Just a Humble Gringa Trying to Channel Her Inner Latina

Capture.JPG

Yep, that little chubby girl in the red dress is me, circa 1989. This was taken on a US base in Panama City during a time of great turmoil for the country. The US officially invaded Panama under the name, Operation Just Cause, helping to remove a harmful dictator from power. This conflict is the beginning of my story of how I came to be.

My dad came to Panama as a doe-eyed, skinny, blonde US soldier from the cornfields of Iowa. This was his first duty station, and boy was it a hell of a first place to go. He always described it as a paradise, a place, unlike anything he’d ever seen in the mid-west. He quickly fell in the love with everything about the country, the food, the culture, and eventually, he fell in love with his future wife AKA, my mom. She was a fiery Latina that commanded a room with her beautiful face and strong attitude. They quickly began a whirlwind relationship to the backdrop of 80’s rock bands such as Rush and Aerosmith, cruising the streets in my dad’s golden 1968 Camaro. (Yes, it was Gold). It was a good time to be alive. Neither one of them spoke each other’s languages but they made it work somehow. I wonder how…

dad.JPG
mom.JPG

One and a half years, and a marriage later...enter me! We were a picture perfect family. I could understand both languages, my parents were happy, and overall things were going well. After the conflict was over, we moved to Colorado to start our new life in the USA, and unfortunately, this is where everything started to crumble. After realizing that they were not right for each other, my mom and dad divorced. Spanish dissapeared from my life, and the next 16 years would be tough. What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, right?

Fast forward to 2012, I’m a young 20 something working at Starbucks. Not doing much, but having a great time and enjoying life. I meet this great guy and fall head over heels for him. (Our story is another post altogether). The cliff notes version is he was the best thing since sliced bread, so we got married, moved to Germany for three years, and in 2017 we decided to pick up and move to Panama.

576431_4117928621254_137645636_n.jpg

Fast forward again to 2017, we are now in Panama. I decided that it was time to come back to my roots and channel my inner Latina. If you know me, I’m pretty American, like Harry Potter loving, John Mayer obsessed, brunch enthusiast gringa. It was time to get back to when I was speaking and understanding Spanish and slurping San Cocho likes it was going out of style. I told myself that I wanted to learn Spanish again, so hot damn, I'm doing it! I love trying new things and getting out of my comfort zone.

26239332_10212182675096803_6647132010996022453_n.jpg

It's 2018 and we are loving our life here in Panama with our new cat Roman. I’m excited to share my life and knowledge with you guys here on Steemit! Nice to meet you all.

Sort:  

Great intro story! Can I help you learn Spanish?! ;)

I do have to say that you were a cute baby!

Sincerely,
Your Hubs

This first post is THE BOMB! I'm so happy that you and @increasefreedom are around here! thank you for sharing your story! Can't wait to read the rest of it!

Your story is beautiful, thank you for sharing.

Thank you so much! I appreciate it. :)


Welcome to Steemit @alibelone!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Congratulations @alibelone, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Nice intro! Welcome

Really nice story :)

What a beautiful Story Welcome to Steemit !!!!!!!!!!

Congratulations @alibelone! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @alibelone! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42