So, I just quit my job and I'm feeling quite anxious.

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)


About 2 and a half years ago, I realized I needed to make a choice- did I really want to succeed as an actor, or should I just wish to wait for fate to deliver me to my dreams.

I decided to make the choices for myself.

I had just graduated with a degree in Theatre Performance, from Florida International University, and needed to figure out what to do with my life. I was severely depressed and anxious, from heartbreak and an unsure future without support from either a relationship OR family (they'd moved away, due to my stepdad joining the military)

Alone, was I, and it was time to decide whether I'd just let my own vices and comfort consume me, or I'd decide to PUSH and fight for what I dreamed. I want to make movies.

Those scenes where the actors are PRESENT, and there is NOTHING more real than the moment are when I'm most inspired. THAT's what I want to do- be able to bring both myself and those around me into realizing that what's important isn't the same anxieties we routinely agonize over, so much as feeling as humans should, and not attempting to hide these emotions.

In short, I applied for a job at the finest hotel in Miami Beach, Florida. Hell- I'd been working as a server for six years, at Macaroni Grill (a commercial "Italian" franchise). I'd felt, towards the end of my time there, that I was a lot more scrutinizing about certain details than others were.

THE GLASS MUST BE POLISHED COMPLETELY

THE KNIFE MUST BE THE EXACT SAME DISTANCE (to the millimeter) AS THE FORK

"MY PLEASURE" BEATS "OF COURSE"


I got the job.

I fought.

I fought to become a server, because they wouldn't hire me as one, since I had no "fine dining experience", and so I was a "food runner".

I fought to prove that I could be a "server assistant", and had what it takes to manage being able to mark various tables, get bread for tables, set up Bordeaux  glasses when necessary, and assist in anyway I could.

I fought to beat the other two "assistants" who both eagerly needed the job of "server", when it opened up, because making $500+ a night was worth it for ourselves, and the loved ones around us.

In the end, I got the job. 


From here, I decided that I NEEDED to move to Los Angeles if I'd hope to succeed in film. 

You see, I gave Miami a shot. Miami only wants models. Miami doesn't cast movies, but rather commercials (many of which are poorly written!). Miami cares more about what you look like, than what you try to DO as an actor. I look quite Indian...and Miami only wanted Hispanics, and the occasional black person or white person. Mind you, I'm Hispanic. My first language is Spanish- but how could I beat a Colombian with a thick accent, ponytail, and who looks more like the people that the commercials are trying to connect to? It's been tough.

I've saved.

I've saved and saved.

I set, for myself, a FIVE YEAR PLAN. I'd work to save, and eventually move to Los Angeles- where they shoot most films, sitcoms, and voice cartoons. Even if it meant more competition, I'd save. Even if I'd disregard what an old acting teacher told me "In Miami, you're BIG fish in a SMALL pond, as a trained theatre actor". Miami didn't believe in me, but I believed in myself- even in those moments when I didn't.

I eventually got wind that a new hotel was opening up. One with 3 billion dollars worth of money being channeled into it, from the most expensive real estate in South America. A FIVE-STAR Forbes-rated hotel, under the Leading Hotels of the World categories. With my prior experience I had no trouble getting the job as a server at one of the two restaurants there. In fact, out of 12 servers hired in 10 months of it being hired, I was the second.




The work was great.

It's been easy- stupid money, for little work. Assistants help us with EVERYTHING- and I'm just in charge of managing the tables "steps of service", being kind, and being the source of "knowledge", really. It's a knowledge-based job.

I get free insurance.

401K  with a 4% match.

Vacation pay.

6 Personal Days.

Dental.

Medical.

Vision.

ETC ETC.


I just quit my job, and here's my letter:

 Good evening (-----),

It's with a very heavy heart that I have to write this letter and share that I'll be concluding my time working for (------) on (-------), 2017. Life has given me a new opportunity, to advance in my acting career, in Los Angeles, California, and I wouldn't forgive myself for pursuing it.

As you might know, I graduated from Florida International University with a degree in Theatre Performance, and it's been my goal to be a successful film actor for as long as I can remember. Most of the opportunities in Miami are for commercial modelling, and Hispanic market work, whilst film is something that is mainly cast out of Los Angeles and New York- especially with my "look". I've been given the chance to start fresh in L.A. with an agent, and give my passion a solid shot- which has been out of reach here in Miami.

