Joining this curious world and waiting

I've been contemplating elephants.

I shared some of my thoughts with a friend of mine. He is not here on Steemit but he seems to know a great deal about cryptocurrency and investing. After hearing my thoughts on elephants, he told me I should come to Steemit and post.

I asked him why. Whoever would be interested in ridiculous observations about elephants and the similarities I have noticed between them and truffle brownies?

He laughed and told me: Who knows? You're dealing with loss in your own way and perhaps turning the page onto a new hobby would help to pass the time.

He had friends that had invested here. Came and went. They thought there were many wrinkles to be ironed out regarding the future stability of the platform, but said it could be fun for a social outlet if you weren't expecting too much more than that. They had enjoyed meeting people years ago and a few of their friends still had remained.

I politely declined. I'm a private person by nature and didn't see the benefit.

He gave me the link. (A good thing since I would have secretly searched for Steamit, and most likely ended up with some new carpet cleaning tools.) I told him I really didn't need the link. I would be fine with my usual hobbies of staring, glaring, and lack of caring.

He wrote down the names of some bloggers here, and suggested I read their blogs to check it out before declining.

I handed the paper back to him and told him to mind his own beeswax.

He returned the slip into my hand, closed my palm around it and walked away. Before he shut the front gate, he casually remarked that it couldn't hurt to try. He followed that with a wink.

I have never understood that saying. It can hurt to try. People simply ignore the risk and try anyway.

The wink annoyed me. It unnerved me that he knew me well enough to know that I would not ignore his suggestion. He called me later that evening to ask what I thought. I was tempted to feign ignorance, but I simply told him it was mildly interesting. I added a bored sigh to emphasize my lack of enthusiasm.

He assured me he would be by in a few days to help me choose a name and a picture and put some cryptocurrency into my wallet so that I would be able to talk about elephants and truffle brownies. I said fine. I didn't understand a word of it but I said fine.

In my final display of resistance, I told him I might write a post or two, but I would keep my private, elephant-brownie thoughts to myself. He laughed and said suit yourself.

What does that even mean?

Who else would suit me?

He has been checking his email to make sure that I've passed all the Steemit tests with flying colors. After careful consideration,(and presumably a lack of high standards) today I have been deemed by your Steemit government to be a proper member of your society. I can't say that I will do all I can to make you proud. I have terrible commitment issues and I try very hard not to care about that.

I have seen that his gift of 100 steem has dropped into my wallet, and I'm told that means I can now post and comment. So I suppose I shall. Maybe I will visit other people who have joined today and make them feel welcome. He suggested I search tabs and links and ~ question: why don't they offer a map of some sorts when we join?

I don't expect many people to visit this curious blog of mine. It is certainly all well and good for me. I shall use it as an unfortunate new hobby to please my pushy friend.

Maybe I will figure out a way to take all his lovely steem back out of this wallet and go buy myself a cinnamon cupcake with buttercream frosting.

If only I knew how to do that.

Sort:  

"Bravo!" for one of the most interesting #introduceyourself posts I've read here, and a hearty "Welcome!" to the Steem blockchain! And if you had not already reeled me in with talk of elephants and truffles, the "cinnamon cupcake with buttercream frosting" surely would have! 😊

Thank you so much @thekittygirl! I apologise for not being here sooner to thank you. I dearly appreciate the personal welcome. And perhaps we will find ourselves sharing one of these someday~

Thank you again for the warm welcome

Hello stormcharmer
This is not an automated answer its ME and welcome to Steemit.
You are a Steemian now! And your first blog is online. Better late than never, and I'm sure one day we will say those were the very early days of Steemit, so congrats! Whats essential here is regular posting off good quality blogs.
So start writing ! Tell us about your life, passion, animals or your work.
That Will attract possible followers.
Do be carefull with your passwords, they are yours and yours only.
Maybe read my blog https://steemit.com/community/@brittandjosie/4-o-clocky-steem-keys-key-to-your-succes-so-secure-them
Look up the free Steemify app in the Appstore or read this blog https://steemit.com/busy/@exyle/using-steemify-to-stay-up-to-date-about-the-blockchain-like-project-destiny-please-consider-blockbrothers-for-your-witness-vote Thats helpfull too.
Next to Steemify I use Appics and Partiko to post.

