Not Going To Pretend Anymore and I don't have to wait for a New Year's Resolution!

steem.jpg
Was it an epiphany or a "light bulb" moment? Honestly, it doesn't really matter what drives a person to take a hard look at themselves but what is important is that they do get real with themselves.
Recently, I woke up to realize that I was a guy in his early 40's who hasn't been honest with himself! Am I saying that I haven't had a good life? Of course not. I have experienced some wonderful moments along this journey that we call life, but in recent years, I have because less and less true to myself and that is the worse thing you could ever do to yourself.
I don't want to wake up when I'm 80 and look back with regrets and lament over the things I could have done or should have done in my life.
You see, I have been the "people pleasing" type that always tries to be the encourager, the shock absorber and the one who tries to be the one who makes everything right.... But ya know what? Life is messy and it ain't always pretty and the most cruel thing you can do to yourself is to "smile and pretend" as you stumble through life. One thing I've learned is that people are not going to love me more by always being a "yes man" who doesn't speak his mind. So, I hope this can help you to because I'm starting my New Year's Resolution early this year and have decided to let the real me shine and to totally be real and authentic. This doesn't mean you become a blunt person who hurts people's feelings....On the contrary! But what it does mean is that you are going to stop being dishonest with yourself when you go about life and not being assertive, honest and always true to yourself! My journey begins today and I look forward to letting myself and others see the real me! Otherwise, just as my picture reflects, I am only half of a person. I wish you all well and your upvotes are always appreciated!

Sort:  


Welcome to Steem @breakingtonight.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

It's good to be back and thanks for your kind words!

Hear Hear for the real you!

Welcome to Steem breakingtonight! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Great to see you are posting again!

Feel free to reach out to me directly using the encrypted Wire messaging app. I'm 'matthewdavid' there, too.

Welcome to Steemit breaking toninght
I saw your #introduceyourself and its nice to meet you.
Blogging is what its all about on this blockchain. The best part is that you could earn money.
I have been here for a while and love it!
But be carefull with all your passwords, Never give those up !! They are yours.
For safety tips visit the white paper.

The Steemify App I use is also great, it is available in the Appstore and free, you can See Whats happening in your account. https://steemit.com/busy/@exyle/using-steemify-to-stay-up-to-date-about-the-blockchain-like-project-destiny-please-consider-blockbrothers-for-your-witness-vote
Also Partiko and Steepshot are handy and Free. I wish you good luck steeming and I Will See you around🍀
Your value and input is appreciated and if you have questions let me know.
I am here everyday !
Greetings from Brittandjosie from the Netherlands XOXO

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06