Is it worth it...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

What's up dudes!

So first of all, let me introduce myself. My name is Daniel Helland, I'm from a tiny buttcrack in the middle of nowhere, where winter means 2 feet of snow every night and shoveling snow is a necessary skill from the age of negative 3 months... I might be exagerating, but thats bacically how it feels lol

On the flip tho, driving on snow and ice can be really, lets say interesting...

And by interesting, I mean really freacking awesome! (Disclaimer: I do not condone reckless driving, and will not be held responsible for any injuries or damage caused by trying to replicate the actions I describe in this post )

In other words, driving on snow makes it a lot easier to do corners sideways instead of straight forward, and, from what I've heard, that's supposed to be a lot of fun. Not that I would ever do such a thing...

Which brings me to my original question, is it worth getting a new car, that has rwd as opposed 4wd, a lot more power, and is a lot lighter than the one I have, even though the one I have is technically perfectly fine... Except for a couple tiny details..


(The car I'm considering buying)

The old one is completely covered in snow, the battery is dead, and it's still equiped with summertires...


(Seriously, why even bother?)

So the decision is easy, just buy a new one right?

What would you do? P

ersonally, I've shoveled enough snow, and I know I have a ton more coming my way, so I guess I'm buying the car...

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit :) Also, are you from Northern Michigan? I live in Michigan and sounds like you're describing my area. I'm currently staring at about two feet of snow. Concerning the car deal. Myself, I'd love to have a Subaru or something similar with AWD or 4 WD, but I have a 2008 Camry. It's in great condition. Low miles. I'm planning on driving it for many more years. What I think is a must, more important than just having an AWD vehicle, though, is having snow tires. That makes a bigger difference, according to some, than just having an AWD with all seasons tires. Cheers and let us know if you need anything.

Thanks man, I'm from Norway actually, but pretty similar climate, have considered getting a Subaru or something with 4wd. But they're kind of hard to find up here with decent HP, anything over 140 HP gets crazy expensive with our taxes and HP Fees, unless you get something with way high mileage.

We definately have to have snow tires, it's requered by law even. (Don't know if you are)

Nice to meet you man!

Ahh, ok! Very cool. Have never been to your country, but would love to one day. America has a lot to learn from Scandinavian countries.

Snow tires are not required here, but so glad I just got mine. Great to meet you too.

i upvoted this blog! good blog!

Man, looks like you are covered up. Welcome, I look forward to reading more about Norway and your winter wonderland.

Thanks man, I'll try to keep yo guys posted :-)

Congratulations @danihel! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @danihel! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49