Hi Steemy friends! I’m Ben, finishing up my doctorate in neuroscience and obsessed with the brain.

Hi everyone!

My name is Ben Zimmerman, and I’m currently working on finishing up my Ph.D. in neuroscience. I’m obsessed with the brain, in love with the scientific method, passionate about learning and self-improvement, and I hope I can bring some of that to this awesome community.

Here's a picture of me without my face.

I am interested in how to enhance the mind because I want to extract the most out of my experience of the world. I love travelling and seeing new places to experience that dilation of time that comes with novelty. My most recent international trip was to China.

 Here’s me climbing one of the limestone karsts there.   

On the flip side, I try to be disciplined about practicing skills that I hope will benefit my mind. Mostly, I try to push my creativity and imagination.

I practice visual art to enhance the way I see the world. Here is a drawing before I started practicing 

  and here is where I am now

I also practice composing and playing music on the piano, mindfulness meditation, memorization, language learning, and some movement skills like climbing, juggling, and ving tsun kung fu. I hope that I can share parts of all of these with you, and learn from you all, too! 


Sort:  

Amazing story Ben! Hope you post more quality content, I enjoyed reading this.

Excellent post! I enjoyed the climbing pics. Was there only toproping?

No, but I'm not super experienced with leading yet, and I didn't want to risk getting injured (especially that early in the trip :-P ). In general, liability did not seem to be on anyone's mind, and my sense was that you can pay someone to do pretty much whatever you want.

"...I love traveling and seeing new places to experience that dilation of time that comes with novelty."

Hi Ben, or should I say Dr. Dreamy Eyes. I enjoyed your badass introduction and wanted to follow up with a question because SteemIt connects me with a neuroscientist! I love traveling as well. It sometimes feels like stimulation similar to a drug experience. For example, more energy, alertness, willingness to make friends or be vulnerable. Will you expand on the experience you described in the quote above, please?

Welcome to Steemit! Greatto have such a smart person on this platform!

Hello! Nice to meet you here. i like your introduce, @zimmerman

Great post! Welcome!

Another Great-Mind added to community! Welcome, I can't wait to read about Neuroscience, I'd love to see what the future of that field will bring us. How long was your trip to China?

Thanks! I can't wait to write about it. My trip to China was two weeks with my partner, Payel, but we packed in a lot. Flew into Shanghai, flew to Yangshuo and Guilin, which is where the karsts were, then went to Urumqi and the surrounding area for a while in the far West side by Kazakhstan, then to Dunhuan near the Gobi desert, and finally to Beijing before flying home. China is fantastic and the food was so varied and delicious. Would highly recommend.

Ben, I just wrote a post of how smart people are on this platform. It is like the VIP of social media. You are a prime example of the kind of people I'm talking about. https://steemit.com/steem/@brianphobos/steemit-has-the-smartest-people-on-social-media-100-proof-inside

It's great to see a scientist here! I'm sure that your posts will be like diamonds in the pile of all these bullshit steemit posts :-)
Scientific Method rocks! :D

I've been enjoying a lot of the posts here :-) Also, I've heard that the opening game for new social networks should be all about attracting the masses. After that, we'll have a whole palace of diamonds :-)

Awesome to have you on board!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51