hours verifying it, but it did pay off huge eventually as I was able to exploit him near the end, I just don't rely on them

Fascinating. I'm sure you can have a Madden rating on poker players for various strengths. So many factors that come into play and it seems HU would be the best place for taking advantage of tell recognition? What was Isaac's tell?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44