Hello, I'm new; and It's good to be here.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

We all have surges of creative energy, you know.
00100sPORTRAIT_00100_BURST20180408114922074_COVER.jpg

We all have ideas that spring to our minds. Some are minor, some are major. Sometimes, we have the energy and resources to plan them out and execute them.
However, most of these ideas never come into reality, very few of us have found a home for them.

There are an infinite amount of stories that haven't been published, paintings which haven't been drawn and songs that haven't been written. And there is only a very small percentage of the world's population who have the means to express themselves, which is really sad.
My belief about the human-race and how future technology will shape us is open. At the moment, a lot of us are suffocated by the systems that exist. We're spending our time trying to find a job or career that fits, constantly being failed by dated educational systems. And if we do have a career, time is spent playing corporate politics and working around policies and procedures, instead of creating.
Fortunately, Blockchain technologies are emerging which create the freedom for us to do what we are truly here to do.

So here I am, introducing myself on the Steemit platform.

#introduceyourself
To those of you who are already living more of your ideal reality thanks to the Steemit Blockchain, hello and congratulations.
To those of you who are new like me, hello! We're now a part of shaping an amazing platform at it's early stages, how exciting!
To everyone else inbetween.. Hey, let's do it!

What do I do?

Honestly, I'm not sure how much I want to talk about myself in such a structured and linear way. However, I do want to let you know though that I am a perfectionist in the way I communicate and I experience a generalised form of anxiety around the way I interact with people - I'm learning to manage this and treat it as something positive and useful, rather than something negative which I'm controlled by.

I'll keep it short.
After high-school, I studied Software Engineering at university for a year and a half before I got bored and left.
Since then I've moved between different sales, marketing and training jobs in both retail and corporate sectors. I've travelled solo for 255 days, experienced many fleeting relationships and learned to cook some pretty yum vegan food.
IMG_20180309_202049.jpg

I now live alone and to spice up my home life, I host people from around the world. This helps me stay in touch with the freedom of travel and I get to meet amazing people (who I hope to introduce on Steemit in future).

Why am I here?

Steemit was a platform I first stumbled upon when learning about Blockchain technology in September 2017. Of course, there is a lot to love. It gives content creators the opportunity to connect directly with people and for all of us to interact and exchange value..

I have drafted many posts on different platforms and toyed with the idea of building a personal brand through the current mainstream platforms such as Instagram and YouTube; and although it is possible, a lot of things push me away from supporting these platforms (I don't think I have to explain why here).
Finally, I'm deciding to get active. Steemit is a place where we can be rewarded for being our true selves and I'm here to see if who I am and what I create is valuable to you.

More than anything, I'm extremely excited to see what connects with you and I look forward to co-creating stories and ideas with you all.

Before this gets too long..

(my first draft of this got to about 3,000 words - not kidding).
Should you follow?

Well, my first post after this will likely be an extension of this introduction. I'd like to talk more about what it is to have a place that welcomes your true self and rewards you for who you are; I believe this to be one of the most valuable personal implications of Blockchain technology.

We can all provide value not just to each other, but the planet we live on. I am here to challenge & rise above the conditioning we have unknowingly been subjected to which strangles our creativity and locks us into systems & behaviours which don't serve us.


I believe the story-telling I do can inspire people to break out of their comfort zones, confront their own limiting beliefs and create a more ideal world. However, I don't intend to do this alone.

MVIMG_20180408_143902.jpg
If any of this has connected with you in any way, please reach out, follow me, or comment any tips or thoughts you have. Steemit has the potential to become home to some extremely beautiful and valuable content; I really look forward to seeing you around.

Sort:  

Welcome to the platform. Nice to meet you as well. We happy to have you here!

I am very happy with your presence in Steemit. I wish you the best! Hope you gonna have fun with our community and see you soon.

Here are link you might find useful:

http://www.steemapps.info/

This blog is a list of the best web apps interconnected to Steem Blockchain. Moreover, any useful feedback on our blog would get back a shared reward. (COMING SOON)


Kind Regards,
@lytieulong

Hi @carpet.duck welcome to steemit, i hope you enjoy here, have fun. Don't get tired writing an article. You got an upvote from me :)

This comment has received a 0.20 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @vinzie1.

Congratulations @carpet.duck! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Thanks @steemitboard, just had a read of your post and have upvoted you both here and there. Nice to see initiatives helping motivate newbies. Thanks for the support!

Welcome to the platform , Hope you enjoy it here

Welcome to steemit @carpet.duck ! Like your introduction and the effort that went into it ~ I'm curious to hear more about your 255 days solo trip, will be following :)

Thanks @unfixable! I look forward to seeing you around :)

I chose steemit as my first blogging platform, and I can relate 100% on how posts can get so long so fast. lol. Loved reading through your intro. :D

Thanks @justlikejorge, it can get pretty crazy haha.

I appreciate that a lot!

Hey Carpet.duck! Nice to meet you, you can call me Aly. :) I'm already looking forward to your posts, will you be sharing about your solo-trip? Sounds really interesting, where are you from btw?

Hey Aly! Thanks so much for the comment. I will be writing about my travels yep! There's a lot in there so it will definitely come up. Have followed you as well, looks like you write about some interesting experiences!

I look forward to seeing you around!

Thank you :) Looking forward to reading your experiences. :D


Welcome to Steemit @carpet.duck!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Welcome. Did it take a long time for your profile to be approved? Mine took almost 2 weeks, but it was worth the wait.

I wanted to be one of the first to give you an up-vote too.

Please follow me if you like and we can share posts and up-votes and help build our profiles. Below is an example of a recent one. Please up-vote if you appreciate or find it interesting.

https://steemit.com/cityscapephotography/@shauntaemonte/whose-hopes-whose-fears

Not really @shauntaemonte, I have created about 5 different accounts though and lost passwords to them all :(

Took about a week for me.

Happy Steeming!

Send me your password and I'll keep it for you.....just kidding. ;)

I play guitar too. Thanks for sharing, hehe. You are awesome. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. You can call me Joey.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82