Introduction: I'm 17 Years Old and Believe Steemit Can Help People Help Themselves Out of Poverty!

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

Hello, Steemians! I'm Carlo Belgado, 17 years old, and I'm happy to be here on Steemit!

I've done a lot of research about Steem and Steemit before I joined today, and so I would like to give my views about this platform while also showing a few photos of myself for ID Verification.

Why I Believe Steem and Steemit Can Help Relieve Poverty in the World...

1. Steemit is open to anyone, without censorship and without lofty expectations.

I've read many posts already, and what I see are people earning real money for just being who they are and sharing their lives and passions. I've even seen a homeless person here making income - no job interview needed, no assessment test, drug test, background checks and all of that hooglyboo!

2. Steem is a real currency that can be converted to Bitcoin and then cashed out - even without a bank account!

I"ve learned that in my country (Philippines) and in Thailand, there is a Bitcoin wallet called Coins.ph and it's a big company started by a guy named Ron Hose from the United States...a real genius, Silicon Valley investor guy!

With a Coins.ph account, you don't need a bank or an ATM card to cash out - they give you a code and you just go to an ATM machine, type in the code, and get your money!

That means the "unbanked" here in the Philippines and in Thailand can improve their lives with Steemit, because most people here don't earn a lot of money, I can tell you, and they have to work all day usually (12 hours), and earn maybe $100 - $500 a month (most people). Plus, job contracts here only last a few months or maybe up to a year if you are lucky, and then you get terminated!

Filipinos can visit Coins.ph here

The Thailand version of Coins.ph is here

And here is Ron Hose, telling his story on video...

3. Even kids like me can make money with Steemit!

In my country and others, some kids can't even go to school because they have to help earn a living for the family at an early age due to poor wages.

But kids are very comfortable using smart phones and even computers at Internet cafes where I live, and many of them could earn a lot more on Steemit than they could working all day in the heat at a construction site or just foraging around.

The only barrier is their knowledge of English. But I'm thinking as Steemit grows, there will be groups like Facebook, and so you'll have kids who can do stuff like recording their game play and earning from other kids and adults who upvote it - or just sharing cool photos and stuff like that.

My Idea for Attracting More Investors for Steem!

How about creating some investor VIP packages?

Everyone likes being treated as someone special, or getting some kind of exclusive offer. So you could give big investors some cool perks, like all-expense paid trips to a Steemfest event, plus dinner with Ned or Dan, special seating at seminars and conferences, etc.

And you could have it so they must commit to keeping their investment in Steem Power for a year to be eligible for those things.

And then for the less wealthy investor, you could offer free premium services of some of the Steem Tools for a year that have premium buy-in offers, if they buy a certain minimum of Steem through the platform.

Last, I just want to offer one suggestion...

Create some tutorial videos for newbies. These can be made fairly cheap through Fiverr - the voiceovers and intros, and even the syncing of the audio to the videos showing what to do - and they could be nicely made and short.

Text help is good, but a lot of people learn visually these days and having a full set of instructional tutorial videos would help a lot I believe.

THANK YOU, STEEMIANS FOR WELCOMING ME!

I WILL BE CONTRIBUTING BOTH CONTENT AND SUPPORT!

GOD BLESS AND MERRY CHRISTMAS TO YOU ALL!!!

I'm Carlo Belgado, a born-again Christian going to private school. I like to play basketball and volleyball, and DOTA online. Thanks for having me here!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @carlobelgado,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional TRAIL tokens and SteemTrail, stop by and chat with us.

Happy TRAIL's!

Thanks! I'll check it out about the TRAIL token soon. Sounds interesting.

Hey man, I sent 4 SBD when I received your message re: resteeming, does it get resteemed automatically? Just wanted to make sure that my SBD went thru correctly to ya

welcome dude!

Welcome Carlo! So good to have you here brother. Would love to read more about your faith. If you're interested, you can check out the Christian-links channel on Steemit Chat. We are also in the process of setting up a curation trail for Christian related content. You can DM me on Steemit Chat or email me at [email protected] if you would like to be involved. Jimmy

A Christian curation trail sounds great! I didn't know about that. Thanks!

Welcome Carlo,
Great introduction post! Hopefully you can help spread Steemit to the Philippines. We share 1 and maybe 3 things in common: Brothers in Christ. Pacquiao fan? Lumpia fan?

Yes, all 3. I can eat a lot of lumpia, but it's kinda too greasy sometimes the way my sis makes it. Lol. Thanks for the welcome!

I was born on Guam, and somehow lumpia became a food we love. I think my dad had it there. It is a great snack, but I agree about it can be greasy. My sisters family and mine get together and roll a couple hundred and freeze them. They cook just like they were rolled fresh, and that way you can have just a few anytime you want.

Next time I make them I have to take a lot of photos and blog about it here. Next time your sister does you should do the same, we can compare recipes :-D

That's a great idea! I'll have her make a batch soon and do that. It will be interesting to make a batch from your recipe too. :)

I've been bugging Ron & Nante at work for some (they think I'm kidding) ... Lumpia and Rice!! (Love it!)

Congratulations @carlobelgado! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great post keep going and welcome to Steemit!!
Follow!

Thank you! I'll follow back too!

Welcome to Steemit. I agree that steemit can potentially take people out of poverty. I myself is pretty poor in my country, so I try to come out of poverty with Steemit :)

Thank you! Yes, I believe you can rise out of your situation through Steemit. It might take more time if the cost of living is high in your country. Eventually, the price of Steem should go up, based on what I learned, and so the level you can take yourself to with this should go up too!

yes my situation is extreme, be course I need to make maybe 10 times more then one in Philippines to get the same life style... if I survive I get very strong... if you understand what I mean... welcome again and I think steemit is a very good option for people in countries like Philippines. Lasse

Gosh, 10 times more? That's a lot!

There is something called the "bigmac index" that is used by economists to measure the difference in generel prices in different countries.

I just checked that actual price differences in Phillipines and Denmark.

You are right its not 10 times, actually its only a little less then 2 times in difference.

Bigmac in Phillipines $2.82

Bigmac in Denmark $4.44

https://steemit.com/merrychristmas/@lasseehlers/merry-christmas-for-angelo-son-and-lasse-father-to-all-steemians

I thought the differences where bigger.

Well, that's good news, coz 10 times more would be a "tough row to hoe", as they say. Here the food is pretty cheap unless it's imported, but electricity is outrageously high, especially if you use aircon. House rent is cheap too, but not in the big cities. You have to buy big jugs of purified water and a dispenser also, because the water is no good!

@carbelgado , thanks for the information. the water here is clean and houses and apartments very expensive, like everywhere else it depends on the city and area. Its all relative, I just had the impression that Philippines was very cheap compared to Denmark.

RESTEEMED :)

Outstanding introduction post, Carlo. Congratulations! :)

WOW!!

An introduction post that didn't include boobies made over $100SB.

Awesome.

You have a good vision.. Welcome aboard the crazy train.

Nope, no boobies. Lol! Thanks for the great welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57740.57
ETH 3127.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33