Let’s Help our Aspins. They’re Filipinos Too.

in #animals6 years ago

aspin-678x381-c.jpg

Lemon was a short-legged Aspin with puffy blonde fur around its neck. His eyes were bright and quick, he was a temperamental dog and reminded me of a Chihuahua when he was fighting bigger dogs.

His bark was so happy, playful, and upbeat that it almost looked as if he smiled. Whenever I or my dad met Lemon outside of our home we would offer him dog treats and bread. One time he followed me to a cafeteria where I learned about Lemon’s testy relationship with the cook.

The dog always had a way of bringing a smile to other people’s face. I wondered who owned the dog because I wanted to adopt him into my home, so my female doggie could have a playmate. But it never happened and months flew by when I realized I haven’t seen Lemon in the streets.

The last thing I heard about him was that the help’s from across the street roasted the dog for dinner. I don’t know if the rumour was true, or if Lemon had strayed too far and had become road kill, but I do know that the help from across the street weren’t very nice to Lemon.

Whenever Lemon became too loud and annoying one of the help’s would stone him right in the ribs to shut him up. Now, whenever I see people who stone dogs or animals I wonder how painful it is to be disrespected by people more able and intelligent than animals.

In the news cases of beastiality and animal abuse in court would end up having a cheap fine of 1000 pesos. But in another country, they take this very seriously and apply appropriate penalties and fines.

I wonder if people find living and being associated with an animal abuser and murderer feel or think. I would be afraid because if that person thinks he or she could get away with animals then getting away for crimes against people would be next on their list. I’d probably cut myself off from those types of sociopaths.

Luckily Mitchie was surrendered in Cebu City Pound. She has several pictures uploaded on their facebook page, if you read their history you’d be surprised at their previous owners were. Some are irresponsible, others had to give them up for a valid reason, others were rescued, and the exceptional ones being exchanged for pure breeds.

946159_603578409791167_3027861377245550010_n.jpg

I was appalled to learn what had happened to Mitchie before she came into the pound. Her previous owner dumped her there in favour of her pure breed dogs. One single Aspin dumped over several high maintenance and expensive dogs!

I know pure breeds are different and exotic in many ways. But strays are also a unique kind in their own way. But they’re still the cute buddy you grow to love with.

I’m quite happy that the owner dumped Mitchie in the pound. At least she’ll find a better owner than the previous one. I hate abandonment so when I think of leaving poor animals in shelters or just about anywhere breaks my heart! I couldn’t even stand when we had to give away a litter of kittens because the mother suddenly died from being turned into road kill.

Please if you live in Cebu, Philippines won’t you do a favour and check out their facebook page. Please, please if you have strays living in your area. Don’t shoo them away. Help them. Feed them if you can and have an open mind towards stray animals. A few weeks ago there was news on the local tv about a man killing a neighbour’s dog. I’m afraid that man is not right in the head and any other people who have abused and used animals for their own gain. Please stop animal abuse! Whether they’re animals or humans. All of us are living things! All of us deserve the right and respect to live of our own free will!

Please, re-steem for awareness. Even If you are not animal lovers. You can also leave comments or upvote this post.
Vote @rashley01 as your Steemit Witness

Read/Support my latest post here:
Story Contest: My Story Contest 2: 'Mountain Climbing'
Photo Contest: Best Buddies - Animal Photography
1514362677194.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62513.70
ETH 2949.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60