Introducing the "Mad Chef!" Episode One

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Greetings fellow food consumers!


Hello all! Dan Pendergraft a.k.a d-pend here. Although it's odd to say, this will be the first food post I've ever made. Odd because I've been an avid cook for several years and have definitely created over a thousand original dishes. I once was the designated cook for my touring band and cooking daily for four guys (that's a lot of food!) I also enjoy cooking for my friends and family on a plethora of occasions. There have been days where I have spent upwards of five or six hours cooking, planning, testing flavor combinations, cleaning, etc. rarely leaving the kitchen. But yeah, about most of those created dishes: most of them are unknown to posterity because my cooking style is very in the moment, improvisatory, and based on flashes of intuition. So I never jotted down any notes, and rarely even took pictures of the final result. The series I am starting: the "Mad Chef" is the vehicle for changing this sad fact!!

Why the name?


I think the "Mad Chef" is a great title for the being I transform into while in the kitchen for a couple reasons. I think I function a bit like a mad scientist that is surrounded by the insane clutter of hundreds of ingredients, especially spices (ask my parents or any of my past roommates about the mass quantities of spices I utilize; I am not exaggerating.) However, there's a reason to the chaos and a method to the madness. Also, as any serious cook will tell you: the process of creating dishes, executing them with the proper timing, serving them in a timely fashion, and cleaning up after all the mess you make, especially when you're cooking for several people in quantity, can be extremely maddening to say the least! I'd imagine many chefs have a love/hate relationship with all the mundane and time-consuming processes required to create a great dish. Therefore: "let the Mad Chef come to life!" I scream and watch this frankenstein-esque being arise from its inanimate slumber to terrorize the kitchens of humanity. To my horror this creature is an aspect of myself!

What is this series about specifically?

"Mad Chef" will be focused on cooking experiments, where I deviate from the "standard" dishes I know and love and attempt new flavor combinations. High risk, high reward. I will list the ingredients and document the general cooking process. After I make the creation I will give a rating between 0 and 10 as to how well I thought it turned out, and how I would modify it in the future if I were to make something similar. Also, since this is an experiment, I welcome any and all feedback regarding how to better structure these posts, so please let me know if you have any ideas or want any further information! Also, I'd love to connect with other foodies and cooks, so feel free to leave comments or links below if you have recommendations of things I should try in the future. Without further ado let's go into the first experiment.

d-pend-the-mad-chef.JPG
The Mad Chef in all his Crazed Glory (Or Fury?)

Episode #1: Turnip & Carrot Yellow Curry w/ Almond Butter Sauce

Ingredients:


Two medium-large turnips, cut into 1/4 in. strips
Two small white carrots, finely sliced
Two small purple carrots, finely sliced
Fresh ginger root, chopped
Fresh turmeric root, chopped
Grass fed ghee
Almond butter
Yellow curry powder
Ceylon cinnamon powder
Allspice powder
Mace powder
Garlic powder
Spring water

*Optional:

drizzle of
honey/ stevia/ coconut sugar
for serving

dash of sea salt to taste
for serving

dash of cayenne pepper
to make it spicier

dash of garlic powder
to make heartier

Equipment:


Large pan with lid
Large bowl
Cutting board
Chef knife
Spatula
Fork for mixing almond butter
Clean spoon for scooping ghee
Bowls for serving (serves two)

What the experiment is about:


Normally I would a different main vegetable in a dish like this, perhaps sweet potatoes, cabbage, cauliflower, broccoli, onions etc. However the challenge is to use white turnip as the main vegetable, a challenge because of its odd flavor and aroma that can be difficult to work with. Let's get to it!

Step One

Chop the turnips and carrots, put in a large pan with enough spring water to keep them from boiling dry (not too much or the cooking method I use won't turn out right!)

IMG_3607.jpg

IMG_3609.jpg

IMG_3611.jpg

Step Two

Let cook on medium high for a couple of minutes while chopping a small amount of turmeric and ginger. Then add the chopped roots to the pan. Add a bit of water if the pan is almost completely dry.

IMG_3613.JPG

IMG_3615.JPG

Step Three


Add around 1.5 tablespoons of organic yellow curry powder to the pan (see picture below to read the ingredients in the mixed curry powder. I used the "Frontier" brand.)

The powder will soak up the water in the pan, so a few seconds later, add a small spoonful of grassfed, organic ghee to the pan and stir to coat. Turn the heat down to medium low.

IMG_3617.jpg

IMG_3619.jpg

IMG_3621.JPG

IMG_3623.jpg

Step Four

Add the large spoon of almond butter to a few tablespoons of water in a small bowl and mix into a thin paste with a fork. Then add a couple tablespoons of ceylon cinnamon powder, and a dash of allspice and mace. This will thicken the sauce.

Check the vegetables for doneness with a spatula. Once they are soft, remove the pan from heat and turn off the burner.

IMG_3626.jpg

IMG_3625.jpg

IMG_3628.JPG

Step Five

Scoop the sauce onto the vegetables, and mix to coat. It's ready to serve! Add any/all of the optional serving touches (touch of healthy sweetener (pref. stevia), cayenne pepper, garlic powder, sea salt) and enjoy!

IMG_3629.jpg

IMG_3630.jpg

IMG_3633.jpg

Results

Disclaimer: I am quite hard on myself, so don't be alarmed about any low numbers. I also generally think of ways to improve it if made again, some of which I will put into the recipe (for instance I did not add any garlic powder when I made it, yet I put it under optional additions because I feel it would have improved the dish.)