I loved my time at (----), as it was a great place to work. I'll miss the great benefits, flexible scheduling, and great fellow employees most of all. It was truly a pleasure working at (----), where we provided consistently outstanding service and food, and I'll truly miss everyone who was a part of my journey there.

Thank you very much for the opportunity to grow as both a person, and someone passionate about connecting with people to give them an unrivaled five star experience. I'm forever indebted for the lessons I've learned, and for everything that you've helped me achieve both in the present, as well as those I'll now be able to in the future.

With the greatest appreciation,

-------- (Server at (-----))


Now begins my new journey, and in a way I'm scared shitless.

However, more than that, I'm beyond excited.

My new life is just about to begin, and I have no idea where it'll take me now.



Thank you Steemit.

Wish me luck.


Sincerely,

Crypt0


Sort:  

Best of luck- and for soul's sake be sure to steer clear of all the satanic pedophiles in Hollywood.

Definitely- I'm aware they exist, and so I'll avoid the many!
Thanks, man. Much love.

Wish you all the best! Sounds like you are really motivated, i would say you can't go wrong with pursuing your dreams ;) More people should do it :)

This was great. I wish I would have seen this earlier, I am having my own challenges and just not as online as much as I would like.

  • this post was undervalued.

Sent you some Steem today to support the show! I don't have much.


GBY and keep up the good work my friend.

Crypt0,

I have been following you on YouTube and here on SteemIt for a while.

Having lived in the Los Angeles area myself, I am certain you will do well there. Yes, it will be tough at first, but stick to your vision and you will find your niche.

This from a midwesterner who moved to L.A. from the east coast. I know how scary it can be to make a long distance move. Living in California had always been one of those things I wanted to do. Now, I can say I did it.

Even though I am now in the great plains state of Nebraska, I can say that I learned quite a bit from my experience in L.A. and it has made me a better person.

Good luck to you on your move. I will be looking forward to your updates.

Steem on,
Mike

Hey Mike,

Thanks so much for the kind words. Really.
It's encouraging to read that no matter what, the experience of it all will grow me as a person, as it did you.
I've been an East Coaster myself all my life, but it's exciting to know that I'll be exploring new ideas, vistas, and people's way of thinking.

Really though- thanks...read what you wrote to my girlfriend, in appreciation :)

Cheers- I'll keep Steeming, and updating on cryptocurrency throughout!

Best,
Crypt0

You are very welcome!

I would add that you will meet new people and make new friends too!

Mike

Crypt0 (with a zero! hahaha, this is what you always say), ma man,

I follow you on YouTube.

Wish you luck on your endeavour!

100% upvote, resteemed, and followed! :)

Wow $500+ per night, that's a lot of crypto to buy. Anyway good luck in LA!

You should get in touch with @mrwang. He's an actor and could maybe help you get started. His bio says he's in Houston, Texas though so I'm not sure how much he'll be able to help since you're going to Los Angeles.

From what I've heard, the acting game is not an easy business but I wouldn't know first-hand. Make sure to read the dotted-line very carefully and don't trade something that is priceless for riches and fame.

I personally would never go to California because of Big Brother's omnipresence there and the continual bombardment of radiation hitting the west coast from Fukushima's melting reactor.

ps. People also mistake me for being Indian when I'm Hispanic (Dominican) so I know the feelz ...

Your Journey has Just started my friend, I lived and grow up in and around LA area. I moved to Raleigh NC for 5 years and then Fort Lauderdale for 3 years. Well till I came back to Cali. even tho it was a great experience. I LOVE SOUTHERN CAL BRO.. Weather alone is rated top 3 places in the World to live.

Best of Luck for your future endeavors!

Best of luck and if you ever journey through the desert to Las Vegas I'll have to buy you a drink for all the awesome crypto content you've given us!

I'm sure I'll make it across the desert quiet a few times, and it'll be epic to take you up on that offer- I always love to chat about crypto in person, to another involved individual.

Thanks for the read and comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59201.08
ETH 2515.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50