Spotlight Creative Challenge: RE-INTRODUCING MYSELF AS DR. GEORGE

Hello Friends,

This post will serve as a re-introduction into the totality of my personal world. For starters, I was described by @ashleykalila as a "CRYPTO-LOVING MEDICAL DOCTOR WITH A PASSION FOR WRITING". Well, she's very correct! But even more than that, I am a complex specie that has so many desires, ideologies, needs, interests, friends, groups etc. Sometimes all the aspects of my multifaceted personality borders on the extremes, but that's just me.


For all those that have been following my journey on Steemit,

you must have seen different aspects of me through the multiple stories I tell everyday. According to @ogochukwu, "your Steemit blog is your CV" and I totally agree with him. When you go through my blog, you will actually have an experience of the kind of person I am. Whether its me writing a letter to my mother in "DEAR MAMA", or where I am giving minnows a comprehensive tutorial via my "DEAR MINNOW SERIES" or where I'm hugging people via the #HUG-CHALLENGE Show I host every Sunday or where I'm trying to win a MARVELOUS TALES CONTEST (which I have won like thrice btw). Sometimes you may even see me writing [POEMS](Daily Poetry Challenge 7: On Gratitude (Original Poem For #GratefulVibes)) or find me being UNTALENTED. Hmmm! These are all aspects of me that I enjoy writing about.

However, there's one very important part of me that you may have never met; people call him DR. GEORGE (My real name is DR. OBIORA GEORGE EDEH).

I didn't see the need to begin my Steemit journey with that personality but I'm glad to bring him to the picture right now. Its early enough. So how did I become a medical doctor? First of all let me show you what my Steemit bio looks like so you will have an idea of all the aspects of me:
WP_20160518_14_43_21_Selfie.jpg


√Crypto addict by choice| ✓Writer by heart| ✓Doctor by profession| ✓Entrepreneur by action| ✓I'm Nigerian| ✓I need to be financially free...


If you look there at MY PROFILE,

you would see it boldly written that I have a profession which happens to be medical because I took the solemn Hippocratic oath and I agreed to take care of the life and well-being of my patients. I still remember that day I graduated from medical school. It was a glorious day full of joy for me, my family and friends. After 6 years of medical school in the stressful University Of Nigeria Nsukka, it was worth every enjoyment. So we partied like it was Christmas. Lolx.

During my university days,

I would say I was a good student. Despite the fact that we had voluminous books to cover, I mastered my courses as well as I could. I am someworth of a perfectionist so everything I do, I try to do it as well as I can. It was no small feat to finish without any session repeats or exam resits in med school hence I spent exactly 6 years (2008-2014). I ended up being the BEST GRADUATING STUDENT IN MEDICINE FOR 2014 Graduating Class. I wouldn't say it was by my power alone but also by God's amazing love and the imagination he blessed me with.
IMG_20171124_130444.jpg

It wasn't all rosy in paradiseland.

I had my fair share of difficulties which I eventually surmounted. My family was barely feeding from hand to mouth just to put me through school. I remember there were days I had to soak garri without sugar or milk just to have some energy for reading. For those that don't know, garri is a Nigerian food made from cassava. It can be swallowed as morsels with a good soup. However, when you have to soak it in ordinary water and drink it, then there's a problem with your financial muscle. Most days, I went a-borrowing to pay back when my parents sent me my meager pocket money for the month. $30 was not enough by any standards for a student to survive on but some how, I pulled through.

There were parts of the medical course that horrified me.

We had to dissect cadavers (dead people) just to learn how the human body is structured (anatomy). They preserved the bodies with formalin so the stench would be all over your nose and your lab coat at the end of the session. We did that 3 times a week for 18 months before we wrote our first professional exams. Imagine that. Some of us threw up and some even fainted within the first week of anatomy dissections.

After each professional exam, people dropped out like flies being sprayed a powerful insecticide.

Ahhh! They couldn't handle the heat so they melted away like ice. From a class of more than 500 students at first year, only about 80 eventually graduated as at when due and I happened to be one of them. It was damn stressful. The experience built me like a soldier ready for the war of life. Indeed you can only equate the stress with Military School. While theirs was essentially a physical drilling, ours was mental, intellectual as well as physical.

As we progressed, a time came when we began to have rounds in teaching hospitals.

That was the beginning of another difficulty in the course. You had to stand for very long hours to learn from the masters. And the masters where rude alot of times. They would insult you, send you on wild goose chases and some may even end up assaulting you. We had to serve just to learn. They would always repeat it to our hearing that "Medicine is an apprenticeship". So if you were not willing to serve, then you should probably go find another profession. Despite all these, STILL, I RISE in Maya Angelou's voice for her famous poem of same title.

Why I'm I telling you all these stories? Well firstly, I need you to pick up some life lessons. You have to decide for yourself that you can surmount all your challenges in life and become whatever you want to be. Success is a choice. I ignored my numerous challenges and kept my eyes on my goal until I achieved it. Also, I need you to understand me fully so that you can interact with my personality better. With this you will know why I do what I do.