Here is a general guide to the number ratings:
0 = Disgusting
1 = Atrocious
2 = Horrible
3 = Mediocre
4 = Below Average
5 = Average
6 = Good
7 = Great
8 = Excellent
9 = Fantastic
10 = Sublime

Let's look at the results:

Flavor:
5.5 / 10

It was slightly better than average, but nothing to write home about. I think the main issue was the turnip's slightly odd flavor overwhelmed the dish, and it was a bit too boring with only two vegetables. Here some suggestions for what I would change next time I make something similar:

I would add bit of onion, sweet potato, a touch of garlic, perhaps spinach, and perhaps some poblano pepper. I also would add a bit of coriander powder and perhaps some organic tamari soy sauce. I think this would bring the flavor up to at least a 7.

Texture:
5.3 / 10

The texture was average, with nice soft turnips and still soft but a bit firmer carrots. The reason for the low score even though it was enjoyable is it just was too bland. The suggestion above to add more types of veggies would bring this score also up to at least a 7.

Special Mission Success:
3 / 10

Even though it was pretty good, the special mission to learn to work with the odd flavor/ smell of turnips wasn't too successful, in my opinion. However I learned a lot! It confirmed my suspicions that turnips are difficult to incorporate into curries. Also, I think a different mix of spices could provide better synergy in the dish. Better luck next time!

Overal Experiment Success:
7.1 / 10

I actually quite enjoyed this one overall, despite its shortcomings, and think I could built on the concept to create a better dish in the future. Alright everyone, that's gonna do it for this first episode of the "Mad Chef!" Hope you enjoyed it and maybe even learned something ;)

IMG_3635.jpg

Please leave your questions/ comments/ suggestions below!
Feel free to follow me @d-pend or re-steem if you so desire.

Disclaimer: I am not professionally trained in the culinary arts. Therefore I am not a "real chef." I don't give cooking advice, I just talk about the things I like cooking. Also, I am quite insane. You thought the title "Mad Chef" was a joke?!? You'd have to be nuts to take advice from this guy. I mean, look at that unkempt hair, patchy beard, and the alarming smirk on this joker's face.

Second Disclaimer: Don't listen to the unhinged individual who typed the above comment. He is simply jealous of my prowess in the kitchen. You can trust me to deliver your eccentric cooking needs and I am entirely sane. Come again soon!

Love,
Dan Pendergraft a.k.a. the Mad Chef

@d-pend

Sort:  

Tonight We Shall Dine
Yeah Chef, I hear you Chef
Whether you be Mad or Just A Wild Child
Which is what you appear to be,
Taking up residents in the rural
Creating a new space, a new world
With all the aromas that you bring so fiercely
I love this recipe, I am begging you
Please invite me, to sup with you and dine
I will splurge and bring the wine
We can make it a ceremony as we partake
Of the finer things so good to eat
Eating turnips taking sips
As we emerge our taste buds in the whole of this recipe
The Almond butter, the garlic, the ghee
The turnips, carrots, cayenne and oh the curry
I will be the best of company
Yeah Mad Chef I bow to you
For bringing forth a dish so majestically!
Loving you much my friend ~ the storyteller from Venice

@d-pend got you a $0.24 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@d-pend got you a $0.24 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

Thank you all for the welcomes & responses, I especially appreciate @rensoul17 aka the Storyteller from Venus coming through with some awesome lines and picture of her food! That makes me consider asking you all to post pictures of food next time. Anyway, I had a lot of fun making this post and I'll do another one soon :)

Just a little dish inspired by my friend @d-pend a.k.a. The Mad Chef. The ingredient are Rice, Lentils...The seasonings are green onions, bellpeppers, green olives, turmeric , pepper, Italian seasoning, powdered flax seed, chia powder and Himalayan sea salt. It was yummy!

lentils and rice

That looks awesome!! Gives me some ideas too...!

How exciting that you are doing a cooking blog. Your picture actually matched the Mad Chef look :D. Your vegetables looked so fresh and organic and I love the fact that you are using fresh ginger and turmeric. It's refreshing to see you try all sorts of ingredients. That actually makes one a great cook, trying out different combinations. Curry dishes are very delicious and popular all over. I am looking forward to other new and exciting dishes. Good luck with this series d-pend!

Kudos, Dan, especially for all the magnificent photos of the process. I love that so much. I love to be inspired by creative ideas for cooking and the visuals are everything. Glad to see you here as I have stepped away from FB for a little bit.

Hey welcome Dan aka Mad Chef! I think you'll do great here. Lots of steemians love the grub. There a member on our team #minnowtowhale who does some cool cooking posts and he is doing well. @progressivechef You should check him and our team out. If you need any help anytime just let us know. Congrats on the account!

Thanks for the welcome! I actually joined a couple weeks back but I wanted to introduce my "alter ego" Mad Chef.. I've been posting poetry/philosophy up til now. I appreciate the heads up about #minnowtowhale, where can I get more information on it? I'll be sure to check out @progressivechef, definitely looking to connect with more food enthusiasts. Thanks again for stopping by and leaving a comment!

Damn, shouldn't have looked at all those food pics before I go to bed xD In my defense, I thought it was an introduction post of a friend of yours before I started reading, due to the #introduceyourself tag ^^

Lol! I'm glad you found it appetizing, I thought the ending pic had poor presentation hahaha. Actually, it IS a friend of mine, we just happen to be pretty good friends :D Actually, I never did an #introduceyourself post because I didn't know how to explain myself... may still do one in the future to give some more information :)

Welcome to Steem @d-pend I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome @D-pend to Steemit !! . I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me ...

Great post dude!
Keep posting your great work!

Follow me @bankhai
Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66117.27
ETH 3560.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.12