Nice to meet you, Steemit!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

You only get one chance to make a first impression, nice to meet you!

I'm the one who changed numbers, systems and control engineering for the needful search of my passions.

I was born on an island called like a flower: Margarita, in Venezuela. Mi childhood draws itself between the waves of the sea I visited every Sunday morning, the heat from a reddened sun, the freshest sea breeze and a quick way of speaking (typical of people from the east of the country) that fills me with emotion when I listen to it or relive it among memories.

fixedw_large_4x.jpg
View of one beach from the island I was born: Margarita
Taken from: www.trover.com

As a child, I discovered that passions, or loves, hook you for life. I understood it when I was 7 years old while reading Don Quixote and his place in La Mancha whose name we don't care to remember. I loved reading. I wanted to get home quickly and find myself among my books, my new adventures. And, although I was also a video games girl, books were the refuge in which my imagination allowed me to build worlds in my own way, just how I pictured them.

During my adolescence I let myself be guided by the authors who left their mark on me. García Marquez was my favorite, the corners of his books were very similar to those of the little town where I grew up as a child, even I put the faces of people from around there to the characters. Among so many and many books and authors, also the boy with the lightning bolt-shaped scar came into my hands. From J.K. Rowling learned that "Words are our most inexhaustible source of magic. Capable of both inflicting injury, and remedying it". One day I read Neruda and it just happened: The princess had the desire to write and live between verses, images, rhythms and melodies, and I started writing poetry.

Curiously, among the poems written were also equations. I let myself be dazzled by the world of mathematics and then decided it: I studied systems engineering at the University of Los Andes, Venezuela.

9347109856_327326b30b_b.jpg
View of the engineering faculty, at ULA, Venezuela
Taken from: Flickr

I left books and poetry aside to devote myself to exploring my analytical side, driven by logic. I got lost between numbers and programming and then learned about statistics and models. I decided to specialize my degree in Control and Automation: "Control engineering applies control theory to design, plan and develop systems with desired behaviors, focusing mainly on the implementation of control systems based on mathematical models".

On the other hand, one of the most wonderful things that happened to me in college was to sing in the choir "Vinicio Adames" of the engineering faculty, there I developed another of my passions, my love: singing. After being in that choir I began to study lyrical singing. I had never felt such passion in such a short time, it was overwhelming. That feeling always comes back and now more, that I approach the music not only in song but in words.

1907742_1529868040567498_2494366061166908920_n.jpg
Vinicio Adames Choir (2014)
Taken from my personal photo gallery.

When I finished my degree I decided that I wanted to leave it in standby, I was already working as a Community Manager (also from ULAVE) so it was a quiet transition. Why did I leave it? In order to pursue my passion: Writing, and I write a lot nowadays: poetry, stories, chronicles, press releases... About what? Music, culture, digital communications, and social networks.

Now that I meet with Steemit, I celebrate that different visions of the world can be shared through the beauty of a good text and the strength of an image, combined with the feeling of sharing your writings with so many other steemers, and the satisfaction of being in touch with the 'internet of value', or 'Internet of money'.

In short, I define myself through my passions: reading, writing, and singing. That's the way I am: Cecilia.

37643351_10215082354666043_5764263740966961152_n.jpg
This is me! (2018)
Taken from my personal photo gallery.

Sort:  

Hi cbermudez

Nice to have you here

welcome to Steemit! Your introduction post is really great! :)

Welcome to steemit family! Good luck! I am sure that you will fully enjoy your journey here:)

Hello welcome to steemit
in short you can visit the site busy it's a platform related to steemit ca can help you write your post more easily https://busy.org/@cris02
if you have questions do not hesitate to ask me and you can find answers in https://steemit.com/faq.html

Welcome Cecilia


Welcome to Steem @cbermudez.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Great intro @cbermudez That's an incredibly beautiful place to have grown up. I can relate to your journey quite well, I come from an engineering background as well, but have always loved music and singing. I always felt that while I was working a heavy analytical job in systems and materials research I had lost a connection with the more creative part of myself. I would say for many in the engineering world we can live in our heads more than the heart sometimes. Looking forward to what you bring to Steemit and welcome again!

Thanks for your words, they're lovely! I hope you recover your creative part soon! Hugs! :)

Heelo newcomer welcome to steemit enjoy your day

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to steemit.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57405.63
ETH 2867.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54