Hello Steemers!

Akash Beharry is a Trinidadian painter, printmaker and
visual arts teacher at the ministry of education. His
paintings are done mostly in oil paints and his prints are
monotypes and reduction prints on paper. Born in Pointea-Pierre,
Trinidad, Beharry was raised in Fyzabad, a
small town in southern Trinidad. He received scholarships
from both Adelphi University and The Petroleum
Company of Trinidad and Tobago (PETROTRIN) in 2005,
and was also a grant recipient of the Helen Baldwin
scholarship fund. He earned his B.F.A. from Adelphi
University, New York. Mr. Beharry works figuratively,
drawing his inspiration from Hinduism which greatly
influenced him as a child.
"For most of my childhood and teenage years, I painted
Hindu iconographic images and portraits of deities. Like
most religious art, the figures were idealized which I
enjoyed recreating. After a while the faces became easier
to paint but harder to relate to. They were not similar to
those around me. My fascination with facial features in all
variety from person to person and across age, race and gender especially of the people I know, is
at the heart of my recent work. This series includes paintings in oils and acrylics on 12”x 12”
mounted panels and canvas. In the course of translating the facial features and with close attention
to detail, I develop a profound sense of deep familiarity and a superficially intimate relation with my
subjects.
Through my paintings I am able to develop my childhood interest in identity and the familiar face as
a place of stability and comfort. My art has become devotional and almost religious. Like the
images of my past, the faces and people that I know now may someday seem unfamiliar. I strive to
capture the familiar, the real, while they are. My portraits are not of gods but of people I know. They
are not idealized but are painted the way they happen to be. "12512400_10156819837430790_7105960374061613332_n.jpg

Sort:  

Hello, Akash, and Welcome to Steemit.

Below are a few basic points of advice re posting on Steemit.

  1. Longer posts are more lucrative than short posts. If you make a post of 20–30 paragraphs, it's more likely to earn rewards.
  2. Include some photos, images or graphs, to complement the text.
  3. Make sure the text and photos are formatted properly, so that your post looks attractive and appealing.
  4. Be yourself.
  5. Be interesting and informative.
  6. Create quality content. Steemit is intended to be a platform of quality content. (You will see many insignificant posts with meager content and no quality. Most of those of posts [called “shitposts” by Steemit whale Stellabelle] will earn few rewards and soon pass into oblivion.)
  7. Get online and start curating. Read various posts, comment on those posts you find interesting, and upvote those posts. That’s the best way to attract followers.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead!

welcome to steemit :)

Welcome. How long did it take to get approved? It's worth the wait.

an up-vote for you

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

I am an artist too. Thanks for sharing, hehe. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. You can call me Joey.

Congratulations @archangelakash! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66244.62
ETH 3320.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70