My Introduction Post to the Steemit World

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hi, I am Bluejays.

bluejaysnew-re.jpg

I thought it was about time to finally write my Introduction post, so here it is. This is a post that will give you information about who I am and a little about what makes me tick.

If you are thinking that I look familiar, then you may be right. I have a visible Admin role with a Community as well as appear on a Youtube Vodcast for the last several weeks as a host. We will get to all of that in this introduction post though.

history.png

I was born on a small island in the Caribbean and moved to Canada when I was 10 years old.

It was quite the shift, and also the culture shock was not an easy thing to get used to. All my friends and family were "back home" and over the next 25 years, I made new friends and family in my new home in Canada.

Even though I was born in the Carribean I really do consider myself Canadian for the most part. Why for the most part? Well, currently my travels and my jobs have taken me to Florida where I have lived since 2014. Recently I have been feeling very "American". We will see how this goes and what life has in store for me.

Prior to settling in Florida, I worked as an IT Technical Project Manager on contracts. Contracting took me all over the place, including Marietta, Georgia; Portland, Maine; Raleigh, North Carolina; and Copenhagen, Denmark.

family.png




I have been married for almost 12 years to a wonderful, amazing woman that some of you Steemians may know (@topkpop).


I have a daughter who is now 6 years old! They have joined me on the travels I mentioned above and have been good sports, through all the upheaval of moving.



professional.png

I completed a Software Engineering undergrad degree, with a minor in business, and had a lot of fun in University! Ask me about this if you ever meet me in person.

I have also completed several courses such as:

  • Achieving Personal and Professional Success - University of Pennsylvania Wharton
  • Core 100 Training - Robbins Madanes Training
  • Project Management Professional - Project Management Institute
  • Professional Scrum Master - Scrum.org

Just to name a few.

I actually do like learning and will always continue to learn new skills and tools.

I have been employed mostly by large international corporations. I started off my career in a Canadian government department as an Application and Systems Administrator, looking after middleware BI (Business Intelligence) enterprise software.

Currently, I work for a large international corporation in the Financial industry that helps me to support my family and allows me to be in Florida so that I can perpetually escape Canadian winters.

hobbies.png

Sports, of which my favorites (noticed I spelled favorites with no "u") are baseball and basketball. Growing up in Toronto when the Toronto BlueJays won the World Series in 1992 and 1993, I still have fond memories of my best friend and I not only watching Joe Carter hit the game-winning home run in the 9th inning but also the next few days where we skipped school to make our way to the Skydome, downtown Toronto to watch the World Series parade.

Video games are an old favorite although I do not have the time anymore.

Same with Movies, of which, I really only catch kids movies mostly due to my 6-year-old.


Most of my time these days is spent working as the Co-Founder of EOS Go. Ever since learning about blockchain and what it could do (ex. Steemit), my time has been spent learning about the technology that will be as revolutionary as the internet was. I learned about the EOS project in early Summer of 2017 and got involved in the community. Since about Nov/Dec 2017 I have been spending most of my time working on building up the EOS Go social media properties, as well as co-producing high-quality videos and content for the EOS community.


I hope you enjoyed getting to know a little bit about me and a bit about what makes me tick.



bluejaysfooter.png

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit @bluejays 🙋

Welcome to steemit @bluejays ! Great introduction and I'm curious to see more content from you about EOS :) Followed ~

Welcome Mr. @topkpop 😀

Bet you will like it here and I hope to see you in #thealliance group as well?

Thanks for the welcome! Yeah I might drop in to say hello.

Warm and fuzzy WELCOMES to you my friend your all good already my man glad to have you on here with your amazing woman @topkpop my fellow sister from another mister lol , lots of love and steem dreams to you , see you around bro...

be well

@bluejays

Thanks @krazypoet, love your rhymes

Good Stuff, Welcome. Cant wait to see what content you will make . Have a great day


Welcome to Steemit @bluejays!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

hello there.... Welcome to Steemit...Hope you'll enjoy it here.... welcome to the family...Goodluck!!!

Hello Bluejays welcome to Steemit!! I'm Michell, and it's a pleasure to meet you.
what a interesting life. I look forward to reading your posts, and hope you stay in touch. Welcome to Steemit!
Also, if you'd like to know more about me: https://steemit.com/steem/@michellm3/episode-one-come-here-let-s-be-friends#comments

Nice post! Thanks for the welcome

Comprehensive introduction post, looks like you have been busy with many projects over the years. I don't know anything about EOS but it sounds very interesting so I hope you will be making a few posts about that?
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

I will, and thanks for your welcome, appreciate it.

source (2).gif

its nice to meet you @bluejay and @topkpop

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62482.14
ETH 3044.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76