Blockchain Traveler, Supply Chain Management Consultant, Steem Lover

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hi there! My name is Jeff. No - not that Jeff. I do have a keen interest in crypto and I have bought and sold some, but I'm not a part of the NetCoins exchange or the recent contest. I'm the "other" Jeff - Jeff Fisher. I have a job I love working in the blockchain space, developing and bringing blockchain solutions to traditional supply chain management systems.


Meme courtesy of Cryptocurator

I started college at Transylvania University in Lexington, KY (yes it really is called Transylvania U) studying for a BA in Business/Commerce. Lexington is close to my family home in Nicholasville so I commuted every day, but the $40,000 a year tuition and fees was more than I could handle for 4 years, so I transferred to an online program from ASU (Arizona State U).

That worked out well, I was able to help out on our family farm and tailor the academics to my own time schedule - light during summer hay baling time and heavy during the winter months when we only had a handful of cows, horses and goats to feed.

My little brother and sister handle the goats, and I handle the cows and horses. We live in the heart of thoroughbred country, growing some of the finest blue grass hay to be found, so of course, we have three horses we picked up at the Spring thoroughbred auctions. They will never place in the Kentucky Derby, but someday they may foal a Triple Crown winner, at least we hope they will.

I never expected to go for my MBA, but one of my ASU professors ran his own supply chain management consulting firms and got me interested in how blockchain technology is changing the entire supply chain system. I went for my MBA also through the ASU online program and did well enough that my professor offered me a job in his company.

I'm so fortunate to have landed what is my dream job without ever having to even write a resume or attend a job fair. I get to travel a bit, visiting client locations around the world, and the rest of the time I work from home in torn Levi's and a ragged tshirt. If I get a brainstorm late at night as I'm falling asleep, my office is just a few steps away so I can work on that new idea that just can't wait until morning.

Because of my research into blockchain technology, I discovered Steem. I haven't been very active on Steemit, this is my first post here, but I have been a member of several Discord groups, and even met my girlfriend in one of them. She's a red-headed 19 year old with a great sense of humor and an incredible amount of positive energy.

Here on Steemit, there are so many brilliant minds and fresh ideas, that I find myself thinking in new directions that I wouldn't have considered without the spark of an idea from someone writing on Steemit. For me, the Steem community has been a wonderful addition to my life, and not just because of meeting my girlfriend Anja.

Most of the people here in the rolling hills of Kentucky don't have a very firm grasp of what I do every day, and the blockchain is a pretty alien world to them. Being able to discuss my work and kick new ideas around with other people from all over the world who understand blockchain and crypto technology keeps me energized.

Steemit has been good for my work life and my personal life and now it's time for me to give back a little of what I've gotten from the community. So I started this blog as a place to share some of what I know about bringing the blockchain to traditional industries to improve, streamline and safeguard business operations. I hope you'll find what I write useful and interesting, at least that's my goal. And if you do, following me will bring all my musings and thoughts about the direction of the blockchain in business to your feed.

Some images courtesy of Pixabay
Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Blockchain @ascorphat. There is a Transylvania University? Are you sure you're not Dracula? ;) ;) Looking forward to your future posts!!!

Welcome 😁 Me and my husband live in Nicholasville as well! Nice to connect with another Kentuckian on the blockchain!

Welcome to Steem ascorphat! Partiko is a officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Very interesting! I'll take a look, thanks!
Jeff

Awesome! Let us know how it goes!

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to Steemit! I'm glad you have found a home here and have enjoyed your time in the community so much. Looking forward to what you have to share.

Thanks for such a nice welcome! I'm looking forward to getting to know everyone and learn from so many amazing individuals. Let me know if I can help you in any way!
Jeff

Hi @ascotphat, Welcome to the steemit platform. Hope you can have fun here. Please follow me and if you need help, I will help you.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the warm welcome! I'm looking forward to hanging out here with everyone!
Jeff

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

This is great! Thanks for that!
Jeff

Hi Jeff welcome to steemit. Have a blast and enjoy.

Congratulations @ascorphat! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Welcome to steemit. Am glad you have great interest in crypto, I'll be looking forward to learning from you.

Welcome Jeff Fisher! I'm looking forward to your posts - I'm sure blockchain can be revolutionary for supply chain management. I'm glad that meme has had a useful secondary purpose! Cheers @cryptocurator

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57102.05
ETH 2348.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33