Hello Steemit, I'm Jason!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

In 1980, Bill Gates had a vision.
He envisioned a future where every house will have a computer.

Hi! My name is Jason (@buzz.lightyear) and I have a vision too.
I envision a future where every house in the world will have its own solar power system.

That's right. Every house. A day when solar electricity is the norm. You have it, your neighbour has it. Everybody has it. Everybody generates their own electricity and if you don't have enough, you can buy it from your neighbour. You can pick and choose which neighbour to buy it from and select the lowest price. Free market.

I mean why not.

Today we live in era of dramatic advances in renewable technology.
Have you seen Elon Musk's solar panels that look exactly like normal roof tiles?
Have you heard of whole states that are powered 100% by renewable energy?
Prices for renewable energy materials (especially solar) has fallen over 300 times in the last 30 years.

Meanwhile, are you paying higher or lower electricity rates every year?

So, the BIG question is why can't we see it here?

In August last year, I got my answer.

I went to the local cinema to catch a documentary movie about climate change I had anticipated for weeks! So after work, I rushed to the mall, bought my ticket, popcorn (of course!), walked into the theater, sat down, and as soon as the movie started...

I realized I was the only ONE in the movie theater!!!

I believe that a zero carbon future is possible.
But there are heaps of challenges ahead...
No it is not the government. It is not Trump.

It is us.

This reality will not happen automatically.

We got to want it first.

So here is me writing and I want to grow the awareness, GAF levels and support from my local community. If you like my vision & mission, please follow me.

I will be sharing with you:

  • Current state of affairs - local, regional, global
  • Climate change - what it is, how it affects you & me and not just polar bears
  • Technologies available - my thoughts on what works and our options are
  • Challenges - we'll tackle these... one bite at a time
  • Resources - for the like minded people who do not know how or what to do next
  • My own story and progress to realize this vision

I appreciate all the support I can get .

It is an exciting time.

Thank you Steemit.

Buzz.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit @buzz.lightyear (Jason)

Thanks great to be here. ☺️


Welcome to Steemit @buzz.lightyear!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Welcome @buzz.lightyear, to infinite and beyond Steemit and Team Malaysia! 😉

Hi there welcome aboard nice to have you here @buzz.lightyear, i really like your idea but unfortunately there are countries like mine (Spain) that penalize the use of solar energy.

Hi @elmadriles, I did some reading about your situation in Spain. I'm sad to hear that Spain was once well known as a leader in renewable energy (mainly with solar concentration plants). Unfortunately due to politics and an unfavorable tax policy introduced since 2012, Spain is now experiencing a reversal.

What I do not understand is the story behind why.

From what I read, Spain suffers from electricity deficits (shortages). What is the real reason behind these unfriendly tax laws? Can you help me understand?

@elmadriles Very happy to learn Spain has abolished the solar tax you talked about last year.

Hello welcome to steemit!! it's really nice to have you here enjoy the platform and explore the community.....wish you all the best.

Thank you @universalpro. Great to be here :)

Hi!
That was an amazing post. What type of cool topics are you going to write about?
Followed and Upvoted!
(Perhaps you could help me out by following me too!)

Hi,

I might write the following in my next few posts.

  • Climate change: is it really that bad?
  • Is 100% renewable a dream or reality?
  • Solar - 50 year old technology - where we've been and we are heading

This is my plan but i'd love to hear from you what you would like to know.

Do share. Thanks!

Congratulations @buzz.lightyear! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

welcome to steemit,
Get to know how to earn more on your posts and get more followers.
Make new friends and interact.
We can share our thoughts.
In the steemit school, we have ultimate contest challenges where you get to win and make investments.

You need support from a community to grow and earn easily on steemit.
I recommend one for you.
Meet over 3k + steemians.

Steemit is a business, we will teach you how to succeed

join the steemit school on discord https://discord.gg/pqWrzBn

Hi @utomobong, thank you for your message. Where can I find more groups who talk about environmental issues?

The steem schools.
We talk about many things, you will meet steemians there who do environmental issues.
Join through the link i sent

Welcome, I am always looking for a solar community. I would love to be 100%, but as I am semi-retired cost is a problem. I have a couple panels that I experiment with. I run all my Raspberry Pi computers from my solar. So where does the @buzz.lightyear handle come from?

I am from Malaysia - where there is abundant sun. The future is bright but we must make it happen. Here is what is needed.

I love your vision! I was very troubled after watching Years of Living Dangerously and Cowspiracy. Sustainability and Zero-waste are now my goals. Following you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43