I’m Alex, a Database Administrator/Web Developer and Entrepreneur From Owerri, Nigeria.

Hi everyone,

I’m Alex and I’m new to Steemit. I discovered Steemit while doing a google search on web development.

Obi Davids passport photo2.jpg

Since the day I set my eyes on this platform, I’ve been hooked and I am now quite convinced that this is going to be my home. I have come to Steemit to post on creative writing, technology, investing, currency trading and cryptocurrency trading (using mainly algorithmic trading strategies). I would like to use this opportunity to introduce the Steemit community into my life and become one family with the wonderful people here.

My Early Career

I started my career with an internship at the Central Bank of Nigeria, after obtaining a Bachelors degree in Economics and Statistics from the University of Benin in Benin City, Nigeria.

The happiest day of My Life: Graduation Day !

The Happiest Day of My Life.jpg

Later, I worked as a Bancassurance Officer at Old Mutual Nigeria, the Nigerian branch of the FTSE-100 multinational corporation. I was quite happy there and had great co-workers. I later conceived the idea of starting my own company - an initiative that would showcase the rich cultural diversity of Nigeria to the world.

With Some Colleagues at Old Mutual Nigeria in 2014

During a Training Session at Old Mutual Nigeria.jpg

My Goal in Life, Passion and Motivation

I have always had a creative side of me that was constantly seeking expression – there was a deeper purpose to my life. As a child I had a precocious artistic talent . I could draw and paint quite well by the age of 5 – in fact, by then, I was already producing portraits for relatives and family friends. Somehow, that ability was smothered by my parents who felt I should be more interested in mathematics and the sciences. Later on, while growing up, I took up chess and eventually made it to the university chess team where I was the third-best player. So, given my affinity for Art, chess and creative writing (where I had won several awards including a 3rd Prize in the Central Bank of Nigeria Venture Prize Competition), I didn’t hesitate to latch onto the idea of starting something that would challenge me to stretch my abilities beyond the natural limits. This idea was the desire to run my own business, growing it to maturity while at the same time, helping to improve my country's image in the global community - I felt a Nigerian Start-up with a global reach could do just that!

One of My String of Achievements: Venture Prize Award from the Central Bank of Nigeria and the National Youth Service Corps

My Venture Prize Award.jpg

I eventually decided to take up web development and learn computer programming – that was how I left the realm of economics/finance and switched over to web development, database management and (on the side) stock/currency/cryptocurrency trading. I am now exactly 2 months away from launching my very own Start-up and of course, it will be well represented on the Steemit platform.

Towards a Great Future

Towards a Great Future.jpg

Why Steemit ?

It is just natural for me to be part of the Steemit community because I had been looking for a social platform that could afford me the opportunity to advertise my Start-up and give advocacy to technological innovation, liberalism and environmental sustainability ( I love the outdoors and I am always filled with awe and so much love for our natural habitat whenever I behold the lush green vegetation in the Nigerian hinterland, while passing by the countryside). I like to be close to nature and I often go to the mountain, lake or river to get closer to the elements . Sometimes I also go to the woods or visit a national park or zoo. I am at my best whenever I get close to nature!

Admiring nature’s work of art

Admiring Nature.jpg

Although this is my very first post on Steemit, as I make more friends here and contribute to the community, I hope to be deeply integrated into this great family, devoting my energies to help the community grow. I will need your love , support and encouragement along the way. I will also endeavour to promote Steemit in my country, where there is massive creative human/social capital.

Thanks everyone for reading my very first post!

Steem3.jpg

With Love,

Alex Davids

Sort:  

Welcome Alex.

Thanks fproductions. It's quite a pleasure to meet you here.

Congratulations @alexodavids, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Welcome to the STEEMIT COMMUNITY I invite you to follow me and give VOTE to my POST.OK DTB

Thanks hrsalas; nice to meet you here !

Congratulations @alexodavids! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @alexodavids! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @alexodavids! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @alexodavids! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @alexodavids! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55