I would love to use this opportunity to reach out to all DOCTORS, NURSES, PHARMACISTS, MEDICAL LAB SCIENTISTS, HOSPITAL ADMINISTRATORS and other HEALTH-WORKERS present on Steemit.

Let us all use this platform as a means to find one another because we are brethren bound by the oath we took. We can all have a unique voice here on this platform and perhaps even render services that will benefit the whole Steemiverse. We can solve people's medical problems regardless of geographical location, race, social class or economic situation. Feel free to connect me on Discord. My name username is @nairadaddy#5274. You can also find me on STEEMIT.CHAT. Let's find a way forward for the HEALTH OF ALL.

Finally, I thank all those who have been motivating us to succeed here on this platform.

Kudos to @ogochukwu. I can never get tired of mentioning his name as far as Steemit is concerned. He was my first mentor here via the Blue Waves Mentorship Programme. I also thank @ejemai of @stach for reaching out to me via a phone call. We will definitely work together for the greater good of Steemit In Nigeria and worldwide. Not forgetting @michaelcj of @steemnaira for his tenacity and friendliness; @drepo15 + @dreamchasser of @airhawk-project; @samminator and @ehiboss of @genesis-project and @dragonslayer109 of #UnitedAfrica. You guys all rock!

Let's join hands together and build a reality that is far better than dreams through the POWER OF STEEM!

IMG_20171124_133806.jpg


>>Resteem this post until all health workers find it!


Cheers!


WORD COUNT: 1300+

This is my entry into the SPOTLIGHT CREATIVE CHALLENGE. Follow the link to participate. 2500SP on the line as rewards. Goodluck!

Sort:  

@nairadaddy, you have a wonderful personality.. Each time i come online, your post is the first i look for, you are an inspiration.. Make ur head no swell ooo, anyways u be doctor sha, u fit cure urself. Goodluck.

Lolx @nmalove,

Make ur head no swell ooo, anyways u be doctor sha, u fit cure urself.
you wantto burst my brainz abi? There is God oh...in Patience Jonathan's voice...

Wehdonemah!

#Hug-Challenge!

Wow awesomely nice @nairadaddy...i enjoyed reading this nice article... Thanks for sharing this👍

#hugs😂

Thanks @valency1. You are awesome too. Keep steeming!

#Hug-Challenge!

CRITERIA

Writing Stream

1Authors Bio +1
Word Count: 1200 - 1600 +3
Original Photo Bonus +2 (Max. 1 / 400 words)

2Reduced Passive Voice +2
Wordcount Posted at Bottom +1
Topic Bonus:
Essay Bonus +2 (Facts)

TOTAL = 11 points

Great post @nairadaddy, although we cannot award points for reduced passive voice due to 6% of your article is passive voice.

Additionally an essay must have a hypothesis, supporting facts and a conclusion.

That said, you did miss a few points that I can tack on. We accept 1 photo for every 400 words, since you wrote 1200 words and included 3 photos, we can award 6 points for them.

Writing Stream
1Authors Bio +1
Word Count: 1200 - 1600 +3
Original Photo Bonus +6 (Max. 1 / 400 words)
Wordcount Posted at Bottom +1

TOTAL = 11 points

Good Luck in the Contest!

Alright. Thanks so much.

I'm glad you shared the bad with the obvious good that comes from becoming a medical doctor.
It's not just school and poverty...

Thanks for stopping by @tonygreene113. Keep steeming! Cheers!

#Hug-Challenge!

yeahhhhh, Dr. George is less swag then nairadaddy, I think? lol, I like both names but yeah....you are such a gemini :P

Lolx @battleaxe. I guess swag is the reason why I chose the username that people can easily connect with. Cheers!

#Hug-Challenge!

Welcome to Steem @nairadaddy I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thanks botty!

I knew it was not a mistake when i met, you somehow i always feels there is more to just the @nairadaddy the way you care about people,now i know where that skill is coming from, the way you carry people along. I can testify to that and all your selfless service to this platform, you are indeed a blessing to steemit, you are a blessing to Africa and to Nigeria and finally you are a blessing to your family.
Keep up the good work doc.
I love you....no homo!

Hey @deeclown,
All these praises for me? You wan make my heart explode? Lolx. Anyway, we just keep doing our very best anywhere we are.

Keep steeming bro. Cheers!

#Hug-Challenge!

Wow... I love this @nairadaddy. You are just the nairadaddy.. Lol seems you are igbo oooo?

LOLX @messinaldo. I am proudly IGBO bro from Enugu. Where are you from?

Good post, I am a photographer, it passes for my blog and sees my content, I hope that it should be of your taste :D greetings

Okay. Nice. Cheers!

Thanks for sharing your life tips with us, i learnt something from it @nairadaddy

Thanks bro. Hope you are good. Keep steeming!

#Hug-Challenge!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62740.92
ETH 3354.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46