You can also visit our discord server The Steem Terminal is your one-stop location for learning about destinations on the Steem Blockchain & Discord. Here you will find people who are willing to answer the questions you may have as a new Steemian, documents to assist you, a place to learn and practice, and find out about the many opportunities to connect with other Steemians! Or the account @heyhaveyamet ( a coop with @xcountytravelers ) Where we highlight newcomers.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead! Let me know if you have questions,

Love from the Netherlands
Britt

https://discord.gg/CAM3mX
steemterminal discord invite

Thank you for all the counsel!

Yes... I know this is from 7 days ago... but I am here to show it's never too late...

Pass the cream cheese please...

I would like to welcome you to the Steem community @stormcharmer, and I for one will not explain to you how to withdraw funds, because we don't want you to run away: you are a talented and funny writer. I would like to ask your permission to use your post in my #excellentblogpost series as an example of an outstanding post. Thank your wise friend for me for pushing you to join Steem!

Hello @jamerussell! How kind of you! I apologise that I did not respond to your request earlier. I posted, and then thought I might have been a little bit crazy for joining this place so quickly. Now, I have had a few days to decide I am crazy and that I will stay a little longer. I don't know if it has been too late to give my permission for your series. You can have it, and if it is too late - terribly sorry!

I think only a few people here were actual comments, and not just automated replies. So thanks to you and @thekittygirl and @crazy-unicorn for making me feel welcome by real human replies! I will be sure to come visit all of your blogs to support you three. Thank you again

@thekittygirl and @brittandjosie (comment down below) and I are all in the Steem Terminal, and I can assure you we are all real people, however mad we may be @stormcharmer!!!
We have several people in the Steem Terminal that you very well may happen to like, and some pretty superior writers, and quite a few contests and challenges if you'd like to stop by, and by all means, please bring your questions and fears with you when you come!!!

Welcome buddy! Your post was funny ;)
Hope this place suits you

Thank you @crazy-unicorn! I have been away from this place, but I will come visit you today at your blog. Have you found it suits you? What has been your favorite part so far? Any tips that you think are mandatory to share?

Yes it suits me!
I think the best part is that I found a great writing place perfect for explanations, which is amazing considering I am currently writing a tutorial for shortcuts on a software (something that might interest few people here but whatever, I'll make the one interested come here lol). I have found that I can easily add animated illustrations (gif) to my texts, which opened a whole panel of possibilities for me. Also, I love the fact that different media are linked to Steem (Appics, Dsound, 3speak, etc.)

Any tips :

  • Use the extension Steem Keychain (as @jamerussel told you somewhere I believe)
  • Try Steempeak, a beautiful and featureful interface for Steemit, that I adopted.
  • Discover other projects related to the blockchain, such as the Brave Browser. It has nothing to do with Steem, but as it is the project in which I am the more trusty, I try to bring as many people as I can there :P
  • Keep doing you ^_^

Welcome to the Steemit community @stormcharmer!
We sincerely hope you find everything you are looking for and have found a new home here.

Eight suggestions to consider:

  1. Guard your passwords carefully, and only publish with the posting key,
  2. Use your active key only for wallet transactions, keychain and steemconnect,
  3. The master password is only used to reset compromised passwords,
  4. DO NOT lose your passwords; copy and store offline,
  5. Do not publish other people's work, be it photos or written, without credit,
    be sure to source all of your work, even if it is your own.
  6. An introduceyourself tag is used only once, and
  7. When you open your steemit.com, in the upper right corner of the page there are 3 bars. Click on those, and then on the "welcome", and you will get a lot of reading material that will help you.
  8. Do NOT open any links in memos or comments that you do not know who they belong to. If it sounds too good to be true it probably is, so the old saying goes. There is nothing free here.

I found you because @xcountytravelers and @brittandjosie from @heyhaveyamet presented and promoted your publication to get more exposure and help you grow faster.

If you find yourself overwhelmed and need some guidance, or if you have any questions, there are informed Steemians available who can help you; you can click to go to the Steem Terminal in Discord here:

SteemTerminalBanner.jpg

Have fun and happy Steeming!

Thank you for all of the helpful advise! Kind soul!

Welcome to Steem stormcharmer! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Welcome stormcharmer!
eSteem is mobile and desktop application that improves your experience on Steem.

Download Android and iOS apps. Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as ESTM token.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

Thank you for the information

Congratulations @stormcharmer! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.
You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hey @stormcharmer, Welcome to the steemit world!

thank you for the welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66394.28
ETH 3309.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70