Sort:  

Poker is full of brilliant, driven, interesting people.

At my peak I was one of the best in the world at a very small subset of games in poker. Think of poker like the track and field section of the olympics, and while I played a few different events (say the 400m hurdle, the long jump, and the high jump), I was only one of the best at the 400m hurdle and maybe among the top 50 at another. Now since I am pretty inactive I wouldn't be top 200 in the world at any of the games I played for a living in the past.

There are a number of factors that make a top poker player, but I honestly believe I don't have the most important traits: extreme competitiveness, focus, work ethic, and also being a good loser. I was more of a lazy intellectual in poker, and when strategy became more widespread, the more competitive focused people surpassed me. I would still be able to coach successfully because of my knowledge of poker, but I wouldn't compare to top players if we all sat down and played. Will be even more interesting when some of them come here! And actually, the guy I beat HU in my PCA win, Isaac Haxton, has been one of the best in the world for years. Not only is he more focused, driven, and competitive than me, but he also excels more at the intellectual side of things: he is as close to a genius as I know in poker, and is far more interesting than I am. He appeared on the Joe Rogan podcast last year, suggest finding that

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60340.89
ETH 2615.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56