Let me introduce myself...

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Lake Minnewanka, Alberta, Canada

Hello, fellow Steemians! I joined Steemit to connect with others who believe in the twin virtues of finding oneself and helping others (and I believe I’ve come to the right place!), and to contribute value by sharing the knowledge and wisdom I’ve accumulated over the course of my previous career as a financial advisor in the United States and my current career as an independent trader/investor.

I’m sure many of you see the financial industry as a “wretched hive of scum and villainy”, but I entered it precisely because it needed more goodguys! And I loved the company I was a part of. The people I got to work with were of the highest character, and we were all there to make a difference in people’s lives. I would still be there were it not for the following realization: there are many legitimate vehicles for attaining financial freedom, yet only a handful I could recommend to clients if I wanted to make any money as a financial advisor. Don't get me wrong: there’s nothing inherently immoral about being a financial advisor (though of course there are those who behave unethically). But I came to realize that my position didn't give me the freedom to be the financial educator I was truly meant to be. For example, if I was aware of a financial service that was well-suited to a client’s needs but my company didn’t have a selling agreement with the service provider, then industry regulations actually prohibited me from even talking about the service! If I see value in something, I want to be able to tell the world about it - and let them decide if it's for them.

As a financial educator, I strongly believe there’s no one right answer for everyone. We all have different interests, different temperaments, and different sets of circumstances. So everything I present is meant as food for thought. It’s up to you to decide what to do with it.

One other thing I want you to know about me: I’m very much a “cut the fluff and get to the point” kind of guy, and I think you’ll find my writing style reflects that. But I’m also a big fan of not falling into the trap of negativity. Yes, crap happens, but crap is fertilizer. It’s easy to forget that darkness is followed by light, and to have trouble seeing beyond the dark times that befall us. But having faith that there’s light at the end of the tunnel isn’t unrealistic. On the other hand, believing that the tunnel will go on forever - now that is unrealistic!

I look forward to this journey we’re all taking together!

(By the way, the picture is a photo I took at Lake Minnewanka in the spectacular Canadian Rockies. I hope you like it!)

Sort:  


Welcome to Steem @benrosenthalft.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Thank you, @steemladder! The starter tips are very much appreciated! I will implement them.

"Crap is fertilizer" hahah I love it. Nice to meet you!

btw I love the Canadian Rockies. Such a beautiful place filled with so much nature and beauty! Would love to snowboard those mountains one day when I can afford a private helicopter drop off lol.

Nice to meet you too, @twopeace! Yes, the Canadian Rockies are a magical place.

welcome to steemit @benrosenthalft ! You'll soon get used to it. Don't hesitate to write something. I major in veterinary medicine and also interested in money and finance. Nice to meet you! I'll follow you:) I'd appreciate it if you could follow me too.

Hi @elliot3! Thank you for the welcome - and the follow! Right back at you. And don't worry, I have plenty of original content to post! But from what I've read, it seems like a good idea to space my original posts out so that each one gets a chance to be read. I'll be posting my first non-intro post later today, but after that, I plan on waiting at least a week before posting another original post. If any experienced Steemians have a different rule of thumb they recommend, I'm open!

Followed. I have been watching your 401K series wondering where it will lead.
I was pleasantly surprised that @Finnian found you as I have interacted with him in other areas.

I came to steemit in the firat place due to a lead from a crypto advisor. But I have stayed because of the chance to meet like minded individuals in the area of financial development.

I like your positive attitude, but there was one thing that i learned early on with this platform is that unless you have a following you generally get crickets for response and votes.

The wise advice I was given was to hang back a bit and comment and vote on other people's work (Curate) first. That way you end up with a following of people who are interested in the things that you are. And you get an idea of how to write in a way that rewards you. Then when you lay down your bigger ideas you get some traction.

Hi @whitesj40. I appreciate the follow (and, having read and commented on your piece on junk bonds, I've now returned the favor). I also appreciate the advise. Your suggestion to spend more time curating at first was exactly what I was doing, until another Steemit veteran told me I needed to be posting way more of my own content so that people hear my voice and get a sense of what I'm about. So...I'm thinking I need to find a balance of both.

Good! Then I am watching with interest :) Make sure the title has to do with photography or cats or preferably both:)

Loading...

Welcome to steemit @benrosenthalft.

  • Join @minnowsupport project for more help
  • Checkout @helpie for daily trivias and useful information
  • Join @qurator a good quality support project
  • Checkout @steembasicincome
  • Help us save the forest with @treeplanter
    Follow me @tuanis for random votes daily please checkout the report
    Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Thank you for the tips!

Congratulations @benrosenthalft! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you for the support!

hello steemer....I like to follow you..so please follow me and i can followback you 100% asap..tank you

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To learn more about us and stay connected with us, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58010.39
ETH 2457.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34