Confessions of a Steemit Addict: Wisdom, Thoughts and Results from 2 Months on the Platform

in #life8 years ago
Confessions of a Steemit Addict

It's been quite an adventure this past two months: a combination of lack of sleep, thinking outside of the box regularly and figuring out different ways to make this platform work for me and the community. 893 posts and 179 followers later, I have more of a clue than I did when I first hopped on and thought I'd be a curation god. There have been plenty of hard lessons learned, and plenty of friends made. This article, I will break down for you a bullet point of things I have done, things I have learned and my optimism and pessimism behind the platform as a reflection of the past two months.

  • BE GENUINE AND WRITE ABOUT WHAT YOU KNOW AND MAKE IT ORIGINAL

This was one of my original lessons on Steemit that has treated me well. I was frustrated because as a guy with a 25 reputation grade at the time, I was curious as to why no one wanted to learn how to make my famous meatloaf, hear about how I used mangoes to intensify certain experiences and other stuff that I felt was genuine and of value. Truth is folks, it's a lottery ticket as a new guy to hit a whale. 

I got frustrated and was looking at any article I could and would try to figure out how to make a post out of it. I'm talking borderline plagiarism. DO NOT DO THIS! Just as a whale may find your great original post and hit you with a lottery upvote, dolphins, big minnows and whales alike may read your garbage and remember you post absolute crap and never look your way again. So, a lil advice, stay away from the garbage and keep putting those lottery tickets out there.

  • GET FOLLOWERS THE RIGHT WAY, AND A LOT OF THEM

Getting a large number of followers is a key to getting views, getting views is a way to get votes, and getting votes attracts dolphins and whales, folks. As my followers grew, so did my success! There are right ways and wrong ways to get followers. Sure, you can scour the introduceyourself category all day and gain a bunch of 25 rep individuals who may never visit the site again, or you can take different approaches to individuals that will look at your content for what it is, comment and upvote on a regular basis. 

a. Actually read the stuff you upvote, and treat your upvotes sacred. When I upvote something, I always click on it and give it its due time. In order to do so, I always find something in a category that I am interested in, such as money, anarchism or politics. If someone writes a catchy headline and posts a video with no narration of their opinion of said video, do you think they really deserve an upvote? A comment? Hell, they didn't give you a comment from the get go. Let it pass and look for a better article to spend your upvote on.

b. Begin following people with good content. When you do this, not only do you regularly see their material on a regular basis first in your feed, you'll also become a regular contributor to their articles. Enough good comments, they may take a liking to you. With that, dialogue and learning starts. All the sudden, your masterpieces from your first week really look like the dogshit they were, and you set a higher standard for yourself. Like Yogi Berra said "You can't fly with the eagles, if you're hanging around with a bunch of turkeys"

c. Comment well, but only when you have something worth saying. While everyone likes the occasional "atta boy" or "good article", those comments wreak of desperation. If you are going to comment, at least vaguely refer to some part of the post that you found interesting, or question the author, in a respectful manner, of course. I was debating someone about abortion on their post who had the opposite opinion as mine, but due to the fact that I added value, and was respectful, I got an upvote of my comment from the counterpointer, and it fetched me more than some posts I put out there!

  • Go to a Steemit Chatroom or Team Speak 3

I find this is the best way to not only commisurate with your fellow Steemit community members, but to also hear some voices and debate about everything under the moon. (And get to promote your latest, greatest gem. Go ahead, get started!

 https://steemit.chat/ 

However, waaaay better than that is to take a Saturday night, have a few adult beverages, get yourself a good headset (Walmart has really good quality gaming ones for under $40 bucks, and speak live to really cool folks!

The following post describes waaaay better than I can how to get started. And when you're halfway there, all the folks in the live voice chat are very helpful. 

https://steemit.com/steemit/@fyrstikken/introducing-steemspeak-com-a-voice-community-and-24-7-radio-station-for-steemians

Well, hope this helped some of you get started and helped you to move in the direction you are looking to go! Upvote, comment, and by all means, promote this post if it was helpful to you. That's what keeps this train rolling.

