Thoughts on decentralization

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

This is my first post on steemit after waiting for over a month to verify my account.
Hi, my name is Darrell.
I am a software developer living in Japan.
I really like the concept of decentralized concept of Internet. I am interested in learning new technologies that can have disruptive effect to incumbent industry. I really hope blockchain will change our life in the near future and better our life.
Also I just discovered Dtube which is the decentralized version of Youtube that completely blown my mind.
I speak English, Japanese and Chinese. Currently I'm also learning Italian as well.
I develop iOS apps in my daily life. What interested me is there's currently no official iOS app for steemit in the App Store. I thought why not just create one myself? I will update about this if there's any progress in the future.
I moved to Japan in 2014. Before that, I lived in China and grown up in my hometown. Since I was young, I've always been curious about the outside world. Japan, is one of the first foreign countries came to my mind when I was in childhood. I grown up playing Nintendo Game Boy, watching slam dunk anime and playing mini 4WD. That's one of the reasons I ended up studying Japanese when I was in college. However, the implications from this was far beyond my imaginations and later had a huge impact in my life.
I tagged myself as millennials since I grown up myself with the Internet. Internet has such powerful impact upon my life and I can't stress it too much. However, there's one trap here. The Internet in China isn't the exact same Internet as the outside world. Chinese government doesn't want it's citizens to see whatever they want to hide from them. It caused huge problems because the Internet are supposed to be free for everyone regardless of borders. Starting from around 2009, Chinese citizens lost access to countless services like Twitter, Youtube, Facebook, Dropbox, Google, Instagram, Line, WhatsApp, Telegram and so on. Imagine you live in the Internet era, and you can't access these services freely. For me, it's like living in a prison and do what the government wanted you to do. So I left, hopelessly.
Recently, a news popped up on the Internet that Chinese government may change their Constitution to allow continuous power ownership after the maximum 10 years' tenure. This sparked huge discussions across China that some people fear that China may go back to the era of one man politics which dominated China for thousands of years. The crackdown on this topic is unprecedented. One social media platform called Zhihu in China which is the equivalent of Quora was one of the impacted ones. The mobile app was pulled from App Store instantly because of one question.
Someone asked "What can the passengers do if the drivers was in driver fatigue but refused to make a shift?" It's an innuendo to avoid censorship which is very common in China. But this topic was so sensitive that even innuendo was not tolerated so the topic was instantly removed. You can smell how restrictive the censorship is in China.
Luckily, in my opinion. Now we have platforms like steemit which can solve this problem in a way no one could imagine before. I sincerely think steemit is the future for content creators especially for regions like China. Now I find the size of Chinese content is still relatively small compare to English content, I hope in the future more and more Chinese would realize this platform so they can speak freely without fear of censorship not to mention this platform gives creators huge incentive to write on it.
This is my first essay on steemit. I hope you enjoyed my story :D
Have a good day!

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @darlhz!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Congratulations @darlhz! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60883.28
ETH 2401.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63