Hi Steemit, I'm Chris Hogendorn, an economics professor

I teach at Wesleyan University in Middletown, CT, USA. This semester I'm teaching a course on the economics of Commons and Alliances. We started with natural resource commons like agriculture and fisheries, and later on we moved to social media. We talked about alternatives to private companies to organize social media, including cooperatives and blockchain-based models. If you'd like to take a look at the course syllabus, it's here:

https://wesfiles.wesleyan.edu/home/chogendorn/web/220.17s/index.html

I learned about Steemit while preparing the class, and it seems like a really interesting project.

The class is almost over, but I am interested in doing further work on applications of the blockchain beyond cryptocurrencies. So here I am, and I will put up some more posts when I find interesting materials.

Sort:  

Hi Chris, welcome to Steem! :-)

Thanks so much!

excellent! i follow you!

Hello Chris! Welcome, i am also new here! I love economics and finance! I will follow you!

That's awesome, thanks!

Wellcome, Chris, nice to see some people who are experts in their areas joining up. We need more people with educated opinions on here, will really help drive the conversations I think.

Thanks. Yes, I thought about it, and I feel more natural just sticking to my own little area for something as public as Steemit.

I've got a question about the impact of STELLARS Bitcoin match in June. They plan to match funds equivalent to 16 billion USD for all Bitcoin holders. What do you think will happen to each respectively?

Gonna have to look that up!

Its interesting I'm not sure there are many comparisons. will bitcoin get driven up by a free doubling? if so to what extent. is this free money essentially?

welcome to steemit @chogendorn. so glad having your personality in this platform, looking forward to more of your posts.

followed you.

Thanks very much!

thanks a lot, hoping to learn more from you....

Congratulations @chogendorn! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

Upvote this notificationto to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @chogendorn! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
SBD 2.34