Sort:  

Appreciate your comments on my stuff, and I like your hints and tips. I also was surprised that everyone didn't jump on my first post. In my short time, I've learned a little, and this little tips article should expedite my entrance into the steemit communit. Thanks and Followed.

Yw. Following

In my opinion @tee-em this is some gold standard tips. So much I'm going to include this in the list of guides for newbies and minnows.

@winstonwolfe said in one of our podcasts, "come for the money, stay for the community" and your post really speaks volumes to that. First reactions on here are to scream "hey look at me! "

The ultimate satisfaction comes from actually getting to know other people through talking, debating, sharing and appreciation. :)

Btw, I've still got those guides and tips for you if still wanting.

Go ahead and post it. I'll definitely read it.

Guide 1
Guide 2

Tips at talking to [this post]:

  • I'd suggest slightly larger images, I'd say 480x480 minimum, I tend to do 640x480 as smallest myself. This reduces some of the 'negative space.'
  • Center images by putting center tags around the image, for example: <'center> image link <'/center> [NOTE: remove the ' in those]
  • On the lines you start with *to add emphasis...instead use ** before and after to bold it instead for example: * * bold * * without any spaces between them = bold
    • it gives the emphasis AND makes the post more scannable :)

@tee-em, thank you so much for the post. What a rollercoaster it has been for me in the last 4 weeks. I wish you the best.

Thank you, and good luck to you too!

lots of good stuff in there. I followed you!

Wow, this should carry more cents...but I guess if it's just us minnows in here reading it....truly TY TY Thank you @tee-em...I can't wait to check out the steemspeak!!! :D My poetry is mostly all spoken word anywho, it will be perfect for me! :D What I learned: don't take risks on posting/replies with "crap" ;-) Besides, my chain is forever strong - must build correctly, succinctly, and deliberately.

Agreed. I am always on the live chat Saturday night. Like a coffee house chat with several rooms for discussion.

Very good post, about sums up the learning curve, even though writing good articles isn't so easy. I have not used the chat part of Steemit will look into it.

Good way to connect and build community

@tee-em, nice post. I was not aware of the voice chat being out there, only the text chat rooms. Will have to chat that out. I did a post with a similar theme when I hit 100 followers a few days ago. Lessons learned, etc. It's always good to share...thanks for the additional insights.

You're very welcome

Nice chatting with you today!

tee-em, thank you for your post. Just signed up and was wondering why there are no instructions on what to do. How do you vote .
Your comments seem like common sense things that people should know. However, it makes sense to be careful about just voting and not commenting.
With 893 posts, I guess your not on Facebook much
Thank you for your post.

Haha, yes, Facebook for me is more and more an afterthought. Vote by clicking on the arrow next to the dollar sign below the post. I should be on the talk room tonight around 9.

When one joins steemit , he/she should be provided a link or a downloadable pdf file where general tips and know-hows of this platform are mentioned. I joined two weeks ago, and my learning curve has been steep. I enjoy it , but others may get demotivated and leave the site. Lovely article! Keep Steeming.

Wow
Huge
Great
Advice
For Us Steemians!!
Steemon!!

Not a problem. Just too bad this ain't more whale friendly

It's really Not that big yet
I am happy just to get in
While I do Have "Life"
to distract Me
I feel, If..?
I could get those 4 quality posts up a day
Could take it and test then
I read one Guys friend left
He gave up, I guess
I want to hold these words
I'm in this for the long haul
It is a easy platform compared to facebook
Here,
You have Your own blog
Free Hosting
My Web Hosting bill for wordpress hosting
is under $7usd
I love the Wordpress editor
I hope They could touch a few things up in there
I mess up in there alot=The steemit submit a story editor

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60200.47
ETH 3004.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63