Happy Trees

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

bobross.jpeg

I've enjoyed learning from fellow Steemians for the past few months as a guest and have now moved on to being a member. I hope to post an ongoing series of lessons I've learned from investing in other arenas for years and from blockchain investments in particular. Since I didn't tag my first post as "introduceyourself" I am copying it here:

This is my first post. Or as one might say in a call-in radio show, "I'm a first time caller, long time listener." Great content here but one thing I would love to have seen as a noob is an honest assessment of what works and doesn't work when investing in crypto. This isn't investment advice and there are certainly many ways to skin a cat but I will try to share what I've learned and hope others comment about their own experiences.

Mistake #1: Investing through Coinbase. There's no doubt Coinbase remains one of the easiest way to go from fiat to crypto. But even if you bring your cash into the world of crypto through Coinbase, there's no reason to pay their fees. I made that mistake at the outset but now use Gdax (Coinbase's sister entity that is an exchange rather than a buy/sell platform. I fund through Coinbase and then purchase select coins (usually BTC) through Gdax. Same end result but much lower fees. I can then transfer my BTC to an broader exchange (I like Bittrex but there are other solid options out there) when I have an appetite for altcoins.

I would love to hear if others have a different or better way of going from fiat to BTC or back.

More to come.

-- Big App

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @bigapp!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Yes, I love Crpto too! Lots of detailed analysis on my blog along with some predictions

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

if you use limit orders you do have to pays fees on gdax

True but Gdax fees are much lower than Coinbase.

welcome to steemit! awesome bigapp

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62809.89
ETH 2684.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56