Calendula is the name. Coloring is the (healing) game.

I'm Calendula! I'm elated to become a part of the Steemit community and share my creations with you! 

I studied many disciplines: technical illustration, CADD, programming/coding, and culinary arts. Yet I never could decide which direction I wanted to push myself towards even after putting hundreds of hours into each of these skills.

Rewind to a few years ago: I suffered from severe chronic anxiety. Meditation, yoga, chamomile tea, and spending time with friends definitely helped my state of mind in the moment but those feelings nevertheless persisted. Anyone who has dealt with anxiety knows how much it can affect your mood, your relationships, and your productivity.

Everyone copes with these negative feelings differently, but I used coloring pages to self-heal and maintain focus in my daily activities. It gave me a calming concentration that soothed all those nasty thoughts in my head. I came to understand the benefits that coloring and other art therapy brings people who just can't shake that overwhelming nervousness but who want to avoid prescription medications for whatever reason.

An astounding amount of research supports coloring, art therapy, and the positive outcomes it delivers for people with anxiety, depression, PTSD, autism, chemical dependencies, dementia, and many others. 

Coloring isn't just for creative souls; there is no right or wrong way to fill up a coloring page. 

So I decided to create NEW coloring pages to share with people who are struggling with ailments, injuries, disorders, or whoever just wants an activity to fill their spare time.

I wanted to create pages that could be appreciated by people of ALL ages. 

I also wanted to create pages that are fun and educational. Each page teaches an Old English vocabulary word.

I'm working on compiling these pages into a full-fledged coloring book to make it easier for people to color, carry, catalog, and show off their amazing coloring skills. I will eventually create a subscription-based service that sends out a new coloring book to subscribers once a month for a small fee. The current (and first) theme is foods and drinks. And I'm always up for suggestions and creative criticism!

I'm so excited to get to know the Steemit community and I hope these pages can help you or someone you know! Thanks for reading!

Cheers!

Sort:  

Hello @calendula :) welcome to the lovely community and happy posting..
Your art looks amazing and has much detail to it ^^ I think you will do great here.. Just don't get sad is things don't start off with a bang.. It takes time and effort to do good... I am here for around a month now..
Best of luck and much much love ❤︎💕💖😍
-Goldie

Thank you very much! I hope to learn and grow from the community and their input, and I'm excited for the future because, you're absolutely right, valuable endeavors take time and persistence. Good luck to you too! <3

Welcome to this community that really appreciates our posted content. I hope you can follow me. I have the custom of posting photos taken of my iphone and texts of interesting curiosities.
You can become more popular by following people and giving upvote in posts! I believe Steemit has a great future!

Thank you for the warm welcome and the tips! I followed you to keep up with your content~ I'm excited to see how the project flourishes!

Welcome to Steemit @calendula :)

Welcome Bot Banner

I am a bot that greets new users of the community.

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:

If you have any questions about steem, just ping reggaemuffin, the creator of this bot with your question :)


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.


See what this is all about and support the bot: SteemGreet the second - submit your links!

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you like it as much as I do. Beautiful art...Feel free to connect with me @lulita 😀

That's very kind of you, thank you so much! I followed you; very thought provoking posts!

Thank you! Feel free to leave me some feedback. I'm always learning from others 😀

Hello there @calendula and welcome to Steemit! I just upvoted you!! I hope you enjoy your time here and make lots of $$$. If you're interested in lotteries, please check my profile out @steemitlotteries. I run FULLY TRANSPARENT LOTTERIES with promotional posts where I issue FREE TICKETS for those who help me curate my promotions. All the best! :)

Thanks! Great concept~

I like to see that fruit basket in color @calendula Upvoted and followed you.

Thank you; I followed you! I'll make another post soon with some colored examples of the pages I've created so far~

Have you seem my recent art post?

Just did, and commented!

Oh!!! Thank you so very much. Let me see it.

Its great to have a new artist in Steemit! Welcome I follow you now! Regards from Madrid.

Thank you for that welcome! :D I'm very excited to be here and share my work~ Cheers!

Welcome! Nice post on productivity. Would expect more interesting content from you over the next days!

I appreciate it! I'll continue posting my illustrations and thoughts or whatever I decide to create that day~ Glad you're enjoying my content.

It is nice to have name like a flower ) welcome to Steemit

How sweet of you, thank you! Especially when the flower has healing properties~

Welcome to Steemit @calendula, I hope you enjoy it here. Nice art!

To get a head start and join lots of other newcomers in the #minnowsupportproject head on over and join us in chat on DISCORD to get a boost to in your followers!

Thank you for the welcome and invitation! I joined the Discord server, hope to see you there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67743.75
ETH 3805.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.53