French Biology Guy, at your service!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hi there! 

I’m very happy to join the Steemit community and try to bring my contribution to the platform!  Here is a little bit about me: I was born in France and studied Molecular Biology there. I moved to the U.S about one year ago to work as a scientist in a Biotech company. On my free time I am a singer in a Heavy Metal band, a climber, hiker and (not so good) runner. I also enjoy good science fiction books, improv and old school horror movies. 

Why Steemit?

I live in the Bay Area, which makes it almost impossible to spend a single day without hearing about crypto-currencies. That’s how I started reading about some blockchain-based projects (which is a full time job if you want to keep up) and discovered Steemit! 

As a big consumer of educational content on YouTube, I have been concerned for a while about how the business model of the platform affects the content that’s shared on it and how it tends to prevent constructive debate and horizontal transfer of knowledge. While I still need to wrap my head around some aspects of how the platform works, I’m very excited about the Steemit project and I really like the way it encourages high-quality posts and cooperative interactions between users.  

What I write about 

As a biologist working in the field of Genetic Engineering, I see very mixed reactions from my family, friends or strangers when I talk about my job. People are sometimes very excited about the opportunities brought by these technologies, most of them are understandably very concerned, but in general they are mostly confused about some concepts they heard of but often don’t have a clear understanding of what they really mean. This is what encouraged me to write articles. 

Through them I would like to demystify genetic engineering as a field and clarify what scientists are currently trying to achieve, what is possible or not, and then maybe open an honest debate about some important ethical questions.  I definitely have a lot to learn to produce clear and catchy articles (especially since I’m not a native English speaker) but I think this platform is the right place to learn from the rest of the community. 

I already posted a first article of a series about the basics of genetic engineering and CRISPR/Cas9. Here are some topics that I would like to talk about soon: 

  • CRISPR and the fear of "Designer Babies" 
  • The impossible debate on GMOs 
  • Why we ask the wrong questions about GM crops 
  • Biohacking: dreams and concerns of an open-source science 
  • Next-generation drugs: the 800 000$ treatment and what it means for the future of medicine 
  • The unknown world of epigenetics 
  • 23andMe and whole genome sequencing: how sensitive is your genetic information? 
  • Lab-grown meat and the perspective of cruelty-free food   

Outside of experiencing life on other side of the Atlantic and gaining a couple kilograms, moving to the US allowed me to visit the beautiful National Parks on the West Coast so I’ll finish this post with a picture of the sunset over beautiful Death Valley:

       

Thank you for reading! 

Sort:  

Very nice introduction, best of luck to you and hoping to check more of your blogs next time. =)
Welcome to steemit and I wish you all the best.

Thank you very much for the encouragement and thank you for the good advices you give in your last post :)

Welcome to Steemit! I'm also in the sciences. A mathematician. Glad to see more STEM people on the platform :)

I also recommend Steemengine. It gives another way of having your posts be more widely seen, followed, voted on, while you still have little steem power.

Thank you for your comment and advice, i'll make sure to follow you next posts !

Welcome to Steemit dear friend! I hope to learn from yours knowledge and interact in our equitable community.

Thank you ! My spanish is pretty bad but i can still appreciate you photographic work :)

Hey and welcome again!

hi carlgbush, its nice to see new face on steemit, hope you will spread positive vibes in steemit.and keep up the good work on steemit...;-) and be regular on steemit it will make grow you faster... ;-)

welcome to steemit , upvoted you will regularly do on your good work , for newbie tips and basic information you can check my blog at @adityajainxds

some of the important website you need to now.

https://steemd.com/@ (username)
http://steemitboard.com/welcome.html
https://steemnow.com/@ (username)

Thanks @adityajainxds

Thank you for these useful information. Great blog, i'll make sure to follow you future posts :)

Welcome to Steemit, my fellow scientist and steemian! :)
Eagerly expecting your posts! :)
Cheers

Thank you ! Equally eager to learn more from you about astrophysics :)

Thank you ! I'll do my best to be as active as possible with the SteemStem community

Welcome to steemit! :)

Thank you for your comment :)

Hello fellow Steemian .. I'm a newbie here. Please support me by following my blogs and I will follow yours as well . Hope we can be good friends.. Please check my introductory post. Thank you. Lovelots
https://steemit.com/nikkabomb/@crisjay110313/hello-from-the-queen-city-of-southern-philippines-cebu

You received 15.3% of upvote for FREE from @rashley01! We upvote post for FREE to support the New Steemit author. Vote percentage is based on the Quality of the Content.
You can also Vote @rashley01 as your Steemit Witness

Read/Support my recent post here:
Animal Blog: Let’s Help our Aspins. They’re Filipinos Too.
Story Contest: My Story Contest 2: 'Mountain Climbing'
Photo Contest: The Surpassing - Landscape Photography
1514362677194.jpg

Thank you for the upvote !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56264.43
ETH 2991.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21