Erik Is In The House; Let's Have Some Fun With Science

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180220_091439.jpg

Hello, fellow Steemian,

My name is Erik. That's actually not my real name but, a name that I prefer. Erik is my alias. For some reasons, I'm not quite comfortable with revealing my name in this virtual space so I'm going to stick with Erik for a while. I'm 26 years old and currently living in Malaysia. I love science and right now, I'm studying to become an engineer. Hopefully, by the end of 2019, I will graduate.

There are so many things that I would like to express, the first time I heard about Steemit. It's like too good to be true. Social media, blog and cryptocurrency jammed up into a single platform? No, way! Spoiler alert, way! Before I made my own decision to venture into this kind of business, I've taken the liberty to look carefully at the platform and I must say, it's pretty intriguing. I was introduced to this platform by @n4zriofficial about a month ago. I'm not a risk taker and even though joining Steemit doesn't seem to put me in any risky situation, I still need a week to think. Yeah, people might say, it's kinda silly to put it into much thought, but I'm not worried about whether or not I have to pay or what kind of income I could get from this blogging experience. It's the commitment to a long-term blogging that made me quite concerned. I'm pretty much someone who will be committing to something for a long time, so making this kind of decision is a big thing for me.

The first failed step



Well, last month, I tried to register an account by using my friend's laptop but after 3 weeks of waiting, my registration was still not approved by the Steemit's board of administrator. I guess, the potential explanation is that the laptop that I used were also being used by my friend for Steemit's purposes. So, I'm quite frustrated by that.

Yesterday, while waiting in the cafeteria to eat my dinner, I met with @n4zriofficial. He asked about my progress and I said, I didn't even start yet. After explaining the situation, he offered to create an account for me if I'm still want to continue with Steemit. I thought to myself "there's no harm in trying" so I just nod my head off. After 10 minutes, I got my account. He spent 4.5 SBD to create an account for me, and I felt grateful. Now there are no excuses for me to slack off. I need to get started as soon as I can so that I would feel what its like to be in the Steemit's community.

Short Term Target



I'm quite a goal-directed person. It's true that the system (how we proceed to achieve a goal) is the most important part of succeeding in this platform but in my opinion, without a goal, you will not know what to do, where to push yourself and how to spend your own effort, so yeah, goal is quite important. By the end of June 2018, I should have at least:

  • 500 followers
  • 100 Steem Power
  • 30 views per post
  • At least 500 words per article
  • Post at least once per day

I've studied a bit about the basic mechanism of this platform and how it operates, so I'm quite familiar with it. I know it seems easy to achieve those objectives that I have listed, but it is quite an achievement if I can achieve it by the end of June 2018.

I do appreciate feedback from you guys when I post my article for the day and I prefer for you to speak your mind. I wouldn't be offended. I promise.

Focus and Concluding Remark



Well, I would love to dedicate myself to science especially health and physics related topics. I would love to learn something new, anything and everything. There are many ways that we can improve ourselves and one of it is to learn something new every single day.

It's difficult to find fellow Malaysian in this platform and one of my friends suggested to me to use the teammalaysia hashtag. It's nice to know that there are many Malaysian who are bold enough to take the first step towards a better future with Steemit. I would love to know anyone from any part of the world. It will be my pleasure.

I think I have blabbed enough. I'm so excited and I can't help it. I would like to thank everyone who read through my post. It's time to start working on my first article. See ya.

Sort:  

welcome to steemit. I hope you will have good achievements on the steemit platform. Good Luck!!

Thank you for the kind words. Likewise. Good luck to you too.


Welcome to Steemit @chloroform!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Let me know if I can help.
Many blessings! @bycoleman

Thank you for the tips.

Certainly, I use them daily.

If you like to write, we have a 45 SBD contest just kicking off.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@bycoleman/usd45-sbd-steemit-writing-contest-writer-s-needed-the-more-writers-the-more-winners

Good to know. Thanks for the opportunity.

Hi Erik,

Welcome to Steemit. The official FAQ can be found here and is quite extensive https://steemit.com/faq.html

I appreciate your strategy on steemit. You will soon be a rockstar here. A big upvote for you.

I am a trip leader based in Mumbai.

Hi @krishnakuya. Thanks for the tips. I will do my best to fit in this community.

Hello Erik... Welcome. Here. At steemit!

Welcome to steemit! This is a wonderful platform with great people and communities! I followed and upvoted you and look forward to your future posts! Don’t forget to check out the other aspects of the the Steem Blockchain; DTube, Zappl, Steepshot, DLive and DMania to name a few. Be active and have fun! Cheers @stwbll

Hi @stwbll. Thanks for the wonderful tips and welcome remark. I would make sure to check out whatever you've listed. Have a nice day man.

You're welcome! Have fun!

Welcome. and best of luck with your goals. hope that you will enjoy.

Thank you @nadir1122. Best of luck to us both.

Congratulations, your post was discovered and featured by @OCD in its daily compilation 194!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.


@ocd now has a witness. You can vote for @ocd-witness with SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses to help support other undervalued authors!


Thank you for the tips. Have a nice day.

Welcome to this wonderful world ... a hug I invite you to visit my blog

Thank you. I will make sure to visit your blog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62755.94
ETH 2446.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66