A new programmer and translator freelancer has joined the block!

in #introduceyourself5 years ago (edited)

echo "Hello World!";
fyw3pt83uk.jpg

Programming and modern languages are my passion!

For those eager to know about the content of my future posts right away, this is the plan:
-I shall be posting about everything I have learnt regarding how to code your own cross-platform app which could run on websites, android, ios, windows, mac and linux.
-I shall post about how you can learn English as a second language the right way.

Kindly allow me to tell you a bit about my history:

I am from Venezuela, and I would like to start by telling you a bit about how I learned English as a second language in a year and how I became proficient at coding websites and apps.

English as a second language:
I was lucky enough to have the opportunity to learn English at a local institute at the age of 13. When I joined my classes I was so excited and happy to be able to learn English that my grades were practically perfect from levels 1 - 10. For some reason, learning the language was very smooth for me and just about 1 year later, I was feeling very confident and proficient with it. I graduated from the CVA Institute (American-Venezuelan Center for its spelling in Spanish) by the age of 14 and a half.

By the age of 18 I applied as an English teacher at the same CVA institute. While teacher there, I could master my knowledge even further by practicing everyday with native speakers, preparing grammar lessons for my students and having fun!

My English teaching experience is vast, I have been an English teacher for more than 12 years already and I have had students of all ages and nationalities. I have prepared students for the TOEFL and the IELTS tests.

I also worked as an interpreter and translator for the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Venezuela, dealing with delegations from all around the world. I was in charge of making sure that the translations of the legal documents, including Memorandums of understandings and Cooperation agreements, were bullet proof. We had to produce fast and quality translations.

While working there, I had the chance to work as an attachee. I had to make sure that our guest delegations were confortable and were able to communicate effectively with our government officials.

How I became proficient at coding websites and apps

I have always dreamed of becoming the next Steve jobs or Bill Gates (who hasn't). Whoever, I could not really afford paid courses. That did not stop me though, I used my English knowledge to research online, thus becoming very proficient. But it was not easy at first, I had to dedicate tons of hours just to learn and even more hours trying to find a way to test my knowledge on real platforms.

The first programming languages I learnt were HTML, Php, JavaScript and HTML. After doing some free online courses I was eager to publish my first website! but... Sadly enough, I could not afford even the cheapest GoDaddy hosting plan. I had no idea how I could earn my first dollar. However, as it turned out, I found free solutions which were decent. This did not come easy though, I had to do a vast research on the subject to be able to actually produce my very first website.

Then I met WordPress. I learnt that WordPress powers around 30% of all websites indexed by Google. It was an amazing and yet overwhelming discovery.

At first, I felt what you would feel if you were a cave man who comes out to explore the world to find that the world you see is moving like a Sci-Fi movie with flying cars around you... There were themes, plugins, a huge market place, I felt both intimidated and excited.

After making a couple of WordPress plugins and Themes I moved to Nodejs (please google a bit if it is the first time you hear this term).

Later, I taught myself C++ and I am working towards learning Python (Artificial Intelligence is calling me).

In summary, I would like to share my experience with the community, and I shall be posting on my own free time here on subjects which could help you if you are interested in learning how to teach English better, how to learn English faster, how to learn to code your own website 100% free (I have never paid one single dollar and I feel the need to give back to the community for it was because of the free tutorials and courses I found that I was able to get to were I am today).

Thanks for reading and Stay tuned!

PS: Even when I have read a lot about steamit.com and busy.org, I would really appreciate if you can guide me to the right direction to becoming a successful blog poster.

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @achatainga!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Welcome to Steem! I've an appreciation for autodidacticism as I believe it gives one more satisfaction when they've sought the knowledge for themselves. We have a thriving community here who will be happy to learn from your English and coding expertise. Here's to your blockchain journey being one of joy and success! Should you have any questions, please feel free to ask either in a comment on a post or within the SteemTerminal Discord link below. We're always happy to help!

We encourage everyone to explore the various posts and to leave meaningful comments on those that you wish (for example something that you enjoyed about the content or perhaps sharing a similar experience you've had). This platform thrives through interaction as it's the best way to build relationships with other Steemians while finding communities and initiatives that peak your interests.

You've Been.png

We wanted to let you know, we have given you a 25% upvote, are now following you, and are introducing you to everyone we know. You can visit our post HERE.

You can also visit our discord server The Steem Terminal is your one-stop location for learning about destinations on the Steem Blockchain & Discord. Here you will find people who are willing to answer the questions you may have as a new Steemian, documents to assist you, a place to learn and practice, and find out about the many opportunities to connect with other Steemians!

SteemTerminalBanner.jpg

Welcome to the SteemIt Community.

Welcome achatainga!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi and welcome here! When I started on steemit, my biggest problem was to find interesting people to interact with. So, to help newcomers getting started I created a directory with other interesting and or talented steemians to follow or interact with. Feel free to check it out at https://www.steemiandir.com I am sure it will help you find like-minded people. Enjoy your stay here and do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions!

Thank you for your reply my brother, I will look into it right now! cheers!

Welcome to Steem achatainga! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Welcome to steemit @achatainga.

Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Achatainga welcome to the great community of Steemit, YESS You are a new Steemian now! I saw your #introduceyourself and its nice to meet you. We havent met before but that changes now.
Blogging, building and uplifting eachother is what steemit needs and what its all about on this blockchain. The best part is that you could earn money too.💴💸💰
I never blogged before I started but I just do. But always be carefull with all your passwords, Never give those up !!
For safety tips visit https://steemit.com/steem/@verhp11/safety-first-first-aid-kit-for-steemians-who-are-just-beginning-this-great-journey from Our fellow steemy @verhp11. The Steemify App I use is great, it is available in the Appstore and free, go cheque it out. Or read this blog
https://steemit.com/busy/@exyle/using-steemify-to-stay-up-to-date-about-the-blockchain-like-project-destiny-please-consider-blockbrothers-for-your-witness-vote
I wish you good luck with steeming and I Will See you around🍀
Your value and input is appreciated!
Good luck with your journey and may you find what you are looking for.
Just remember that all good things come in good time and never giving up is they key to big succes on Steemit.
Please vote for a witness to. Also you could join the SteemTerminal Discord.
Or visit @heyhaveyamet #HHYA and My friend @xcountytravelers for more newbies exposure.
Let me know if this was helpfull or you need more help, I am in Discord too @ brittandjosie3488
Greetings from Brittandjosie from the Netherlands

Hello @achatainga

Welcome to Steemit & Wish you luck - success with Steemit!

Currently, We're supporting for the Planktons by our small upvote. If you follow @haccolong you will get free upvote of 20 users. You may like it, Check statement here.

To get 3000points and receive additional rewards from your activities on Steemit, you can use Partiko app for your phone.

Please ignore this reply if you do not need the above.

Posted using Partiko Android

Will you be doing #dtube tutorials? That be cool! Welcome to steemit and steem blockchain my name is Francesca @prettynicevideo if you have any questions just ask!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99