Art, Animals and Angles

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hi! I'm a veterinary nurse, and I have an obsession with cytologic findings under the microscope and creating art out of them. A good friend told me "you create beauty out of a petri dish!" I use the images of cytology in my art, many times as the foundation of my art. I begin with images from microscopic samples from the animals I care for and from the many types of cells and different bacteria I identify in their care and implement them into my paintings and prints. “I enjoy tweaking layers to create something new. If we are to refer to a cell as the smallest structural and functional unit of life, my work then deals with the many layers of life." I also love public street art and graffiti and creating murals. I like to use geometric figures, polyhedronic clusters of color juxtaposed in contrasting color palettes. My dream is to one day have a 501c3 that supports in painting an entire village and the entire community would be involved. It would create community, love, purpose and joy. My vision of the world is one where there is creativity, connection, compassion and authenticity. flatcarcinoma.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @colleenc! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

@colleenc - Welcome to Steemit! Thanks for becoming part of the decentralization solution.

I had gerbils for many years and spent thousands taking care of them, had a good Veterinary Hospital nearby (Ithaca, NY Cornell Animal Hospital) for exotics. Unfortunately the gerbil gene pool seems to be in decay. When I first started raising them January 1974, they were almost all golden agouti's and lived at least 4-5 years. As of last year the longest I've been able to get a gerbil to live (not certain because most of my recent adoptions were rescues with unknown age) is about 3 years.

I’ve never worked with gerbils. That’s neat you worked with them. How long do they love for?

Typically 1-3 years now with all the color contamination.

Welcome! That is a pretty different and psychedelic art style you've got there!!!

Thank you! I like colors and am inspired greatly by graffiti!

And petri dishes! :D

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 18.0% @davidding upgoat, thanks to @ering
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

Welcome to Steemit @colleenc! I am @gogogadgetupvote and I Upvote and Resteem intro posts like this one!
That is a pretty interesting picture. I love art! And I love hearing about how various artists get their inspiration! Thanks for sharing your work.

Thank you! This is all new to me but I'm thrilled to have a platform to share my work and get inspired by others!

I have been here since June 2017, and still loving it!

Good to hear! I'm happy to be here!

Hey , how are you ?
welcome to steemit @colleenc
following you now. :D

Thanks for the follow! Happy to be here!

Hi Colleenc, Welcome and I love your mission and image!

thank you! Happy to be here!

hi Colleen
just fantastic - excited to share this journey with you, Birch

Thank you Birch! Excited about this!!

This is why I come to steemit every day! This seems like a brand new account so I am offering you my welcome. Have one upvote on the house and we're all waiting to hear more from you!
When having a new account it can be hard to recieve big upvotes so I suggest you to try out @MinnowPowerUp as you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up with steem directly! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I made this post to explain the system in more depth and show how I earn over $1 a day in upvotes.
PS! If you would like to get free cryptocurrency by airdrop then www.powtoken.com is giving away free tokens to everyone who signs up using only a facebook account!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62768.63
ETH 2678.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56