Hello, my name is Chad and I'm a recovering facebook addict

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Me

I have a theory that there are a lot of us. Excited to preach our niche worldview to that small subset of the world we call "friends" on Facebook, only to be left feeling frustrated by a lack of reciprocation and understanding. But we keep going back. Why? My hope is that I can break this cycle of madness and find a more quality audience to share ideas and grow with on this space that which is named Steemit. So here we go.

Who Am I?

My name is Chad and I'm pretty much the opposite of what Urban Dictionary says I am. I believe I live somewhere in the fog between normal and abnormal, but that might be my desire to not be classified as a "Chad". My day job is a software engineer but that's not what I identify with. It just pays the bills better than anything else right now and I don't hate it. Anyways, who am I?

A Musician

Musician

My main passion that has always stuck with me is music. I've been writing songs and playing in bands since I was about 13. Around that age, I started a pop-punk band called The Kretins. Being a young kid playing firehouse punk rock shows was what first exposed me the idea of a subculture. While this subculture felt more "real" than normal society, it still felt fake and forced to me. This has been my general view towards these small tribes. I usually keep my distance while still sampling the great art and ideas that come from them. Currently, I'm playing in a rock band called The Turn Leaves and I've been quite a few bands in the years prior.

A Virtual Reality Enthusiast/Developer

Virtual Reality

I am a "Yes" man. I like to experience as many different perspectives as possible. We are now in the dawn of an era where technology can offer the ability to experience any environment that can be imagined. While the quality of these experiences don't yet equal the experience that reality offers, they soon will, at least visually. It's all just photons sent through our retinas anyway.

This is what intrigues me so much about virtual reality, especially the social aspects of it. I imagine a not too distant future where we inhabit hyper-realistic avatars as we explore the infinite universe of human imagination together. I've already experienced the "early 90s chat room" version of this in AltspaceVR and it's fucking amazing. Some people have a dystopian view of virtual reality. Meh, I think text based communication is the more dystopian/disconnected form. Whoops, should I be saying that on Steemit?:)

A Gardener

Gardener

Deep within me, there is a need to know that I can be completely self sufficient. Maybe it comes from a feeling of vulnerability and a dislike of dependency or maybe it's just an evolutionary desire to provide for myself. Either way, it is definitely heightened by that bright white blast of information that seems to be telling us that societal collapse is a possibility so I better learn how to get my own food. Plus, I just like creating things and watching them grow.

A Decentralist

I am a decentralist. I've never really heard anyone call themselves that but I can't commit myself to being a libertarian, anarchist or anywhere in between. I don't think I can ever claim to have supreme knowledge, but a decentralized society is a hell of a lot more preferable to me than a centralized one. A lot of what I plan on talking about here will be about how far can we push that decentralization.

Goodbye For Now

So that's my best shot at summarizing myself and my passions on this post. I've been on a journey to the cellular level of details on each and I'm looking forward to sharing my ideas with you on these topics. Stay tuned!

Sort:  

Hello and welcome to Steemit!
This introduction post has been nominated for the @projectnewbie incentive where we try and get new and verified users more visibility on their first post to make it easier to connect to other users!
If you have any questions about it, this is the Announcement Post. Have fun Steeming! :)

Hell yeah. Glad to be here. Thanks!

Hello, this is a message to inform you that if you would verify that you really are the person using this account here on Steemit, more info about verification here you would qualify for the Project Newbie Curation!

Thanks for the heads up. I just changed my main picture to this post. Hope that's what you need!

What's the bravest thing you've ever done?

Surfed some decent size waves in California. Nothing huge but I have a fear of getting physically hurt so those types of experiences I don't always say "Yes" to. I am working on it though...that's why I started surfing.

If you think in terms of a year, plant a seed; if in terms of ten years, plant trees; if in terms of 100 years, teach the people.

Whoever took those photos is an amazing photographer ;)

Why thank you mysterious person with the same last name as me; )

Hey, there, welcome to the community! I wrote an article about my experiences after 2 months of going at Steemit.com hardcore. Read it over as it may have some hints, tips and tricks of the trade that will help you better utilize the site!
https://steemit.com/life/@tee-em/confessions-of-a-steemit-addict-wisdom-thoughts-and-results-from-2-months-on-the-platform

Oh man, did I give up one vice for another? Thanks for the info!

Welcome to Steemit Chad!

Thank you:)

Welcome Chad, I'm new here myself but followed you as anyone who is into gardening and decentralization is a friend of mine.

Awesome! Thanks!

Congratulations @chadyo! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @chadyo! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68220.71
ETH 3321.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74