Steaming Pile of Steemit

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Note to you...yes you fellow Steemian: You can skip down to "My name is..." that way you can avoid stepping in it with both feet. Or...just scroll to the very bottom for to get a feel for how I really feel. ~smiles fer miles~

Hello...hello...hello...HHHhhhheeeLLLoooOOOooo! Is this thing on?

Actually just typing that brings to mind my ex girlfriend's cat Zoey, I...well my roommate adopted her because my ex had gotten a Rottie and was worried about the cat scratching her eyes out. Zoey often walks around saying hello repeatedly. I'll have to capture that some time and let you have a listen.

It's been several years since I have written anything more than necessary to get a point or two across. Ideas for short stories and novels never get beyond the "yeah right" stage. Poetry comes and goes in my mind...ahhh poetry, the anthem of the heart. I think that was a big part of the parting of our ways after a couple few/years...the ex and I....not the cat.

She would lament that I didn't write poetry for her anymore. I couldn't get her to understand that writing poetry...for me...is 98% inspirational, 1% desperation and 1% hmmm idk. The more I tried to explain...lol...well you know. The deeper the hole I dug myself. The more firewood I chopped for her the less I could prove actions spoke louder than words. Then things just started to get too loud, or too quiet. Then it was too late. I am somewhat hopeful for a reconciliation after letting the embers cool down till this fall comes around. Wish me luck. I do still love her. I miss her very much. Sometimes too much, yes these are the words of a wounded heart...sigh...please excuse my sleeves.

I think I'll just blame it all on the Trump campaign. That was going on at the time of the breakup too. I'm joking of course, American politics had nothing to do with it. Yet perhaps it has everything to do with everything that is wrong in this world. Politics I mean, please let's not blame everything on just one nation. Recognizing that blame game is a zero sum game could go a long way toward changing this trend toward chaos.

Conspiracy theories aside it is my opinion that the invisible hand(s) that pull the strings are becoming arthritic and controlled by a progressively more demented intelligence...or lack thereof. It is what it is. As much as I dislike that phrase I can just now, for the first time, use it in what I trust to be a proper context. Things are rarely what they seem to be. I still fervently believe that only we, the people, can change that.

Enough about politics, love loss and friendly cats. And yes I know anthem isn't the right word...but it can be if allowances for poetic license is given me. I tend to not spend much time thinking about what I want to write. Usually I just write what I'm thinking. Like I said, it come and goes...so here goes...long story short...lol...if yer lucky...I can be a bit of a rambler...or so I'm told...go ahead...call me Sherlock...I believe Captain Obvious is copyrighted.....

My name is Barry, I'm Canadian and rather than being a proud one I AM a grateful one. I should be proud...used to be proud...when we were believed to be a country that strove to bring a sense of peace and security into to this place we all call Earth. Alas corruption, like rust, never sleeps, and just like water, you-know-what runs downhill. Let's unplug the fans before it get's too deep! It really is difficult to keep politics out of...well anything and everything. It's just so invasive isn't it?

As a Canadian I do, at this moment, feel the urge to apologize for that opening. I know it may be just a titch/tad cynical to you. Or you may think me flippant and coming from myself, an eternal optimist and sometime deep thinker, I can only attribute it to either my age or the age we all live in. The angst is real, yet beauty still abounds all around us, children still smile, laugh and play, with that abandonment of innocence. You do remember don't you?

There is more of our planet undiscovered/untouched by us than known and understood. Yet there is nothing in this world, that I have discovered, that is "perfect" unless I can convince myself that it is/was/could be, yet I know in my heart...deep down in my soul I can feel it...that the best is yet to come for humanity. As unimportant as it may be, this apology is sincere.

I've joined Steemit because, although I've tried other social platforms in the past under many noms de plume, I have used the name cryptologyx since joining the exchange Poloniex early in 2015. It just seems natural to me to use it here at Steemit. I enjoy the exchange and look at it as an online game that I can really put my growing skills and effort into. I liken it to the five level chess board I remember seeing Spock and various members from the crew of the Enterprise play. I find it a challenging pastime and I hope this move to Steemit will prove just as challenging...and rewarding as the weeks, months and years go by.

My hope is that any earnings made in this inevitable change to the global monetary system will help bring some good into some lives and it is also my hope that years, decades...millennia from now readers of Steemit will think that this name suited me well. There is time enough yet to see if some of my ideas have much merit here...let alone traction.

One thing I do understand is that to be heard here you must take the time to listen to others. To have friends/followers one must first be friendly/respectful to all, even when in disagreement with what you've read. Above all one must be sincere in their comments towards other Steemian's content as much as one must be sincere in how their thoughts and works are presented here. Yes I am a one too. :-)

So last week I picked up some Steem Dollars at Poloniex with some of what's left of my astonishingly volatile holdings in this new thing I like to call the "cryptosphere". Acquiring them and only then recalling something about Steem being a new kind of social networking, I D.M.O.R. (did my own research) and found myself caught up in the enthusiasm of something fresh and gathering momentum. The organic growth at Steemit can/may change many things in how humanity shares it's hopes, dreams, thoughts, observations, protests...lives. Really isn't that what life is all about...growth?

