Introduce myself - Am I too late to the party?...

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

My name is Adrian. I'm a 43 year old husband, hardworking and I am also an adopted parent of 2 beautiful cats.

I've been on Steem for about a week now but only writing this post now as I needed a little time to put these words together because this post marks a point in my life that I seriously need to turn things around for myself and my loved ones.

You see, people who know me have the impression that I am a successful corporate employee in the management team of among the largest firms in Malaysia. We live in a decent neighborhood but nothing fancy, drive a decent, safe car which is relatively inexpensive and live decent lives which is minimalist by comparison to the majority. I earn a decent salary which is 6 times the minimum wage so most would believe that its all honkey dorey for me. The sad reality is it really isn't.

I have made some really bad financial decisions in my life in the past and it has now come to haunt me. That so called fat paycheck is barely enough to get by with all that debts. The skyrocketing costs of living we experienced in this country over the past couple of years have made matters worse for us and we reached a point that my pay alone does not cut it so we tried several options to help boost income.

That included me going on a job hunt for better pay but nothing really fell into place. We ventured into a small business which was a huge thing at the time but the fad quickly died down as we were just starting. I even tried trading forex after spending a year on a practice account but things went south when it involved real money. I came across a video on YouTube recently explaining why the majority loses in forex trading and wished i found it earlier (linked below). The wife did her best to contribute but lost her job as the company was down sizing. She is still struggling to find another job as i am typing this. I can go on and on about what we went through but I guess the picture is pretty clear now.

Long story long.... Was it a string of bad luck? Was I always too late to react? I'd rather think of it more as bad decisions being made on my end. No one else to blame.

We have reached a point now that both of us have exhausted all of our savings and I am considering selling off our home and moving in with my mom, something all (or most) married men would really, really hate to do and its not like she have the space for it. But I am not going to loathe about it nor am I giving up. The search for financial freedom continues.

Blockchain & Crypto currencies have just become the topic in my life recently (I'm so pissed that I've not been exposed to this much earlier) and Steem specifically became the main focus thanks to Jerry Banfield (https://steemit.com/@jerrybanfield). I should mention that I've only heard of Bitcoin once before this back in 2009 on an internet news portal. No detailed information neither was there any mention of Blockchain so no attention was given to it.

Fast forward to 2017, Steemit & Cryptos have given me a new hope. A hope that I am able to make things right for the sake of my family. I've been behind on payments, have not bought a single piece of clothing for myself for many years and can only dream of taking the Mrs. for a holiday now.

Am I too late to the Steem party? I seriously hope not.

But I thank god for what I have, especially for my wife who have to put up with this.

I will share my experiences on this blog so do follow & comment on my posts.

I know many others out there are in the same predicament as I am and I hope we will all be in a better situation in future.

Thank you for reading.

This is the video I mentioned:
Anton Kreil Annihilates Retail Brokers and "Trading Educators"

Sort:  

Sorry, I can not speak english Brother / Sister.
Welcome And Happy Starting Your Job @ade
Let us together Achieve that success.
I am very happy when many #steemit lovers - #eSteem welcome me warmly here.
I'm new and still need to learn a lot from seniors like you.
Once again I thank you.
Choose your Witness Like @good-karma.
Follow Me @jordanjor, thank you

Welcome to Steem Community @adr! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

don't worry about the bad financial decisions.. we've all been there. And you are most definitely NOT too late. This party is JUST getting started! I see total crypto market cap currently at $88billion heading toward $1trillion within the next couple years! The fiat debt-based system is about to collapse so USD debts will be much easier to pay back in the near future. Here is a list of my Top 10 cryptos. Welcome to Steemit!
https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@cryptosphere/top-10-cryptos-of-the-future-july-29-2017-a-weekly-ranking-of-the-best-place-to-put-your-money-in-the-cryptosphere

Yes I am betting on the $1trillion happening very soon too. Thanks for your assurance!

Welcome to Steem @adr I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome to this amazing community @adr
Great intro, you are very welcome in this lovely platform. I believe you will have a great time on here. You can enjoy my posts too and follow me as well at @pastorlea. Thank you and have a good one

Welcome to Steemit Adr :) Glad to see more people like you - here joining Steemit! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunpoom

You can take me, but you cannot take my bunghole.... For I have no bunghole....

Hello @adr and welcome to steemit!

Have UPVOTED You!

This is a great place and with a great community @theinspirator 😊

Here is a gift for you to watch! There are 4 main factors that you need to-do to be very successful on steemit! Watch the quick video: https://steemit.com/steemit/@theinspirator/4-tips-for-massive-long-term-success-on-steemit

Hi @adr welcome to Steemit. I do hope that you have a wonderful time on this platform, if you have any questions or if there is anything I can help you with do not hesitate to ask, I will be more than happy to help.
If you would like to stay in touch please Follow me @Fshllc

Welcome adr, I hope you enjoy it here! This is a great place for a multitude of reasons; I’m sure you’ll find out plenty of your own.

I am going to follow you and ask that in return your follow me. But take note, this type of following is almost a moot point. After all, wouldn’t you rather be following people with similar interests? OR following people whom are like minded?

Just my two cents, but welcome all the same. At my site, @carltong; I have blogs on scams, easy to use faucets, and more. I don’t link to any of these in this letter, because I want to genuinely welcome you to Steemit. It’s that great an invention, lol.

Here is my best advice for you:

”If it seems to good to be true, then it’s NOT true.”

I lost over $1000 at BitcoinsBrain, and almost got taken by FexFund; I was given this advice once; “be nice to everyone and don’t trust anyone”.

Whatever the case, WELCOME HERE. Say hi once in a while and I’ll try to do the same.

Enjoy,
@carltong

Followed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62832.46
ETH 3374.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48