Introducing my PhD project on cannabinoids.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

As I mentioned on my first post I'm close to finishing my PhD. The only thing left to do is the most difficult part... to write the thesis.

I find that a lot of people are curious about my research. Why? you may ask. One word: cannabis :smile:

Cannabinoids (the active compounds found in cannabis) act by activating receptors in our body. The one that makes you high is THC (short for tetrahydracannabinoid) and activates a receptor in the brain. This finding led scientists to believe that if we have such receptors it is most likely because our body produces substances that are similar to cannabinoids (called endocannabinoids).

The cannabinoid receptors, endocannabinoids and associated enzymes are referred to as the endocannabinoid system.

My work was to study the endocannabinoid system in children with asthma. How was it compared to healthy individuals at the genetic level?
It turns out, there were some interesting differences.

Feel free to write your questions in the comments or let me know if you would like me to explain to you anything in more detail.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @cepk!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

I really appreciate academics like you and I look forward to seeing your thesis come together. Hoping you’ll follow so we can connect and continue to evolve and learn from each other! Remember, be yourself, because nobody else does it better -- Full #Steem ahead @cepk :)

Much ❤
@Tayken

Welcome @cepk to Steemit. Looking forward to more posts from you. Please follow me @hongphuong
Upvote

Ah, what a tease! I do hope you will write more posts that go into some details of your research - at least tell about some of the interesting findings. Like what are some of those "interesting differences"?
Did you decide this research topic? If so, what made you interested in studying children with asthma? Also, where did you get the data for the genetic level? I am a "member" of 23andme and know that research is being done where my genetic data is part of the research. I participate in survey questions for the research. So that is why I am particularly interested in where you get your genetic data.
Would love to know more than this little tease. So keep writing!

Hi! It was meant as a teaser to see the interest in this topic :) If more people show interest then I will write other posts about my research. To answer some of your questions: I had access to DNA and RNA material isolated from blood samples. My main passion is the endocannabinoid system and I found myself able to study it in children with asthma given the fact I had access to these samples.

Welcome @cepk to Steemit. Thanks for sharing. Please follow me @chiminh
Upvote

Hi and welcome! I love this topic and have a question. You said:

"This finding led scientists to believe that if we have such receptors it is most likely because our body produces substances that are similar to cannabinoids (called endocannabinoids)."

what triggers humans produce endocannanbinoids?
Is that speculation or fact?

What other functions does the endocannabinoid system have, other than giving humans ability to receive cannabinoids, if any?

Hi!

It is a fact that the human body produces endocannabinoids. The 2 most studied are called anandamide and 2-Arachidonoylglycerol although there are others.

Many things can trigger the production of endocannabinoids which is, by the way, "on demand". The endocannabinoid system is mostly thought of as having a protective role, so stress signals can increase the levels of endocannabinoids.

The endocannabinoid system regulates all other systems in the body, from nervous system, to digestive, reproductive, immune ... I don't think there is a system in our bodies that does not involve regulation by endocannabinoids.

Wow, very interesting. Can we say that smoking marijuana helps regulate systems in your body?

I know it is very tempting to think so, but the answer is not a simple yes or no.
It can help in some cases and harm in others. Like any other drug, and I'm talking about medicinal drugs here, it should only be taken when the benefits out weights the potential harmful effects.

There are many scientific studies that show potential benefits of taking cannabinoids, but so many others showing the opposite.

I would like to point out a very well known drug among those that study this subject, rimonabant. It interfered with the activation of one of the receptors and was used to decreased appetite and help with weight loss. It was thought to be safe, and it was very effective. Some time after its commercial release it was noticed that many people using this drug ended up committing suicide. It was later figured out that the reason this drug was so good at decreasing appetite was that it blocked the "feeling of pleasure" in the brain. So sure, people stopped eating, but became seriously depressed to the point of ending their lives.

Nothing outweighs death.

Thank you for your response :)

Hey there :) Welcome to steemit. I really enjoyed your post. I think its really awesome that you sought to help children with asthma through your research and work. I don't have any specific questions yet but will reach out when I do!
I am definitely following you to read more of your posts! :)

Thanks :)

Killer choice!!! Following and voted and gonna share.

Can't wait for you to share more! And for you to join the research!!!!!

Thanks :)
I will share more soon for sure.

Can't wait and thank you for your choice! Great subject!

Nice, a new Steemian, more or less ^^ Hi Cepk I hope you have fun here. feel free to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @chrisx

Welcome @Cepk:) Glad to see you, hope you enjoy here as much as i do ! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59500.17
ETH 2654.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41