My journey to becoming a day trader!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone! I’d like to introduce myself. For starters, I discovered Steemit by following @philakonecrypto on twitter/YouTube and observing his content here. Thanks for the lessons and inspiration!

As for me... I am currently a working professional who is completely burnt out on the industry and career path I’ve been on for the past ~15 years. I have always been intrigued by stock markets and recently the crypto universe as well. I have decided to undertake a journey to transition my career out of the miserable corporate grind, TPS reports, and politics, and into a position that I am completely in control of my destiny.

I’ve decided to create this account primarily to journal my journey but I figure others can learn from my experiences, perhaps inspire others to make a career transition, or for sadists - watch me crash and burn.

A little more about me and my goals:

  • I really enjoy the Game of Thrones series on HBO, which is where my username is derived from combined with my desire to retain anonymity.
  • I hold a relatively high level position with a publicly traded company in the United States (no, I will not share more details about this)
  • I have a goal of $275,000 USD in annual profits from trading.
  • I work between 40 - 60 hours per week, and typically travel for work two weeks out of each month.
    • I intend to continue working full time until I reach a point of confidence that I can transition full time without reducing my current compensation level.
    • This severely limits my ability to trade, and initially plan to trade in a simulator one day per week and grow out from there as my schedule permits.
    • I will also be balancing this journey with my obligations to my family of my spouse and two children.
  • While I love the crypto space and hodl a handful of investments in a variety of coins, I will be focusing on US based equity markets due to stability, history, and vast amounts of educational material available that evolve around those markets.
    • This does not mean I will not branch into active crypto trading at some point, but primary goal is to become an expert in a specific area to execute with confidence.
    • This does mean that I must, on average, consistently return $1,100 in daily trading profits to meet my goals.

I’ve begun my journey so far by reading two recommended books:

I look forward to sharing my journey with you. I am obviously a novice and my postings should definitely not be considered financial advice in any form. It is posted for your entertainment value and my historical reference.

Cheers and Happy Trading!
ATraderHasNoName

Sort:  

Hey, I transitioned from trading part time to full time about 8 years ago, so I've already been through the transition.

If you need any help or have any questions then please just ask me. I don't know everything, but I do know what it's like on the day to day grind...

oh and I'm new to Steemit and don't understand any of it lol

Thank you! I’m up to my eyeballs trying to squeeze this into my schedule, but determined to make it happen. Ive learned this week the importance of a strong trading platform with hotkeys as I’ve read much about.

hotkeys ? pretty fast action then :-) I tend to trade on 1 hr and 4 hr, and trying to move up to dailys at the moment

Yes, I’m looking to hold positions for just a few minutes at a time, max. I’ve been using Think or Swim mobile platform on an iPad and there’s just too many steps to execute a trade. The desktop version doesn’t seem to be hamstrung.

my platform is pretty good, instant execution directly off the chart if I want, one click. I'm a bit more conservative though and like to plan ahead for a bit. Besides, trading hourlies means I get to shitpost on the inernet for 50 minutes every hour lol.

I tried scalping in my early days just to build up some quick cash and it was ok, very stressful though.

Welcome to have you onboard @atraderhasnoname. I am sure you have friends that if have told them what you are doing they would probably laugh. But I challenge you to find all you can about this platform and not get pleasantly surprised and a little excited about what's going on here. You clearly saw the value to start an account, and I think this is something that a lot of people all across will be diving head first into, but later on will too late. I wanted to invite you to visit @greetersguild, it's a place that a lot of friends visit daily supporting, upvoting new people that just started here, like yourself. You can gather all the knowledge about this place you would ever care to know visiting with a lot of people as we really help speed up the learning curve in all people we visit with that choose to take advantage of the assistance. I also do work with a lot of newbies, feel free to visit my posts @cryptkeeper17 if you'd like as well. I would recommend visiting @greetersguild for sure though. Best of luck, look out for that pullback that is coming, lol.

Congratulations you were upvoted by the cryptkeeper17 curation trail on steemauto. To get upvoted like this daily follow the cryptkeeper17 trail on steemauto and also receive mentoring and support from our community of friends!


Welcome to Steemit @atraderhasnoname!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Yes, I love Crpto too! Lots of detailed analysis on my blog along with some predictions

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Congratulations @atraderhasnoname! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59908.77
ETH 3191.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43