>>Starting a Steemit Weekly Book Club!<< - What do you think?

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

pexels-photo-92323.jpeg

I'm thinking about starting a Steemit book club, is that something people would want to be a part of?

I'm thinking to structure it by month, and list out what 4 books will be covered for the weeks of the month, a summary, and links to where the content can be found or purchased. Then, at the end of the week, I would detail what I thought of it, what questions I have, and open the discussion to anyone who wants to comment.

What do you think we should call the book club? What hashtags would we use when posting? Is there a contest that could be incorporated to increase engagement?

Some of the titles I'm thinking of: 4 Hours Work Week, Principles, Crushing it, Radical Self-Acceptance...

Let me know what you think! I really want to get more people reading books, and share what I learn with a community of like minded folks!

Please re-steem so others can follow get involved in this book club!

Sort:  


Hello @daily-musings!

I noticed you have posted many times since you began your journey on Steemit. That is great! We love active partipants.

I do want to point out that the Introduceyourself tag is meant to be used once only to introduce yourself to the Steemit community. You have now posted 5 times using the introduceyourself tag. Please see this link for more information Tag Spam?

Please take this into consideration and help build a great platform!

Thanks for letting me know! I already posted an introduction, so I'll use different tags from here on out. Thanks!

Thank you for helping make Steemit great!

Hello welcome to steemit ☺️ it's really nice to have you here enjoy the platform and explore the community.....wish you all the best.

Thanks so much! I'm happy to be part of it. Would you be interested in participating in a book club sometimes? If so do you have an title recommendations?


Welcome to Steem @daily-musings.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchian works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steemit,
Hope you enjoy the community here,
See you around!!
Cheers

Thanks so much, happy to be a part of it!

Thank you for following me. I too follow you

Join us Discord at this link: https://discord.gg/egsD9j

Thanks for the follow! Would you be interested in participating in a book club every once in a while? If so could you recommend some books?

Hello @daily-musings

I like the idea of having a book club here on the blockchain. I've stopped reading "books" lately, I guess this would inspire me and others like me. I'll support @ngans' suggestion of the book club name.
Nice idea. I hope it works out.


@learnandteach01

Awesome, glad you'd be interested. Im going to kick it off in the next week. Also, I think choosing books that also have audiobooks will help get more involved. Thanks for the input!

Oh, that will be great. Will it be on the steemitbooks discord server?

It could be, I honestly haven't used discord before, so what are the benefits of using that platform?

Greetings From Mr. Crypto!
I enjoyed your post and I'm pleased to meet you!

Please help us grow @rehab22 Follow/UpVote/Resteem
Original Content.

Nice to meet you too!

Sounds like a super cool idea!

Awesome! Do you have book suggestions, or ideas for a book club name/hashtag?

A random name idea:
A Blockchain Book Club


Some of my book suggestions:

  • When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi
  • Waking Up by Sam Harris
  • Wherever You Go, There You areby Jon Kabat-Zinn

I like that name, simple and easy to remember. Thanks for the book suggestions too, will definitely incorporate those.

Hello, I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold, and yeah, love book clubs, let's do it.

Awesome let's do it. I'm also going to try to do books that have audiobooks as well. Do you have any books you recommend?

George Orwell wrote 2 interesting books: first is Animal Farm and the second is 1984, the book.

Cool, thanks for the input. I've read them both when I was younger but would definitely like to revisit. 1984 especially.

Awesome. what did you think about Harry Potter books? For me, I didn't read em but some told me I look like Harry. I like stories. I love Star Wars. Narnia is interesting. Even more, Lord Of The Rings (LOTR) seems to be more exciting than maybe Game Of Thrones. Or not sure exactly how to compare LOTR with GOT with maybe Narnia as well. I think out of those 3, Narnia has the simplest story. I like Animal Farm because it is funny but also serves as a good illustration for life for things that happens and can happen.

I honestly never read the Harry Potter books (I'm missing out I know lol). For some reason the amount of books just always seems daunting, and I got into HP after watching the movies. Narnia I definitely love, that was read to me as a child and is just such an epic story.

What I really liked about Narnia was the 4 kids of Adam & Eve part because I'm one of four kids. So, I kind of myself, being a middle child, like that middle child in Narnia and maybe I'm in love with Turkish Delight as well. Not sure if you're missing out with Harry Potter, haha, since I haven't read them either and I'm mostly just a fan of Harry as a cool super hero guy with a cool English accent since I'm an American and pretty in love with the British dialect.

Hey, you've just been upvoted by the Steemit Book Project! The project exists to help make books more available to the world and to promote book-related content on Steemit.

You can read more about the project here. If you often write book related posts, head over to our Discord server (https://discord.gg/h93nHMu) and pop your book post links in the #curation-requests channel.

Hope you have a good day and find time to read a book!

Sounds like a great project, thanks for letting me know. I followed, upvoted your posts, and I can tag you in the reviews!

If you ever feel like you want to have book club discussions in Discord, drop by the server and I'll give you a room for that. Trying to colab with different book projects since I can't run everything book-related ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60343.62
ETH 2490.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53