Introduceyourself

Hello Steemit!

My name is Chris. I live in Central New York and am an electrician by day, and delivery driver/pizza maker by night. I am working two jobs right now to help get my finances under control and have extra money. I also feel I need to include this picture because over the years I have come to realize that most people think that New York State is only New York City. This is not the case and I promise the rest of the state is much nicer than the city. Especially the Adirondack Mountains!

I was in the United States Navy. Have been to Japan, Singapore, Guam, Palau, Philippines, Malaysia, Thailand, Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, and England. I was also stationed in Hawaii for a few years as well as California, and Illinois. This was the ship I was stationed on, the USS Hopper.

I had a great time traveling and seeing the world, but the military has left me extremely cynical of all governments, and the methods they use to rule.

While I was in the military a friend gave me a book called Anatomy of the State, by Murray Rothbard. After reading that, and similar books from many different people, and the experience of serving government directly, I have come to the conclusion that I am an Anarcho-Capitalist. Which, coincidently, has led me away from Facebook and other social media platforms. The amount of censorship that is happening to a lot of conservative online personalities has made me want to stop supporting those companies. Instead I figure Steemit, and the community over here are much more "my type" of people. So far I have not been disappointed, although dtube does seem to have some issues loading for me once and a while, but I am hopeful that things will get better.

Now that you know who I am and why I came to Steemit let me wrap this introduction up with what drives me and gives me passion in these troubling times. I absolutely love hiking, and backpacking! Really any activity that gets me out into the woods and away from the real world. I don't know much about crypto, or computers, or any of the things that I see a lot of people doing on here, but I do know hiking.

That is what I would like to try to contribute to the Steemit community. I know for myself back on YouTube I was able to obtain tons of inspiration, and entertainment from hikers all across the country. Whether it's John Zahorian knocking out 50 mile days breaking the Colorado Trail speed record, or Jupiter hiking the 4000+ mile Eastern Continental Trail, all of this has made me want to start creating my own content for others to enjoy. With the hiking season just starting to ramp up here in Central New York look forward to some hiking videos from me in the future.

Finally, my only passion greater than hiking is my dog Buster. Buster is a Labrador, Pitbull, and Mastif mix. He will be 4 years old in July and is also my hiking partner. I couldn't make and introductory post without also including some pictures of him because who doesn't like dog photos.



I look forward to meeting and connecting with like minded individuals from all over. Thank you for reading my first post. I hope to have many more that can contribute positively to the community.

Sort:  

good luck


Welcome to Steem @chrisconnell.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Welcome to this beautiful community, apart from giving you an upvote I give you a tip that is worth more: "constancy and honesty is the best way to emerge in steemit"

Congratulations @chrisconnell! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
You made your First Vote
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @chrisconnell! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

That is an awesome photo of Buster Chris!

You've been featured in The Fresh Five!
It's a daily post designed to help introduce brand new Steemians to the community.

We're all here to help you find new friends and answer any questions you might have.

Here is the link, come say hello:
https://steemit.com/fresh5/@thefreshfive/the-fresh-five-for-april-10th-new-steemians-you-should-get-to-know

We have a new competition at the moment too. Here are the details:
https://steemit.com/fresh5/@thefreshfive/the-new-fresh-five-delegation-for-curation-initiative-help-find-great-new-steemians-and-be-rewarded-with-sp

Welcome to Steem!

Welcome to Steemit Chris. Good luck!

Hey Chris!
Great post dude! Buster is a gun!

Welcome to Steem! We're super glad to have you here and hope you find new friends and community (and fun and knowledge and awesome music and videos and stuff) here on the Steem Blockchain.
If you ever have any questions about Steem or the various platforms please feel free to ask, there is so much to learn about the platform, and it can totally be confusing, so I'm happy to help.
Have fun!

Welcome, Chris. Did it take a long time for your profile to be approved? Mine took almost 2 weeks, but it was worth the wait.

I wanted to be one of the first to give you an up-vote too.

Please follow me if you like and we can share posts and up-votes and help build our profiles. Below is an example of a recent one. Please up-vote if you appreciate or find it interesting.

https://steemit.com/sportsphotography/@shauntaemonte/evan-strong-adaptive-action-sports-athlete

Hello Chris! Great intro man, interesting story of your life.

Welcome to steemit, I'm definitely following you.

Have a nice day!

@alonsonanomoreno

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70137.39
ETH 3937.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71