Hello! Sharing my journey from abuse to hope to healing....join me if you would like :-)

I grew up without a mother...well I had one she just didn't seem to want the job and pawned us off on whomever she could. My father went to prison when I was 2 1/2 years old. I still remember standing in the backseat looking out the window and seeing the police putting him in the back of their car, hands cuffed and a sad defeated look on his face.

As a result, I was an easy target for sexual predators, no less than 15 in fact. The first one started when I was only 3 yrs old. It was my first stepfather, step father number two on the list too. The things he did to me are unspeakable and were repeated. It was the beginning of my mother using denial as her coping skill of choice, well that and alcohol and prescription drugs. Numbing her conscience so that she could stay with the felony she married while ignoring the blood on my panties.

Here's the thing, PTSD isn't just a military issue! There are studies proving that those who suffered sexual abuse is equivalent to that of a Vietnam war vet. Unlike the war vets, we, the sexual abuse survivors, are often told to "Get over it already", "Quit living in the past" "it wasn't that bad" etc. People are uncomfortable with thinking about it let alone talking about it, or dealing with it!

This is where I step in and step up and speak out! That is my mission! To educate on what abuse is, on the damage it does, and also on the hope for healing we so desperately need and want.

I cannot say at this time if complete healing from sexual PTSD is possible. I am still working on it myself. I have come a long way, but still have a long way to go. I invite you to follow my journey and see if anything I share speaks to you and offers you hope. Or at the very least helps you to feel you are not alone and someone cares. My hope is that you will find inspiration to do your own healing work.

I will be sharing with you things that have helped me and things that did not. And even some things that for me did more harm than good.

One thing I feel strongly about is that even though I can believe someone is doing the best they can it doesn't mean their best qualifies them to have access to me and/or my life. I am raising the bar high and refusing to lower it for those unwilling to try to reach it.

Because I am a passionate woman, who refuses to be silenced anymore, I may share my thoughts and feelings on other topics from time to time.

Thanks for letting me share...

Silencednomore.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @silencednomore :)

Welcome Bot Banner

I am a bot that greets new users of the community.

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:

If you have any questions about steem, just ping reggaemuffin, the creator of this bot with your question :)


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.


See what this is all about and support the bot: SteemGreet the second - submit your links!

Congratulations @silencednomore! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

i am speechless ..... am very very sorry for your childhood . but you are here you are still fighting and existing ...you are just amazing .
people around the world especially in us spoke that arabe and islam are beast with there treatment with women ... but the fact is our religion is the only one fight against those acts ...sex abuse abandon of child
i congrats you for being still humain .

Thank you for your kind words.

Join this group for minnows (new people) and you'll get good support and a following pretty quickly.

This is their page https://steemit.com/@minnowsupport but you can chat, talk and share links on Discord - https://discord.gg/BxDfcmd

I would also suggest that you share the points in this story in your future blogs. It's a touching story and its important for people to hear it. Not many people will go look back through your blogs and the more that you write the harder it will be to find this one.

Stay strong and happy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61784.55
ETH 3389.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52