Welcome to fintech blockchain merging solution - Also an Introduction

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)


 Welcome to my first post at steemit, I just wanted to introduce myself I am crypticj. Little about myself I worked in the world of banking for one of the largest banks in United states for five years I left the corporate world to do a startup back in 2015. My Area of expertise is any guess? I will give you a hint...

If you said Fintech/Hedge Fund/Quantitative Fund you are absolutely correct. I run a small Quantitative fund (for those of you not from the world of finance) wiki defines is as "A quantitative fund is an investment fund in which investment decisions are determined by numerical methods rather than by human judgment." I build and run computer models/algorithm to figure out an edge where it can allocate money.

I have been part of cryptocurrency since 2011,as my passion for numbers/cryptography just seems to lead me in the world of cryptocurrency. I am happy to be part of steemIt community. Currently I am working on a Fintech/Blockchain solution for Hedge Fund industry, hopefully an ICO (not sure if that is the route I will go) I will share additional details of the road map as the project progresses.

 I have one simple question, if you have to create a solutions for Finance/blockchain sort of “FinChain” (just invented a new term) what would you create?  


Thank you for your Input in comments looking forward to hearing some really out there Ideas, who knows maybe my startup can incorporate  some of the solutions we can come up with collaboratively.  
 


Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @crypticj :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.

Pretty impressive! looking forward to see more content from you :)

Thank you mirage look forward to hearing your craziest fintech/blockchain idea there are no wrong answers... throw something out. Yes that first thing that came to mind...

Hello there @crypticj and welcome to Steemit! I just upvoted you!! I hope you enjoy your time here and make lots of $$$. If you're interested in lotteries, please check my profile out @steemitlotteries. I run FULLY TRANSPARENT LOTTERIES with promotional posts where I issue FREE TICKETS for those who help me curate my promotions. All the best! :)

Appreciate the welcome. Thank you. Will definitely check you out.

Welcome @crypticj. interesting life story still goes on. followed you. enjoy wide steemit world :)

Thank you valueup for me its the journey that matters and not the destination.

Welcome @crypticj I think that these cryptocurrencies are a great subject for a quantitative fund. If you have a model which can interpret the mood of the investors quickly you could make a lot of money. Something that I've really been missing is a crypto with a low correlation to BTC. You could make a synthetic​ inverted one tough.

finally some one with some great idea... @patcher the solutions would have to be an elegant one. I actually worked on a Investor Sentiment based model but it was not the best solution as it had to be very very subjective and we got stuck with language and context, which was a big challenge for small shop like myself.

haha, i feel like it's hard to really get some engagement at this point in time on Steemit. I think it's because the sudden spike that a lot of content creators have flocked to Steemit. This along with that the pay-out for authors is higher than for curators creates a strange current environment of over-creation. People upvote,resteem and follow but do they also read? Couldn't you make a model that could make a model that would fit your requirements? Also, what does it take to be a Quant fund operator?

Patcher you are absolutely correct people are interested more in upvotes and re-steeeming than actually engaging in a concrete conversation. To answer your earlier question yes I can make a Model to fit my requirements however my expertise is statistical arbitration so majority of models are designed for that purpose. When it comes to sentiment indicator I truly have no idea where to begin, we did take a brief look into it however it seemed beyond over scope so we moved onto our core expertise.

Additionally to be a Quant fund operator it all depends you have regulatory requirements if you are planning on raising outside capital, besides that the only other requirement is ability to design/create quantitative models and using those to allocate capital.

Thank you for explaining​ it @crypticj, I'm pursuing a finance master next year at my university so that's why I'm so interested. Great to have you on board!

Awesome that you are pursuing finance in master Good luck and thank you for the warm welcome.

Welcome to steemit community. Below is the link to my latest blog post in case of you are interested.
Know about new digital library LBRY and get access to their beta application

Hi! We are @valhalla-hash nice to meet you. We like to welcome you to the amazing steemit! You will definitely LOVE IT.

Following links may help you to get started:

New Users Guide: https://steemit.com/welcome
Everything about steemit: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steemit

IF you find this useful feel free to UP VOTE, or FOLLOW us and we will follow you back for awesome daily content.

Enjoy your steemit ride!

Welcome on board :) I would never have been able to guess but fintech is kind of the polar opposite of stuff I have any knowledge about XD There's a lot of people that do that kind of stuff or are interested in that kind of stuff kicking around here though so I'm sure you'll do well and find people with similar interests in exactly no time :)

Thank you Ryivhnn i hope so I can find like minded people and some great ideas to be able to engage the community.

Welcome to Steem @crypticj I have sent you a tip

I appreciate it, I would also appreciate if you throw out a craziest idea of finance/blockchain solution

hi @crypticj
you made a new follower and have my worthless upvote ^^
looking forward to see you around :-)

Appreciate you following mate... Every vote counts. However having said that I just hope to share my knowledge and learn and engage the community.

take part and find your place
you're very welcome :-)

For sure My goal is to be active contributor to sTeemIT

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67651.30
ETH 3269.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64