OK...I've just thrown my first contribution to the compost heap of Steemit. Just like so many have before me since Steemit has come into being a "thing" to be reckoned with. I intend to triple "R" my thoughts, words, ideas, great, small and outrageous as they might prove to be, here at Steemit as much as I can find the time for. I enjoyed the first few days of looking around the garden of Steemit.

From this compost heap I envision many more beautiful flowers growing. Some will prove to be perennials, others annual and yet others bi-annual. To each our own nature, and may none of us think ourselves to be a weed in this wondrous garden. IMO a weed is just a plant that is disliked/unloved, for some reason or another. Growth is natural instinct, love is natural need...love thyself and a weed you'll never be. I'm speaking in the global sense of this Steemit platform. Not just my own little pile. Just thought I might clear that up for some.

I also chose not to add a lot of pictures or links to this introduction. Just some for now so I can get an url for my avatar. and a second to prove it is in fact me. Although a local artist did the drawing in Crayon as part of a barter on doing some yard work for her. 30+ years have gone by since then and I'm still wielding garden tools to make a living. And still loving it.

Just in case I added a couple/few more in the hopes I'll be able to edit them out. Edit; I decided not to edit them out.

That tip (for creating an avatar url I give my thanks to @shayne and his post https://steemit.com/steemit/@shayne/beginners-guide-to-getting-started-with-steemit-revised-by-shayne-or-or-3-a-strong-avatar ) Sometimes just words are not enough.

I'm sure for many who read this there are more than enough...words. In fact, a hot steaming pile of them. :-)

fdylstyx.jpg

Recycle, re-use, re-purpose...and git'yerself some red wigglers and share the healthy earth they exude with a friend...a neighbour...an enemy? Just add water, shake and spray. Results may vary but from such humble things beauty springs forth. Worm poo...who knew?

~may all hatred cease...let there be peace~

small.jpg

head 'n home.jpg

avatar_58596.gif

Barry.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @cryptologyx :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.

I wouldn't know a bot from a bolt...unless you tell me you're one. Not that there's anything wrong with being a bot. Thank you for the link.

I'm uncertain if it's proper etiquette to be following bots here...so I'll refrain for the time being and revisit the thought in the near future. ;-)

That's the most entertaining intro I've read in a long time. Good luck to you, and may you prosper.

Entertaining is what trying to keep up with all the action since posting is. Thanks for the good words, good wishes, and of course you should know I reciprocate the sentiments.

Well. That's quite a compliment. You have gotten a fair amount of action there, more than most, but then, the post deserves it.

Thanks again @cristof I'll be along to your blog(s) shortly. I have but one more thing to submit. Four rounded corners does not a square comprise, and four submits give a a fair rounding of who I am. ..for starters.

Love it. I'll be watching.

Wonderful introductory post. Your writing is a pleasure to read. :-) So glad to have met you at MSP! :-)

~smiles~ what a nice thing to say...so...the dot dot dot thing isn't a problem? I mean...it's a good way to pause the reader...but far from correct writing form

The Vid you provided...I noticed it's yours...it really should be stickied at PAL my experience wasn't quite the same depicted...but it sufficed quite nicely...I was really lost...even though others were trying to help in Discord...bless their hearts...but to be able to pause the vid and follow instructions then come back for the next steps...well it would be invaluable to a minnow low on tech savvy like myself.

I've gone on a ramble here...lol...pardon my verbage' ...toss what you don't need on the heap...or just leave it be...nature will do the rest ;-)

lol... @bottymcbotface see my reply to @welcomebot I will test the waters of followship with a mcbotface though...I'm Scottish y'know...well several generation removed from across the pond....and thank you for the tip. My tip for you...avoid wrecking yards when that huge electo-magnatron thingy is in operation.

Oh yes I try to avoid those dodgy neighbourhoods

Congratulations on landing yourself on the hippest and fast growing Social Media platform on the planet.Get ready buckle up !!!!! we going to mars with STEEMIT SHUTTLE!!!!!
THANK YOU
resteem follow upvot gif.gif

Thank for the welcome @tinashe. I'm thinking Mars might be a nice place to visit...in a few hundred years. ;p

~smiles~ I'd have to try very hard not to @tinashe

Welcome to the platform, I wish everything work out for you. It’s not easy here but not difficult neither but just ask an extra effort, engagement is the key good luck I’m @goodaytraders Start by following people and they will do the same.

Fair enough advice @goodaytraders and thank you for the invite...accepted!

Upvoted!
I welcome you to the steemit community. I hope you find here interesting.
You are also welcome to follow @GLOBALFOODBOOK for assorted exquisite dishes from all over the world.

Thanks for the invite @globalfoodbook and the welcome. I've already noticed your blog from my time here before joining. I hope I can add some content at some point. I'm known for cooking those things that you will never taste exactly the same again. Measurements smeshurements! ;-)

It is my pleasure. I am looking forward to your posts.
Cheers

Ah, the Force is strong in this one!
Welcome to steemit, the big steemy compost heep of the crypto blogsphere!
"From the compost grows many fine things..."
Followed you.

Thanks for the kindly sincere welcome @amberyooper...I am humbled you found heap helpful in getting to know me. It was what I was going for...I'm sure there are many things foul and rancid in this steaming pile of steemit too. Some people just never learn their 3Rs.

Welcome @cryptologyx, if you are interested in crypto, my latest post may be of use to you!

Thank you @patcher I'll be sure to stop by soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59231.42
ETH 2599.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45